We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food”
Review of Tibetan Kitchen - West End - CLOSED

Tibetan Kitchen - West End
Cuisines: Tibetan
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

not exactly authentic Tibetan, but food was good. Pretty much of fusion of Bengali (Indian) food with Nepalese. And they have regular Indian dishes as well as the regular curry. The real Tibetan was Thukpa which was good. Also, Mt Everest Soup was yummy...

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kedar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    21
    13
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“The Real Thing”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Great food and ambiance. The tofu curry is amazing and Shakpa stew and Himalayan vindaloo and the momos are delicious. Service can be a little slow but very pleasant. Good for dining with a large group but remember you do not have to have the set menu. You probably have to search a bit for a parking space as the under-street car park is usually full. It’s worth the extra effort.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ditsywitsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“One of our favorite restaurants”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Positives
Food is fantastic and there are many vegetarian options - the momos are awesome.
Decor is great and music is always atmospheric

Negatives
Parking or lack there of is a major impediment

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EvilParrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
307 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 758 helpful votes
“Lovely tasty surprise”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

My wife and I have spoken for a while about going to the Tibetan Kitchen (Valley) however while on the internet looking at reviews, we found this one at West End. Thankfully, we decided on this one. The food is very tasty. My wife had the chicken stuffed with cottage cheese and I had a lamb curry with dhal, chipati bread and vegetables. We had the mixed entrees for starters. Everything that we ordered had its own signature taste, was well cooked and well presented. The number of customers dining in attests to the quality of the food. I found the service at this restaurant to be very good, quick and efficient. Looking through the menu, I will be back to try a whole range of other items on the menu. The background Tibetan music adds charm.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DEK_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Authentic”
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Great food and honest serves
Good value and great service
Menu is interesting
Must try goat curry
Overall a pleasant experience
Only issue is finding Parking which is notorious for the west end
Scores a 4.5/5 from us

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ces74n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tibetan Kitchen - West End also viewed

 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing