We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad customer service for price of food”
Review of Kapsali Taverna - CLOSED

Kapsali Taverna
Price range: $19 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Restaurant Kapsali (South Bank Parklands, Brisbane, Queensland) was established January of 2001. Kapsali is a place for music, wine, to smile and dine, its fun for the whole family, with an extensive menu featuring Mediterranean cuisine and seafood. Children’s meals are also available. Kapsali presents a unique dining experience, Mediterranean décor while overlooking the beautiful Southbank parklands lagoon. Kapsali features live entertainment on Friday and Saturday evenings, including a live band (Friday and Saturday), belly dancer (Saturday only at the moment). Kapsali is also specialising in group functions, ideal for birthday & work parties and also perfection for weddings.Come in & experience Kapsali for yourself!
Ballina, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Bad customer service for price of food”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Found this restaurant OK but lack of service was disappointing. The matradee was quite rude and because we could not get drink service from our table we had to go to the bar and the bar staff said 'why are you coming to the bar' and It was because the service was no good. We asked one waitress for a drink and she never came back. Our food waitress was nice and friendly but others turned us off. Oysters where OK, just a little to much kilpatrick sauce.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shazbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    36
    20
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
209 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Never actually got to eat or drink here, after 30 minutes of trying to flag down staff with no luck, the staff were actively ignoring us and other tables in the same position. We left after 30 minutes even at this point there was no interaction with the staff, who continued to ignore us as we left. Hard to imagine worse service.

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“unprofessional”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Booked a large table saturday night no service whatsoever food mediocre it was as if the staff and kitchen had just walked in off the street and had no idea what to do staff wandering around looking for tables that drinks or food belonged to Never go again

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank terryp255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Greek Food”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Fresh, tasty Greek food at reasonable prices, with fair service. Can be noisy if you're inside. Ask for an al fresco table facing the river.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
197 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We never actually got to eat at Kapsali. This is one of our favourite Brisbane restaurants so rang to make a reservation. The gentleman we spoke to said it was a busy night but there wouldn't be a problem getting a table. When we arrived we were shown to a table on the side of a dance floor - next to a wedding reception!!! The happy couple were cutting the cake and the live band/DJ was about to start. The noise was deafening and kids were dancing around right next to our table. We could have easily blended in to be part of the wedding party!

It would have been appreciated if the guy who took our reservation advised us that there was a wedding reception being held in the restaurant.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank MegandLuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kapsali Taverna also viewed

 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing