We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice cheap meals” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kadoya

Kadoya
Ranked #1,366 of 4,262 Restaurants in Brisbane
Price range: $8 - $12
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice cheap meals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Great food very cheap but they took my fav thing off the menu. yakisoba! A little fiddly with seating and fairly crowded as the arcade is a thoroughfare.

Helpful?
Thank jdbsays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    11
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Meals Under $10 in the City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Hidden in the Elizabeth Arcade, this simple yet delicious Japanese restaurant has plenty to offer! With meals mostly under $10 in the city, it's worth a try!
Had a nice teriyaki chicken with rice and will try again next round I come!

Helpful?
Thank FraserIsle-fanatics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
366 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Authentic feel, authentic tastes but slightly small servings!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

Was after some quick simple Japanese food and came across Kadoya. I'd seen large crowds of mostly international students here in the past and figured it was worth a go. At $9 I ordered a gyu don (thin meat slices served over rice cooked in a bit of broth I believe is what it is).

I love gyudon, my favourite japanese don and have tried a bunch all across the world. In terms of taste and texture, definitely on par with the best! Tender beef with bits of fat and rice well cooked. Super quick service, friendly staff.

Only small complaint is the serving size is a little too small. I would've expected a good 25% more but as the rest was pretty good I wasn't too fussed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TIersHasie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Quick bite to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Chicken Bento Box was delicious. I am a big eater and also ordered calamari and garlic bread to start, but did not need to do so as the Bento box was sufficient by itself. Also very reasonable prices.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael4067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Still great as before!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

It's a common place for me to have lunch here during my uni life. I returned 4 years later with my bf and the food still taste great like before! :) :) Memories from years ago reappear in my head, I am reliving those time again!! :)
The menu changed a bit, now it comes in bento sets too. My favourite is still the curry!!
The food is delicious, the price is reasonable, the service is fast, help yourself to more mayo if you like them. Oh ya, don't be surprised when their staff speak to you in their THICK Japanese accent! :)

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eleven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kadoya also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Kadoya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing