We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not exactly an Italian Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of 1889 Enoteca

1889 Enoteca
Ranked #2 of 4,294 Restaurants in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $29
Cuisines: Italian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: 1889 Enoteca is part of the heritage listed Moreton Rubber Works building (circa 1889) located in the antique quarter of Woolloongabba. We have incorporated a restaurant & wine bar along with a basement level cellar for private dining & functions for up to 42 people.We offer traditional Roman fare which is made to be enjoyed in our relaxed but sophisticated setting. Our menu showcases the freshest produce available & the pasta & bread that we offer is and made by our chefs on a daily basis which is testament to our commitment to quality.Our wine list is an encyclopedia of artisan producers with a particular focus on natural winemakers. Natural winemaking involves using indigenous yeasts, minimal (if any) chemicals & little technological intervention. Many of these wines are organic, biodynamic & have been picked personally by the owners who have visited the vineyards. Our wines have a story!
Level Contributor
319 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Not exactly an Italian Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Thought we'd try the long table lunch menu, touted as being an Italian Sunday family lunch.
Great concept: fixed price 3 course, shared starter and main... Dessert per person or cheese plate for two.
Selection (choices) very very limited.
Antipasto for starter. 2 pasta dishes or risotto for main. 2 sweet options or cheese for dessert. $49 per person.
The food took forever to arrive, when it came it looked great and was very tasty and well cooked.
As for being authentic hmmm elements were, however portion sizes definitely were not generous.
It's an Enoteca so they sell a wide variety of wines - all highly inflated in price.
Service was friendly and warm.
The general ambience was ok- I'd have liked to hear italian music.
Overall an interesting experience, expensive and not one I'm rushing to repeat.

Helpful?
Thank Willstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    107
    34
    25
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“enjoy the food/wine/Service with a smile!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

When you are made welcomed and the food/wine
When you have had a fantastic evening from entrees to desert an you are not wanting the whole experience to end You know the night has been special.
We had a small family gathering for a special birthday, from the moment we sat down we had Nick attending to all our needs,his input to the selection of wines was perfect.
The food is of high quality
,wonderful attention to detail in presentation, most enjoyable.The service an knowledge that Nick imparted throughout the evening left everyone one of us leaving very,very impressed an satisfied.
So what I'm saying is when in Brisbane,Spoil yourself go to Enoteca an enjoy the wonderful Food/Wine/Service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bmac705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan C, Owner at 1889 Enoteca, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Wonderful news! Nick is quite the gem and we're glad to hear that he made your evening as special as it ought to be, It's so nice to hear that you were given the complete Enoteca experience for this special birthday. As for your advise, we couldn't agree more. Enoteca is a great place to spoil the ones you love! We hope to see you again soon. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Fantastic food, wonderful wine, fabulous coffee and amazing service! We went to Enoteca to celebrate our son's 30th birthday can't speak high enough! Superb!! Will definitely return! Wonderful! Amazing! I would highly recommend Enoteca! You won't be disappointed!!! You will be most satisfied - very happy!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PennyOscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan C, Owner at 1889 Enoteca, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
How wonderful! It's such a kick for everyone that works here when we receive this sort feedback. This is the experience we want to create for everyone that comes to Enoteca so thank you very much for sharing this with us. We'll see you for your son's 31st birthday if not before!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Solid performance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was our second visit, the first being about a year ago. Previously we went on a Saturday night and this time was mid-week. Perhaps it was this difference that left us feeling that our experience fell a bit short of last time. The food was above average starting with the meat antipasti (which was almost entirely meat) followed by veal for my wife and pasta for me. Both cooked well although the veal dish was slightly boring. We relied on recommendations for the wine choice and both were great. A number of staff attended to our needs on the evening which might explain why a couple of mistakes were made (with the side dish and beverage), but they were both very quickly rectified and the cost of the side dish was not included in the bill. All in all a solid performance in a terrific setting.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Knurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan C, Owner at 1889 Enoteca, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review 1889 Enoteca. Whilst I'm sorry to hear that the veal didn't quite make the mark and that there was some miscommunication on the part of your waitstaff I am glad that the mistakes were quickly rectified. We take all feedback on board and your comments have been passed on to all the appropriate people. I am glad that the wine suggestions hit the mark!

We hope to see you again very soon. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“simple pleasures”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We went for my Birthday meal with friends in March 2013 and returned again in July for my hubbys birthday.
its a great setting (a little hard to find if you are driving) but the old building has been revamped simply and with taste. The staff are knowledable, efficient and easy to talk with
The food is just simply quality ingredients prepared by chefs who are know how to bring out the best in them - just fantastic. I still think about the baby clam soup, fillet bisteca and pannacotta - just heaven!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GinaA63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan C, Owner at 1889 Enoteca, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We have a new dessert on the menu now- yoghurt pannacotta, strawberries and biscotti. It's absolutely divine! You've hit the nail on the head by the way; quality ingredients with chefs that know what they're doing. That is what we're all about.

We appreciate you taking the time to write your review and hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1889 Enoteca also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to 1889 Enoteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing