We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“River cruise on a budget.”
Review of CityCat Ferry

CityCat Ferry
Ranked #1 of 340 things to do in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“River cruise on a budget.”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

For $5.60, the CityCat ferry is a great way to spend a couple of hours in Brisbane and get a few good photo opportunities of the city along the way. While there is no commentary, the ticket sellers on board did suggest things to do at some stops. I went all the way to North Hamilton from South Bank and back, I suggest getting off at New Farm and having a walk around the park and then catch a ferry back from there as there isn't a lot to see after New Farm. As long as you are back on board before the two hours of your ticket has expired, you are fine without having to buy another ticket I was told.

I did this trip in the morning, however on reflection it would have been a doing it in the afternoon, coming back enjoying the Story Bridge and city skyline during twilight because Brisbane is such a beautiful city when the sun is going down.

In summary, this is a must do for anyone visiting Brisbane, for a city built on a river, what better way to enjoy it than on the river itself?

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ecllyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,087 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,489
    1,439
    119
    24
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Public transport with a tourist vibe”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Although the city cats are a mode of public transport for the many riverside residents it has now become a real tourist attraction. For about $6 you can spend nearly two hours travelling up and down the river viewing the city from the very best vantage point. I love taking my grandchildren for a trip from Hawthorne to New Farm Park for a picnic, then down to Brett's Wharf for an ice cream before getting the ferry back again. Take the trip at twilight and watch the city light up, it is magical.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MadelineW1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Expensive but a good way to see the city.”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

As mentioned, it is $5.60 per adult for a 2 hour ticket on Brisbane transport, but the CityCat connects many of Brisbane's highlights.

We often take visiting families on a CityCat trip as a way of seeing the city - we would go from Hawthorne all the way out to Apollo Road and then to University of Queensland and back again. Parking at most destinations is limited to parking on the sidestreets next to the ferry terminals.

Some of the better places to stop off include South Bank, where you can walk along the river, and New Farm Park, which is a good place to stop and have a picnic lunch.

If you are travelling to the city and coming downriver (from University of Queensland), get off at North Quay. If you are coming upriver (from Apollo Road), get off at Eagle Street Pier - you will save 20 minutes off your journey time.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just love it”
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

I love the City Cat.
I love the City Cat.
I love the City Cat.
I love the City Cat.
I love the City Cat.
I love the City Cat.
I love the City Cat.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Virginia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Trip on CityCat Ferry”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Took a round trip on the ferry. The sights along the Brisbane river was very interested.Good value for money.Well worth the experience.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank EllenB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CityCat Ferry also viewed

 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to CityCat Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing