We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mantra Terrace Hotel
Ranked #53 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Reviewed February 23, 2013

A vibrant modern hotel in a great location particularly if you need to be up that end of town. Located in Astor Terrace, the hotel is tucked away in a quiet location although it is conveniently located to most parts of the city. Eagle St wharf is only a 10 minute walk away. This is my preferred hotel when staying in Brisbane.

The rooms are very clean and modern as too the bathrooms. The bedding is exceptional! The hotel has a restaurant downstairs that provides in room dining. The food is good quality and is a favourite place for a drink after a long day.

The hotel doesn't have a gym but it does have a relationship with Fitness First; guests can use the gym at no cost. The gym is located 2 blocks away, a great alternative given that hotel gyms usually have a limited range of equipment.

Room Tip: If traveling for business and you need a desk in your room to work at, i suggest you request a room...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamantHotelBrisbane, General Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Abott

Thank you for staying at Diamant Brisbane and taking the time to post a review!

I am very pleased to hear that you loved our beds and found the location of the property to be so convenient to your trip purpose.
Great to hear that you have been able to visit Fitness First using free passes from the reception. This not only gives our guests access to the wide range of latest equipment but very popular group classes available on a daily basis. From the feedback we receive, it seems that Body Combat class is the most popular. Classes time tables can be collected form the reception at any time and there is quite a few to choose from as well.

Again, thank you for your time Abott and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Diamant on your next Brisbane visit!

Warmest Regards
Branka Indic
General Manager
Diamant Hotel Brisbane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (844)
There are newer reviews for Mantra Terrace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

713 - 719 of 844 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed at this beautiful hotel over two nights was pleasantly surprised with a room upgrade. Was delighted with the excellent service especially commend Paul for his friendly and professional manner. The bed was amazing had the best nights sleep. Would definitely come back!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N_teg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamantHotelBrisbane, General Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Tegan

Thank you for staying at Diamant Brisbane and taking the time to post such a lovely review. I am pleased to hear that we have managed to pleasantly surprise you with an upgrade and will pass your lovely feedback and appreciation of personalised service to Paul and rest of the tam that looked after you.

Again, thank you for your time Tegan and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back to Diamant, hopefully soon!

Warmest Regards
Branka Indic
General Manager
Diamant Hotel Brisbane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Thank you Branka and Crew, my partner and I stayed at Diamant Hotel on Saturday 16 February, to celebrate our birthdays (yes they are on the same day). The service was amazing from the moment we walked in. As many other reviews will tell you, the rooms are small, but as we only spent a short time there, it wasn't an issue. The rooms are equipped with all that you need, and the complimentary sparkling wine was a lovely surprise. It's in a great spot, close to both the city and the Valley. O'bar is a funky bar/restaurant to spend sometime in, and has a great breakfast menu. We'll be back... Thanks again x

Room Tip: Level 6 with a small balcony worked best for us...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJandMCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamantHotelBrisbane, General Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear LJ and MCS

I am so glad to hear that my Crew and I were able to welcome you to our lovely property and provide you with amazing service resulting in a pleasant stay on such a special day for you both! We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to Diamant.

Warmest Regards
Branka Indic
General Manager
Diamant Hotel Brisbane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Very poky little room and probably a bit overpriced if i was paying for it but otherwise great stay. Awesome restaurant downstairs, nice staff and yummy fudge in the mini bar. Much nicer and more cozy than the big hotels if you can live without the extras

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherrycharade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamantHotelBrisbane, General Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear Cherry

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your stay with Diamant Hotel Brisbane.

Great to hear that you loved our little property and were pleased with service received. Locally supplied and yummy “Dello Mano Brownies” are not just any brownies , but the ultimate chocolate and brownie experience and I am so happy to hear you loved them too. Let me know if you need contact details in case you need to stock some at home.

Again, thank you for your time Cherry and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Diamant, hopefully soon!

Warmest Regards
Branka Indic
Diamant Hotel Brisbane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel recently and were so impressed with the service. I had read that the rooms were quite small, but found that our room had everything that you need. We found that the friendliness and enthusiasm of the staff far outwayed this small complaint - besides how much time do you spend in the room anyway? I loved all the little touches in the room - T2 tea and Robert Timms coffee. And the beds are amazing! Like sleeping on a cloud.

When I booked the hotel I made a passing remark to the receptionist that it would be like a romantic weekend away and when we arrived we found that they had left a complimentary bottle of champagne in the room. It is little touches like this that make it so memoral.
Unfortunately I can't remember the names of the staff but I truly hope that this feedback gets passed onto the relevant people as the staff here show how it should be done.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kat07899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamantHotelBrisbane, General Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear Kat,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review of your experience at Diamant Hotel Brisbane!

I have passed your feedback to all the staff members that made your stay with us so memorable. They are very grateful for you taking the time to acknowledge their friendliness, professionalism and dedication to delivering unique and personalised service at every opportunity.

Very pleased to hear that you liked the setup of our cosy rooms and all the little touches including tea and coffee selection and quality of bedding.

It was an absolute pleasure having you and your husband stay with us and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back, hopefully soon! Please don’t hesitate to contact us directly when you have your next City stay planned as we always offer best rates and availability direct.

Warmest Regards
Branka Indic
General Manager
Diamant Hotel Brisbane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Very comfortable room and helpful staff and safe area. The city centre is walking distance but if you don't feel like walking the free city loop bus runs every 15 minutes and stops close by. For those on a budget the rates are much cheaper than the surrounding larger hotels and there are a number of good, reasonable cafeterias in the area especially through the arcade opposite. Astor Terrace is a pleasant tree lined street.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamantHotelBrisbane, General Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Valda

Thank you for staying at Diamant Brisbane and taking the time to post a review!
I am very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable and safe stay with us and found the staff to be very helpful.
We certainly love our tree lined street as well!

All the best and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back to Diamant, hopefully soon!

Warmest Regards
Branka Indic
General Manager
Diamant Hotel Brisbane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Just spent a week in this hotel on a business trip paid by work. The room was quite small as per the other reviewers had mentioned and the pullout desk was definitely served no purpose as it only pulled out by a few centimetres at best. Definitely not the place if you spend a lot of time n your hotel room.

The pros:
* the bed is super comfy, it will guarantee an excellent night sleep along with a bunch of nice comfy pillows.
* The tea provided in the room are a range of tea from T2 and you get a lot of choices too from English Breakfast, China Jasmine, Chamomile etc. The coffee comes from Robert Timms, so those combination are definitely hit the right spot.
* Staff are very friendly and nice, although it would be helpful if they notified me when I checked in that there is no housekeeping person available after 5pm. I spent ages ringing them only to get busy signal and not til I called the reception that I was told that there is no one there to answer the phone after 5pm.
* restaurant was ok, although limited choice on Room Service.

The Cons:
* Extremely small room. I can lay on my bed and reach the fridge without getting up and I am not even a tall person with short arms... :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleQT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamantHotelBrisbane, General Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Little QT,

Thank you for staying at Diamant Brisbane and taking the time to post a review.

I am glad to hear that overall you had an enjoyable week with us and list of pros you have mentioned has outwaited single con being the size of the room. Please keep in mind that we have few room types available on the property ranging in size. Feel free to contact me directly when you have your next Brisbane trip planned and I will take you through some of the other room types and take this con right off the list 
I believe for a week-long stay Diamant Suite would be more suitable and might be more to your liking and make your stay with us even more comfortable.

Looking forward to hearing back from you once you have your next Brisbane trip planned and welcoming you back to Diamant.

Warmest Regards
Branka Indic
General Manager
Diamant Hotel Brisbane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane
0.6 mi away
Great Southern Hotel
Great Southern Hotel
#72 of 168 in Brisbane
1,438 reviews
0.0 mi away
Punthill Brisbane
Punthill Brisbane
#13 of 168 in Brisbane
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Oakwood Hotel & Apartments Brisbane
0.5 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#62 of 168 in Brisbane
1,565 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Brisbane Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Terrace Hotel

Address: 52 Astor Terrace | Spring Hill, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly Diamant Hotel Brisbane)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Brisbane
#39 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#49 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: $67 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Terrace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next time you're looking for a Brisbane hotel, stay in a hotel room or studio suite at Mantra Terrace Hotel. With modern comfort and the very latest in facilities such as WiFi (fees apply) and iPod dock in every room. Experience world-class service mingled with those little things that mean a lot like complimentary newspapers and Fitness First gym passes as well as hair straighteners. You'll love the O Bar and Restaurant conveniently situated onsite and open Monday to Friday for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It is also open on Saturday and Sunday for breakfast. Room service is also available. Visit the Valley to listen to great live music or a little fun and funky shopping. Fortitude Valley is just a pleasant stroll away and is home to some of Brisbane's coolest bars, al frescos and restaurants. With Central Station practically on your doorstep and the airport only 13 km away, you're never far from anything when you stay at Mantra Terrace Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamant Hotel Brisbane - By 8 Brisbane
Portal Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing