We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience as a disabled guest.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra Terrace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mantra Terrace Hotel
Ranked #49 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great experience as a disabled guest.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

I visited Brisbane in November with my parents spending 3 nights at the Diamant.

Even before we arrived in Brisbane I was very happy with the sevice we received. As a disabled guest, accessible accommodation is of vital importance to me and the hotel staff were extremely helpful in ensuring that the room provided would both meet my needs and be able to accommodate 3 people.

From the moment we arrived we were impressed with the hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room exceeded our expectations; very spacious and well decorated with excellent facilities and a nice view of the city. Despite the room (suite) we were given not actually being 1 of the hotels accessible rooms (due to there being 3 of us) the facilities were perfectly suitable for me.
I found the hotel's WIFI service very useful. The restaurant adjoining the hotel was also a highlight. A small place, with a nice atmosphere, friendly service and great food.
The only reason I haven't given 5 stars for location isn't anything to do with the hotel itself. Spring Hill is quite a hilly place which I found difficult as a wheelchair user. Also there aren't many shops or other restaurants nearby.

Overall we had a great time and would definitely reccommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamantHotelBrisbane, General Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Lee,

Thank you for staying at Diamant Brisbane and taking the time to post such a lovely review!

I am so glad to hear that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us and found our loyal staff to be friendly and helpful.
It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and we are all certainly looking forward to welcoming you back to Diamant on your next Brisbane visit.

Warmest Regards

Branka Indic
General Manager
Diamant Hotel Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    260
    125
    36
    26
See reviews for
38
230
69
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

The service at front desk is pleasant and efficient.

On the plus side, the restaurant in this place is very good. The meal was of a high standard.

On the negative side, the rooms are quite small (although well appointed).

Also, I was awoken before 5am by what sounded like a garbage truck tipping up a skip bin in the adjoining lane. After that initial racket, the noise of construction workers on the adjoining property (they seemed to be demolishing something and throwing it in a skip bin) continued. Accordingly, I would suggest that if construction work is still going on in the adjoining property when you stay, try and get a room on the other side of the building if you value your sleep.

Otherwise, a pleasant enough hotel with all the amenities you need.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the construction noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamantHotelBrisbane, Front Office Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Colin,

Thank you for choosing Diamant Hotel Brisbane and posting a review on your recent stay.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay and found the Reception team to be pleasant and efficient. We are also very pleased that you enjoyed your dining experience in OBar & Restaurant.

I apologise that you were awoken by outside noise in the early morning. If we are aware of early morning noise we do all possible to lessen the impact on our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Diamant Hotel when you next travel to Brisbane.

Kind regards
Tamara Carter
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

The Diamant is a wonderful boutique hotel run by a team of friendly, helpful and enthusiastic staff. 

The adjoining 'O' bar does great coffee, breakfast and other meals. A popular watering hole for the after work crowd.

The location is ideal as the downtown area is a short walk down the hill. The main railway station (with connections to the airport) is around the corner.

Only downside is that the rooms are on the pokey side. 

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamantHotelBrisbane, General Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Darren

Thank you for staying at Diamant Brisbane and taking the time to post such a lovely review.

Very pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and found us to be ideally located with only short walk to CBD and Central Train station. We have all very much loved having you here and are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next Brisbane visit.

Warmest Regards

Branka Indic
General Manager
Diamant Hotel Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed in this hotel on a business trip recently. It's a fantastic, tasteful little hotel that is close to the city. It was comfortable, has good amenities and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Too bad I was only there for 1 short night but I would definitely pick this hotel again for future trips, whether for business or personal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindaa78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamantHotelBrisbane, General Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Linda

Thank you for staying at Diamant Brisbane and taking the time to post a review.
It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and I am so glad to hear that that you loved our little Hotel.
We are all looking forward to welcoming you back on your future trips to Brisbane!

Warmest Regards

Branka Indic
General Manager
Diamant Hotel Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Diamant in Brisbane for two nights on business in October, I was treated like a rock star at reception, the staff where great. Room was very good, clean and very comfortable, the restaurant had a great menu and fantastic wine range with friendly staff. This hotel I would highly recommend.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bobby b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamantHotelBrisbane, General Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Bobby

Thank you for staying at Diamant Brisbane and taking the time to post a review.
I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed rock star treatment provided by our loyal staff!

All the best and we are looking forward to welcoming you back, hopefully soon!

Warmest Regards
Branka Indic
General Manager
Diamant Hotel Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Cute small boutique hotel in Spring Hill 5 minutes walking to Queen Street Mall and 20 mins to South Bank. I have stayed in this hotel previously for 2 nights 2 years ago and thought it was beautiful. This time I stayed 6 nights 3 of which I was attending a conference.
The staff are all very professional warm welcoming who provide excellent service. The Hotel is small quite clean very modern and as one taxi driver described it “Oh you’re staying in the Italian looking Hotel” with a few balcony’s leaning on to Astor Terrace.
The rooms are very small tiny depending on the room you are in. I spent 3 nights in a room with a cute balcony overlooking Astor Terrace adorn with flowering purple Jacaranda trees. Sadly it was so small I had to sit on the bed to work with my computer and there was no storage for your luggage. The room did have a wardrobe, Kettle ect…I noted the bathroom ceiling was mouldy and complained. That was cleaned instantly. The second night my air-conditioned leaked very badly. I informed the reception staff. On my return from my conference that evening they informed me it was fixed. Which it was not. The leak was worse than the previous evening. I moved to another room with a smaller Balcony however it did have a desk for your lap top to work on. The Hotel prides it sell on the bedding. However it is just a nice mattress on a spring bed with nice sheets…Most certainly comfortable and clean. The bonus is the lovely soaps & shampoos. ect. Over all I would stay here again it suited my needs and requirements. There is a beautiful modern 4 star trendy small resultant next door however you must book. They do not serve salads is my only complaint and no fresh juice in the mornings. Internet is free..

Room Tip: Try and book one with a larger Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ningaloo2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamantHotelBrisbane, General Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Ningaloo,

Thank you for coming back to Diamant Brisbane and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

Your feedback and observations are very much appreciated and I am glad to hear that you were pleased with level of service provided.
I would like to use this opportunity and apologise for the inconvenience experienced with AC unit and am glad to hear that my staff managed to relocate you to the new room that you found comfortable and liked addition of the desk.

It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us again after 2 years and we are all looking forward to your next visit to Diamant Brisbane.

Warmest Regards
Branka Indic
General Manager
Diamant Hotel Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

A small hotel on the inner city fringe, with excellent service from friendly staff in the hotel and the small bar/restaurant downstairs. My room, although on the smaller side, was very functional, with pretty high quality fittings and amenities. Car parking is across the street at an additional charge, but is convenient enough, with priority spaces for the hotel guests.

Although I had booked for almost a week's stay, I had to check out after just two nights due to a family emergency. Under the circumstances, the front desk manager waived all penalties and checked me out without any hassles. MUCH appreciated given the circumstances of my visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grahamew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamantHotelBrisbane, General Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Graham,

Thank you for staying at Diamant Hotel Brisbane and taking the time to post such a lovely review!
Great to hear that staff and Front Office Management were so understanding of the early departure and able to waive all associated charges. That was the least we could do to help considering circumstances and I am glad to hear that gesture was very much appreciated.

It was and absolute pleasure having you stay with Graham, even with the visit cut short, and hopefully we will have a chance to welcome you back to Diamant in the near future!

Warmest Regards
Branka Indic and Diamant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.5 mi away
Mantra Richmont Hotel
Mantra Richmont Hotel
#15 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.5 mi away
George Williams Hotel
George Williams Hotel
#61 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.0 mi away
Punthill Brisbane
Punthill Brisbane
#8 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mantra on Queen
Mantra on Queen
#54 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Brisbane Elizabeth Street
0.1 mi away
Novotel Brisbane
Novotel Brisbane
#37 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Terrace Hotel

Property: Mantra Terrace Hotel
Address: 52 Astor Terrace | Spring Hill, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly Diamant Hotel Brisbane)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Brisbane
#38 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#46 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Terrace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next time you're looking for a Brisbane hotel, stay in a Hotel Room or Studio Suite at Mantra Terrace Hotel. With modern comfort and the very latest in facilities such as WiFi (fees apply) and iPod dock in every room. Experience world-class service mingled with those little things that mean a lot like complimentary newspapers and Fitness First gym passes as well as hair straighteners. You'll love the O Bar and Restaurant conveniently situated onsite and open Monday to Friday for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It is also open on Saturday and Sunday for breakfast. Room service is also available. Visit the Valley to listen to great live music or a little fun and funky shopping. Fortitude Valley is just a pleasant stroll away and is home to some of Brisbane's coolest bars, al frescos and restaurants. With Central Station practically on your doorstep and the airport only 13 km away, you're never far from anything when you stay at Mantra Terrace Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Mantra Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamant Hotel Brisbane - By 8 Brisbane
Portal Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing