We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice design, competent staff, weak wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra Terrace Hotel
Ranked #54 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Good location, nice modern design.. Great bar in the hotel was useful for meeting people.. Rooms are small but this is well known in advance.. I prefer a chic design room to extra space so it's fine with me.. Unfortunately my first room was facing the front of the building and with construction next door, I was woken before 6am. I also had to sit on the floor by the door to use the wifi. While it was free (that is included in the room rate) it didn't work through out the building. With these 2 issues I asked to change room. There were no standard rooms available to switch into.... So bizarrely the staff insisted that I pay additionally to upgrade... My room was not as described - due to the bad wifi... Why was I charged extra for an upgrade I did not want? I just wanted wifi to work through out my room!! Otherwise staff were nice and friendly..

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank JohnCostelloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamantHotelBrisbane, General Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear John Costelloe

Thank you for staying at Diamant Brisbane and taking the time to post a review.

I am pleased to hear that you have liked the look and feel of the property and found the staff to be very competent. I am a bit concerned to hear that you are under the impression you were charged for an upgrade when the records are showing otherwise. Your folio and processed charges signed by you at the time of departure do not have upgrade charge on it as this was extended complimentary. Please don’t hesitate to contact me directly and I will send you copy of departing invoice to confirm this if you have misplaced the original.

Thank you for bringing WiFi issue to my attention, I can assure you this is being addressed as we speak and improvements are already noticeable.

Again, thank you for your time Mr Costelloe and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Diamant on your next trip to Brisbane!

Warmest Regards
Branka Indic
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (898)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

810 - 816 of 898 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

I'm a US size 0 and these rooms were too small for me, and that was the middle size room, goodness knows how big the smallest rooms are. No where to sit and eat, work or relax except on the bed. That said, décor was clean, chic and pleasant and I liked the bathroom, which was almost as big as the bedroom but the lighting needed a boost as difficult to see to put make-up on. A little reminder that room service is via the TV would be nice for those who forget such things.
Convenient to Central Station but a bit of a walk to the shops.

Room Tip: The smallest rooms are at the front of the hotel, right by the lifts and overlooking a busy street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelConnoisseuria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamantHotelBrisbane, General Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear Traveller

Thank you for staying at Diamant Brisbane and taking the time to post a review.

It is disappointing to read that while you had a comfortable stay with us you were not pleased with size of the standard rooms at the front of property. We have selection of room types available ranging in size and futures and I only fish you have made us aware of this at the time as we would have been more than happy to organise a room move for you on the day providing one was available.

Again, thank you for your time and we do hope you will give us a chance to welcome you back to Diamant Brisbane.

Warmest Regards
Branka Indic
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Its a small hotel that is a little pretentious, with a high price tag and very little to offer. But its modern and clean and pretty new. But if you want space, don’t stay here, as the room was a little small for my liking, although the bathroom was a good size, but the lighting was poor, and you can’t have poor lighting in ANY bathroom.

Overall, it’s a good hotel, but with very little around it, its hard to find a place to eat.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveStefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamantHotelBrisbane, General Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear Stefan

Thank you for staying at Diamant Brisbane and taking the time to post a review.

Your feedback and observations are very much appreciated. I am pleased that overall you found the hotel clean and team friendly and would like to use this opportunity to let you know that we have few room types available at the property ranging in size. May I suggest you try one of our Diamant Suites on your next visit as I think this room type might be more to your liking. All of our rates are competitively priced and regularly reviewed to ensure the best value for our guests.

Again, thank you for your time Stefan and we do hope you will give us a chance to welcome you back to Diamant Brisbane soon.

Warmest Regards
Branka Indic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Spent five nights here..on the plus side location, staff helpful and nice and great bed. On the downside - rooms tiny and just no storage - I was on my own but if two of us would have been a real problem. Same in the bathroom. And they wanted to charge for wifi though when I complained it was offered gratis. And $7.50 for a 500ml bottle of water??!
I stay in Brisbane regularly but usual hotel was full...sorry but I won't be heading back here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robscanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamantHotelBrisbane, General Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Dear Rob

Thank you for staying at Diamant Hotel Brisbane and taking the time to post a review!

In our efforts to ensure our hotel continues to grow, we are grateful for your feedback.
We appreciate you highlighting to us the areas of disappointment as well as positives.
I would also like to use this opportunity and confirm that since August 20th we offer complimentary internet to all of our guests.

Again, thank you for taking the time to write your review and all the best with your future travels.

Kind Regards

Branka Indic
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I only stayed 1 night on a quick business trip, and really didnt see too much of the hotel aprt from reception and my room, but I also got the sense there isnt too much more too see (apart from the bar, which some of my local colleagues frequent).
The room was small, which was ok for me, but if you wanted to hang out in your room might be a little cramped. It had a pretty aggressive air conditioner, which is one of my pet hates, but I could open the balcony dooor to let in some air and switch off the a/c. I like to be able to popen windows. Of course that let in a bit of noise, but not too much as it is pretty quiet part of town.
The room was clean and had everynting you needed, but no sense of "luxury". The wifi was free but a little cumbersome to use, and you need a seperate log in for each device, so remember to pick up the codes at reception.
i thought the rate i paid was a little pricey for a fairly basic room

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamantHotelBrisbane, General Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Dear David

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at Diamant Hotel Brisbane. We appreciate the feedback so that we can continue to improve our facilities and services.

I am glad to hear that although you found our rooms compact, you were pleased with presentation, cleanliness and fit out of the same.
Please don’t hesitate to contact us directly when you have your next Brisbane trip planned as we do offer the best deals direct.


Warmest Regards
Branka Indic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

I travelled from perth so i know about overpriced hotels, and this one is not that bad as other reviews suggest. Its a Nice hotel with small rooms but good location and friendly staff. Comfy beds and handy bar downstairs. Good for a night when a special rate is offered.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwiamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamantHotelBrisbane, General Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Dear Kiwiamac

Thank you for staying at Diamant Hotel Brisbane and taking the time to post a review.

I am pleased to hear we have managed to meet your expectations and yes, we are certainly well located with a maximum 10 minute walk to anywhere around CBD and great connection to domestic and international airports. We are also very proud to be offering affordable Brisbane accommodation paired with quality service that is very hard to come by these days.

Again, thank you for your time and please don’t hesitate to contact us directly when you have your next Brisbane trip planned as we do offer the best deals direct.

Kind Regards

Branka Indic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I read the reviews on this hotel before booking. We got a special deal with www.wotif.com which included free parking, King Bed, and a breakfast pack for around $140. I would only stay again with that deal. We had a night planned in the city so this was somewhere to sleep. The bed was very comfortable. The room was small but had a desk and chair and a small balcony.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gypsy1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamantHotelBrisbane, General Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Dear Traveller

Thank you for staying at Diamant Hotel Brisbane and taking the time to post a review.

Glad to hear you were able to take advantage of our great weekend deal we often have out not just on wotif but our website as well and were happy with inclusions and service provided.
We are all looking forward to welcoming you back on your next night out on the town!

Warmest Regards
Branka Indic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.5 mi away
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
#33 of 169 in Brisbane
462 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane
0.6 mi away
Oakwood Hotel & Apartments Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mantra Richmont Hotel
Mantra Richmont Hotel
#11 of 169 in Brisbane
787 reviews
0.6 mi away
Great Southern Hotel
Great Southern Hotel
#79 of 169 in Brisbane
1,462 reviews
0.0 mi away
Punthill Brisbane
Punthill Brisbane
#14 of 169 in Brisbane
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Terrace Hotel

Address: 52 Astor Terrace | Spring Hill, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly Diamant Hotel Brisbane)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Brisbane
#39 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#49 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: $61 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Terrace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next time you’re looking for a Brisbane hotel, stay in a Hotel Room or Studio Suite at Mantra Terrace Hotel. With modern comfort and the very latest in facilities such as WiFi (fees apply) and iPod dock in every room. Experience genuine and friendly service mingled with those little things that mean a lot like complimentary newspapers and Fitness First gym passes. The O Bar & Restaurant is your perfect convenient dining option. Serving fresh, seasonally inspired dishes it is the ideal dining choice when staying at Mantra Terrace Hotel. Come in and enjoy the seasonally adapted mouthwatering menu dishes on offer. Visit the Valley to listen to great live music or a little fun and funky shopping. Fortitude Valley is just a pleasant stroll away and is home to some of Brisbane’s coolest bars, al frescos and restaurants. With Central Station practically on your doorstep and the airport only 13 km away, you’re never far from anything when you stay at Mantra Terrace Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamant Hotel Brisbane - By 8 Brisbane
Portal Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing