We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mantra Terrace Hotel
Ranked #51 of 160 Hotels in Brisbane
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Not bad”
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Not a bad stay, just nothing special. Very small room even though we were upgraded to the "premium room"?
When I opened the door to the room an unpleasant odour came out, not the nicest way to be greeted. Hard line to tread, sometimes air freshers make you feel sick but maybe they could leave the windows open from time to time to air the place out?
Other than that the room was clean, the bed comfy, good location of hotel, short walk to cbd; pretty good value all told.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UrbanQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamantHotelBrisbane, General Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Dear UrbanQ

Thank you for writing the review. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us.
We agree, our location is perfect. Positioned on a tree lined quiet street just minutes to anywhere in the CBD or just a short cab or train ride to anywhere else in the City.
I am sorry to hear that there was a bit of smell issue at the time of your arrival and only wish you would have let us know at the time as we would be more than happy to organise an alternative room for you. I have passed this on to our Executive Housekeeper and she is currently addressing the issue.
Again, thank you for your feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you to Diamant soon.

Kind Regards
Branka Indic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    330
    149
    51
    32
See reviews for
59
285
102
272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

The comments that the rooms are a bit small are indeed true, but we found everything else about this hotel to be nice.
-Rooms run around ~$200/night, about par for other CBD locations
-Easy walk to Queen Street (we found a walkway through the buildings across the street to a lift that could take us up from and down to Central Station, avoiding a climb up the hill)
-Free day pass to Fitness First gym 3 blocks away was a major plus since we like to work out on the road
-Free breakfast at the adjacent restaurant made this into a good value
-Quiet surroundings (especially on weekends)
-Friendly staff who did a workaround to check us in early

Since I can't find other hotels in the CBD area with free gym access, I'll be staying here next time I'm in Brisbane.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojufa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamantHotelBrisbane, General Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Dear Jojufa
On behalf of all the staff at Diamant Hotel Brisbane thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.
I am so glad to hear that you have taken advantage of the Fitness First access we provide complimentary to all of our guests. I believe their knowledgeable, experienced and friendly staff compliments Diamant’s excellence in service we are so proud of.
Again, thank you so much for a great feedback and we are looking forward to your next visit.
Kind Regards
Branka Indic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Stayed at the Dianat Hotel in Brisbane on November 9, 2011.

A very small,dark room. Very well appointed and clean.

And at the price we paid, $240, it was the most expensive accomidation we stayed in our 15 days in Australia.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamantHotelBrisbane, General Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Dear Traveller

Thank you for posting the review of your recent stay at Diamant Hotel Brisbane.
I am sorry to hear that you have found the accommodation to be expensive as we pride our self’s on providing highly competitive rates for the current market in Brisbane and Australia.
Again, thank you for your time and please don’t hesitate to contact us directly for the best rates available on your next trip to Brisbane.
Kind Regards
Branka Indic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryborough
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We stayed in a premier room and yes, they are small rooms but our room was set out well and had everything we could want. The room was super clean. The staff were fantastic. When I called the morning we were due to check in to see if we could check in early I was told that housekeeping would have the room ready for us at a time that suited us.
Our stay included wine and chocolates and breakfast at the attached restaurant (service and food here was really good) and complimentary parking.
We stayed new years eve so we heard a bit of noise outside but it was not enough to keep us awake.
I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamantHotelBrisbane, General Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
We truly appreciate you taking the time to provide us with the feedback of your stay at Diamant Hotel Brisbane.
I am so glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we at Diamant are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Brisbane.

Warmest Regards
Branka Indic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2011

Stayed here recently. The rooms (a premium) are ok but are pretty small, the bed is relatively comfortable and mostly clean.
However
1) the safe didnt work. We told the front desk immediately and nothing happened. Reception almost gave a blank look 'yeh, what do you want me to do about it'
2) the bathroom has NO windows and is SO badly lit (two small ceiling spotlights which are badly positioned) you can hardly see what you're doing. The shower has black mould around the seals and the shower head was caked with lime/dirt which meant it sprayed everywhere but directly in front.
3) most of the rooms are based on the right hand side of the buildling which is above a noisy alley way at the back of an open air pub/bar...and we were kept awake each evening by the bar noise and woken EVERY morning by hotel workers moving barrels and bins at 6am. (i believe the bar is part of the hotel so it should/could be managed properly to limit the impact on residents)
There is no 'view' from this side of the hotel except the back and side of a horrible office block and a large noisy air-con unit.
4) the fire alarm went off at 7am one morning, the hotel staff didnt have a clue how to ensure all the hotel guests were accounted for and there was no communication how to exit the building and how to get back into the building afterwards. Evacuation details were not on the back of the door as in most standard hotels.
5) The patio doors out to the juliet balcony (one tiny chair and table, so you couldnt enjoy it) were single glazed so the room was very noisy and the blind only came 3/4 of the way down the doors so it was bright light at 4:30am
6) Finally the website doenst really tell you what the difference is between rooms - what did i get in my premium room apart from a poor night's sleep? the website rates are equally confusing - i was able to book a spring 'promotion' on the website for my stay in December which was only available until end Nov - i didnt book as i didnt want the hassle of arguing when i got to the hotel.
7) badly laid out room - there is a bar stool for the desk chair which doesnt fit under the desk so you cant tuck it away (a problem in such a small room) and probably isnt suitable for working on as there is no back to the chair. The fridge is in the wardrobe meaning you cant really hang anything up and there is no shelves to put things on.
8) The hallways smell of wet dogs - like the carpets have been cleaned but not been dried so smell of mildew
All in all i think this is a poor hotel for the money - its not the worst hotel i have ever stayed in but certainly fell short of expectations. I wont recommend to stay here and i wont stay here again myself - mostly because of the noise situation.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GavT_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamantHotelBrisbane, General Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave the comments from your stay at Diamant Hotel Brisbane.
It is disappointing to hear that your experience was not what you have expected. We just recently had majority of our rooms fitted with new bathroom lighting and are constantly working on updating the property. I am able to confirm that all of our rooms have evacuation plans on the back of the doors with clearly marked entry and exit points as per Fire and safety Regulations.
Once again thank you for your feedback, I do hope we are able to welcome you back to Diamant Hotel Brisbane in the near future to be able to provide the 5 star experience we pride ourselves on.
Kind Regards

Branka Indic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

My husband booked a "romance" package at this hotel to celebrate out anniversary. We arrived at 4pm and we were told our room was not ready. Someone from front office quickly organised the Chilled Sparkling in an ice bucket and scooped up the rose petals and complimentary chocolates as promised in our package and took them up to our room as my husband went to park the car.
This took some time - there is no onsite parking and we eventually checked in to our room.
It was the smallest hotel room I had ever stayed in (yes I have been to New York) there was no where to sit except on the bed (or the toilet) and a sliding door opened to reveal a "balcony" overlooking dustbins in a laneway. Either my husband or I could sit outside, getting us both out there at once would have been a logistical nightmare.
I called the front office to make sure this was in fact a "junior suite" we had booked at $280 per night and was assured it was, The front office person assured me there were in fact smaller rooms in the hotel. This I cannot imagine.
We went out for dinner and upon our return discovered the ice bucket had leaked all over the (only) bench in the room soaking the surrounding area. The air conditioning didnt appear to work at all and we spent the night with the balcony door open.
Breakfast the next morning (included) was one of the best I have ever had in Brisbane - it was an a la carte menu not a buffet and our individual requests were met and our expectations well exceeded. I would definately eat there again but I would not stay in this establishment again. Ever.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamantHotelBrisbane, General Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Thank you kindly for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Diamant Hotel Brisbane. I am sorry to hear that your stay was not a pleasant experience.
I can confirm that we do not have Junior Suites at the property and that you have booked a Romantic Getaway Package at $280.00 in one of our Premier rooms that includes breakfast for 2, sparkly on arrival, chocolates and parking.
Here at Diamant Brisbane, we always aim to present our room with every desire to achieve customer satisfaction, we do appreciate however that our style of Hotel is not to everyone’s taste and apologise that your experience was not as you had anticipated.
Warmest regards and thank you again for taking time to leave your feedback.

All the best

Branka Indic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

The rooms are very small. The combined walk-in-wardrobe/bench/tea and coffee facilities/fridge was disappointing as it just showed how cramped the room was.

Interconnecting rooms seem to have sound proofing issues - I was in one, and could hear the baby next door crying.

On the positive side, the teas (T2) and coffee (Robert Timms) in the room was nice (and recently refurbished), the staff are friendly, and the hotel has a modern trendy vibe.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentBedBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamantHotelBrisbane, General Manager at Mantra Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Diamant Hotel Brisbane. We appreciate your response and delighted to hear you enjoyed selection of tea and coffee in the room and were happy with the staff.
Again, thank you for your time as it is always great to hear from our guests, both good and bad news, as it is how we can continue to improve.
Kind Regards
Branka Indic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane
0.0 mi away
Punthill Brisbane
Punthill Brisbane
#9 of 160 in Brisbane
617 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Richmont Hotel
Mantra Richmont Hotel
#7 of 160 in Brisbane
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Great Southern Hotel
Great Southern Hotel
#73 of 160 in Brisbane
1,434 reviews
0.5 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#61 of 160 in Brisbane
1,557 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oakwood Hotel & Apartments Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Terrace Hotel

Property: Mantra Terrace Hotel
Address: 52 Astor Terrace | Spring Hill, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly Diamant Hotel Brisbane)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Brisbane
#38 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#48 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Terrace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next time you're looking for a Brisbane hotel, stay in a hotel room or studio suite at Mantra Terrace Hotel. With modern comfort and the very latest in facilities such as WiFi (fees apply) and iPod dock in every room. Experience world-class service mingled with those little things that mean a lot like complimentary newspapers and Fitness First gym passes as well as hair straighteners. You'll love the O Bar and Restaurant conveniently situated onsite and open Monday to Friday for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It is also open on Saturday and Sunday for breakfast. Room service is also available. Visit the Valley to listen to great live music or a little fun and funky shopping. Fortitude Valley is just a pleasant stroll away and is home to some of Brisbane's coolest bars, al frescos and restaurants. With Central Station practically on your doorstep and the airport only 13 km away, you're never far from anything when you stay at Mantra Terrace Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamant Hotel Brisbane - By 8 Brisbane
Portal Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing