We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The benchmark of what a B and B should be”
Review of Fern Cottage B&B

Fern Cottage B&B
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fern Cottage B&B
Ranked #28 of 62 Brisbane B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stopped here for only 2 nights at the start of August and stopped in the Orange room as there were 3 of us. A great set up with 2 bedrooms but one front door so like having your own apartment. The standard of decoration and cleanliness were excellent in the rooms and the breakfast room. We had our own private bathroom which was spotless and well equipped. Breakfast was great with fresh fruit,breads,cereals and boiled eggs if required as well as tea, coffee and juices all at a time that suited you.
The thing that sets Fern Cottage out is Geoff and Mary (not forgetting Max the dog). We were welcomed as the taxi arrived and from that moment until we said our farewells as we left we couldn't have been looked after any better.
No thing was any trouble and our 2 days in Brisbane were (perfectly) arranged by Mary and Geoff!!! They gave us a great tip on how to get to the Australia Zoo which meant we were picked up and dropped off rather than taking 2 buses and a train - Croc Connections in case you were wondering and on our 2nd day Geoff dropped us down to the river ferry and they lent us their Oyster cards to use so we didn't have the hassle and saved money. They recommended great restaurants which were a 5 min walk away and really we couldn't have asked for more.
I would recommend Fern Cottage whole heartedly and if anyone is looking for a model to find out what running a really great B&B should go and visit.
If I could give them 6 stars I would!!!!

Room Tip: The orange room for a small family is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 51 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2012

Stayed here two nights and thoroughly enjoyed the character and charm of the place. Mary & Geoff were helpful hosts, and their pup was a pleasure as well. My flight arrived from the U.S. in the morning, but they were available to show me into my room (which actually had a bedroom with doors leading to the patio, and adjoining room with a day bed, and a bathroom). All charmingly decorated. Homey and quaint. Breakfast was delicious! Mary & Geoff helped me with a booking to Australia Zoo and got me on my way to another animal park as well, via city bus. There was one room next to mine on the ground floor, which was occupied one night by a lovely local elderly lady who had gotten cataract surgery that day and thus could not be alone in her home that night - so she stayed here at the B&B as a guest of Mary & Geoff. (Which I understood she had done before - perhaps for the other eye?) It was very sweet. I highly recommend Fern Cottage.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WItravelingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We recently stayed 5 nights at Fern Cottage. Our stay was very comfortable and Mary and Geoff were great hosts. We had the red room with balcony with table and chairs, fridge and coffee/tea making facilities. Guests also had the use of kitchen and contents. We loved the neighbourhood close to Rosalie Village and bus stop. The Lebanese restaurant Rouj, which Mary and Geoff recommended was fantastic. Mary was alsonvery helpful suggesting itineraries each day for us. We had a great time and would highly recommend Fern Cottage.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NSWHenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We recently stayed for two nights at Fern Cottage and enjoyed every moment. Mary and Geoff made us feel very welcome, it was as if we were friends. Our room was lovely with a balcony and the accessible kitchen was well stocked. Great area to walk around, beautiful queenslander homes and interesting shops. Look forward to staying here again.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jenjen31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We would heartily agree with the positive reviews about Fern Cottage...we spent 4 nights here in November 2011.. lovely hosts, lovely neighbourhood .. especially enjoyed having breakfast out on the balcony off the room.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank perky149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

I found this B&B because it was mentioned in the Lonely Planet Australia guide and I generally find these recommendations to be quite helpful. I was not disappointed. We spent 3 days in Brisbane during December 2011 and we were quite happy with this B&B. The hosts, Geoff and Mary, are lovely. The location is nice - lots of little shops and very good restaurants within walking distance.Transit to the city is quick and easy. Breakfasts were healthy and delicious. Our room was very clean and had plenty of space, including a spacious balcony overlooking the neighbourhood where we usually ate breakfast. I would stay here again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMVZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We were lucky enough to get an overnight room here on our way to a wedding in Mount Tamborine. We had a night and a day to explore the restaurants, cafes and shops of historic Paddington. Thanks Mary and Geoff and the million dollar dog.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharroncarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.4 mi away
Brisbane Milton Bed and Breakfast
2.0 mi away
One Thornbury Boutique Bed and Breakfast
2.2 mi away
Meriton Suites Adelaide Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
2.5 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 168 in Brisbane
1,128 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#21 of 168 in Brisbane
2,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Cottage B&B

Address: 89 Fernberg Rd | Paddington, Brisbane, Queensland 4064, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Brisbane
Price Range: $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fern Cottage B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Fern Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing