We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sofa bed ripoff”
Review of Spring Hill Mews

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Spring Hill Mews
Ranked #80 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Nice clean place to stay, however we asked for twin beds thru Last Minute and were quoted a price. When we arrived no twin bed only a Queen so we had to pay an extra $20.00 per night (3 night) - $60.00 to use the sofa bed as well.
Would have been cheaper to go to Kmart an buy a set of sheets and throw them away after

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for Spring Hill Mews
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 67 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed here for NYE night and had an amazing stay.
Big bedroom, big bathroom and 2 balconies.
Furnishings were a little out-dated but for $170 a night I am not complaining.
Free carparking and the city is only a 5 minute walk away.
Great place to stay for families or couples.

Room Tip: If possible get a 2 bedroom apartment as they are two story.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ellyse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Just read some reviews regarding this property. I agree with some, but others appear to be biased. It’s not a Hilton and you get what you paid for. As a matter of fact, I have found this is one of the best places near Brisbane CBD area.

I am a regular traveller to Brisbane and have stayed in quite a few different units of this property. May be lucky but I have found no cleaning issues that concern me much. Occasionally some curry cooking smells in some units may need to be treated thoroughly though.

I agree that this place could be better if all furniture get upgraded. The rooms are spacious and well designed, but the carpets and sofa in some units look a bit dull and worn out. Having said that, I have found all units I stayed already have new furniture and several have had new carpet and sofa replacements. According to the managers, they are in the process of replacing all furniture and carpets.

The managers are very friendly and always responded promptly to my requests if any. My advice is to inform the managers of any maintenance issues rather than talk to cleaners. Overall I think the managers deserve to be complimented on their good works.

Room Tip: some rooms have split levels, check when you place booking.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tas007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This is the most expensive apartment I have used in my trip to Oz, and it is the least satisfactory. The main room (on the ground floor) is so dark that electric light is needed all the time.There is little evidence that cleaners have done any cleaning recently. Several items need mending - a failed light in the main room, loose towel rail. Carpet and sofa are worn out. The owners seem not to care about the low standards.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor, which is very dismal.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

I normally stay int eh city centre in Brisbane, but with everything booked out for some event or another, I drifted up into Spring Hill for the night. It was hardly a great inconvenience - just 15 minutes easy walk into Queen St.

The apartments themselves are certainly not new, but they are reasonably maintained and quite spacious. There is a small pool and good parking.

I didn't use the internet, but it has WiFi available through an outside provider for some ridiculous charge.

Service was good, efficent and friendly, and they were happy for me to leave my car there (free parking) the following day while I worked in the city.

As a business travller, Spring Hills Mews will probably not be a regular stop for me, but it's a decent back up when things are busy in the city. If I was to travel to Brisbane with my family, the spacious apartments with plenty of bedding would start to look quite attractive, I think.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian_Pratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed here for five nights in a one (1) bedroom apartment (No.37)
Whilst it was adequate, we will not return.
It is a shabby property with a very low standard of maintenance,
The bathroom drains smelt with stains and cracks in the grouting and tiles.
Poor quality carpet that looked dirty. Sheets and towelling were poor.
Clearly the management are doing an inadequate job and the individual owners are uninterested in their rental returns.
Can I suggest you seek somewhere else. We are for our trip in 2012.

Room Tip: Seek another property.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

I was a bit concerned about some of the reviews on here relating to cleanliness but since I was only staying overnight I thought I'd take a chance and the price was reasonable given the alternatives, which were either on a busy road or upmarket hotels in the CBD. There was nothing to complain about here - quiet location, walking distance of CBD, helpful staff. My apartment was fine - no musty smells - perhaps the other reviewer was unlucky. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank simone_a13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Astor Metropole Hotel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Metro Hotel Tower Mill On Wickham Terrace
0.2 mi away
Trilogy Residences
Trilogy Residences
#68 of 136 in Brisbane
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Spring Hill Central Apartments
0.4 mi away
Frisco Apartments
Frisco Apartments
#37 of 136 in Brisbane
97 reviews
0.0 mi away
Spring Hill Centrepoint
Spring Hill Centrepoint
#85 of 136 in Brisbane
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring Hill Mews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Hill Mews

Address: 27 Birley St, Spring Hill, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range: $86 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spring Hill Mews 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 minutes’ walk from Brisbane city centre and 5 minutes’ walk from Central and Roma Street train stations, these self-contained apartments feature a sparkling outdoor swimming pool set in a peaceful tropical garden. Spring Hill Mews Apartments are 15 minutes’ walk from the Brisbane River. Suncorp Stadium is just a 5-minute drive away. Each apartment is air-conditioned and offers 2 private balconies with city, garden or street views. All apartments have laundry facilities and a full kitchen with a dishwasher and microwave. The living areas include an LCD TV with 8 cable channels and DVD player. Outdoor settings include a sunny terrace and a covered barbecue area. Free secure parking is available on site. A mini library offers books and DVD for guests to enjoy. Spring Hill Mews Brisbane also offers free luggage storage facilities. Spring Hill is a great choice for travelers interested in parks, city trips and friendly locals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spring Hill Mews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing