We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay with their meats and you'll be right!”
Review of Cafe Les Amoureux

Cafe Les Amoureux
Ranked #251 of 4,313 Restaurants in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
366 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Stay with their meats and you'll be right!”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I recently tried a selection of their mains and have to say their steaks are fantastic and a must try. Tender but not watery and good flavours. The cafe sticks true to their french style cuisine but you can definately taste some asian influence. The steaks taste more like quality french-japanese style ones then french-american if you are aware of the difference.

Their M9 wagyu striplion at $60 is worth a try for those wanting to indulge. It was extremely good.
You can also try their 1kg or more steaks to share and you still can't go wrong.

However, I'd stay away from their seafood and pastas. The seafood crepe was unappealing. Hardly any seafood and tasted like frozen seafood out of a bag with small bits and pieces only. The seafood pasta was the same, just not that good.
Finally their salmon was terrible. It was too asian style and not french enough. The salmon fillet was overcooked and the skin not crispy at all.

Tip: Stick with what the french are good at, steak and duck.

Apart from the steak and duck I only have the following to say about Les Amoureux:
Why go to Chinatown to eat fish and chips? THe restaurant is located in what's considered the culinary chinatown of Brisbane. I don't understand why people want to have pasta and french food when there is so much authentic and reasonably priced food in the same complex.

Atmosphere is nice and pricing slightly expensive compared to surrounding restaurants. Service is quite good overall.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TIersHasie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    43
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1,572 reviews
931 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,276 helpful votes
“Another fantastic Steak!”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is my second time here and the food again was superb.

We started with a a lovely combination herb and garlic bread.

For the main I had the Eye Fillet with Peppercorn Sauce, Spinach and Fries. Not a large meal but a fantastic meal. The steak was so tender it could be cut by using the opposite end of the knife. Sensational and will be back in Brisbane in June and will definitely return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tommomelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great value”
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

My hubby and i thoroughly enjoyed dinner here. I had the duck with cherry sauce and hubby had the chicken porcini- both delicious! For dessert, we had he fondant and creme brulee and again both really good. This place is a little gem in the heart of market square and the quality of the food can compete with restaurants like c'est bon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kejmman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This place ranks very high on my list of places for good quality french cuisine at a very reasonable prices. The main course prices range from $20 to $29 and the food is excellent. I would rate the price and quality to be very comparable to other great cities like NY or Prague. The interior is nice and inviting, spacious, not over crowded and has a nice atmosphere. You have an outdoor seating patio in the front and at the back end. The only negative, finding parking at the sunny bank strip.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Some of the best steak in town”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We go here regularly and despite the extensive menu and blackboard specials I can never go past the steaks which are invariably excellent quality and perfectly cooked. The desserts are good too, who can say no to a little pot of chocolate or crime brûlée.

The cafe itself is casual and relaxed and the staff always friendly.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PacificTonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Les Amoureux also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Cafe Les Amoureux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing