We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good backpacker hostel....variety of people stay there!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nomads Brisbane Hostel
Ranked #115 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Reviewed July 27, 2010

stayed here for 5 nights. stayed in a 5 bed dorm, and this cost me $23 per night.

Staff on reception were friendly and provided a quick and efficient service.

Rooms were cleaned daily and fresh bedding was provided.

The communal TV rooms were spacious with good seating and modern flat screen large wall TV's with Sky.

Balcony on 2nd floor and roof top on 7th floor provided a retreat away from others to watch the world go by!

Great location close to all amenities needed.

The bar underneath can be loud at times, but then it is a backpacker hostel! Drinks were reasonable and the $10 meal & drink deal was a steal! well worth it!

Overall i would stay at this hostel again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (644)
There are newer reviews for Nomads Brisbane Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

534 - 540 of 644 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2010

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!

this hostel is the worst hostel ever. the rooms are very basic, dirty and noisy. we stayed in a double and it was like a prison cell. one double bed with little covers and one cupboard with a lock on. above the door was a decorative gap that you could hear everyone in and corridor and everyone in the corridor could hear you. the night club downstairs is soo noisy that you hear that untill the early hours of the morning. then theres the showers....... crawling with bugs and dirt!

it was the most expensice hostel we stayed at and the worst by far. as a traveller you dont expect high standards but surely there has to be a certain standard of cleaniness at least.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coolestbabe88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2010

First of all, staff range from being unbelievably IGNORANT to one freaky fat guy being TOTALLY in your face, cold showers, cockroaches, filthy kitchen, u need key cards for goin to the toilet............weird or wat! Worst hostel we've ever stayed in, in our two years of travelling!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naid57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2010

Just don't do it. This is a heritage building, but the company who run ti don't seem to care too much about the place. The rooms are pretty poor at this place. I stayed ina dorm with some smelly people, then I moved to a single which was very small. I had to move rooms as the electrical outlet in my room was broken.

The bathrooms at this place are in very poor condition. I went to use a shower on the 4th floor and found that all the fittings in it had been removed. The taps in the bathrooms also had a lot of rust around them.

I didn't use the kitchen here, so can't comment on it. The other facilities are not really up to much in this place. The only area they seem to have spent any money on is the bar which has some good drink deals.

The staff are fairly friendly apart from the grump working on the desk in the evening.

The location is just outside central station, so it's good unless you are coming from the airport after 9pm, when they stop the Airtrain running for some strange reason.

There are a lot of noisy, filthy annoying slackpackers at this hostel. If you like those types or you are one, it's perfect for you. If you like being clean then it's not for you.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thejournalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

I only stayed one night: thank goodness.

I booked through www.wotif.com which offered no saving on the A$49 single room tariff.

The hostel is in a marvellous heritage building but there it stops.

Reception was unhelpful regarding my request for a wake-up call at 0600: 'that's not how it works' was the reply when I asked.

The room was pokey; although the single bed was comfortable enough, there was only a bare table in the room and a smoke detector.

Toilets were hard to locate, as they were not separately identified from the showers. The latter were grotty.

Until at least 0300,. loud music pulsated from the basement bar. Then I had the dubious pleasure of some backpackers speaking in French at 0350. I did not manage to sleep at all. Previously there was noise from the TV room.

Upon returning my pillowcase to reception at 0630 or so I felt like I'd slept in a prison. Fortunately I escaped after only one night.

It must be HELL in summer with only a ceiling fan to aid relief from the heat.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victorianlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2010

Had a single room here, and it was OK. Clean enough and nice staff. The problem was the online booking so had to stay in a dorm the first night since they didn't have my booking (but I had a confirmation by email). The staff were nice but no attempt to compensate for their mistake or anything. If you're looking forward to a single an 8-bed dorm doesn't really do it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BabSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2010

Stayed in a private double room here, as soon as i walked into the room i wanted to leave but after driving for 13hrs i just collapsed. Room looked like a jail cell with nothing but a bed and a table in it!
Place was dirty and full of people who couldnt clean up after themselves.

What really annoyed me was all the crap they played over the intercom, i dont mean music. One night a member of staff was singing "incy wincy spider" for about 10minutes! I dont know whether they thought they were funny but it was just annoying!

If it was cheap i would get over all that but for a price i could have paid a small bit more and got a hotel.....you've been warned!

Wouldnt send my worst enemy here!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mossalop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.3 mi away
George Williams Hotel
George Williams Hotel
#63 of 167 in Brisbane
456 reviews
0.7 mi away
BUNK Brisbane
BUNK Brisbane
#28 of 138 in Brisbane
582 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brisbane City YHA
Brisbane City YHA
#13 of 138 in Brisbane
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Base Brisbane Uptown
Base Brisbane Uptown
#78 of 138 in Brisbane
285 reviews
1.2 mi away
Brisbane Backpackers Resort
Brisbane Backpackers Resort
#114 of 138 in Brisbane
18 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomads Brisbane Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Brisbane Hostel

Address: 308 Edward St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly Base Brisbane Central)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range: $16 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads Brisbane Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nomads Brisbane has everything a backpacker could want, with our five floors offering a wide variety of rooms to appeal to everyone from the newly-arrived to the newly-wed, including dormitory and private rooms. All rooms are secured via electronic keycards, while you can keep your valuables doubly secured with our supplied lockers. Linen is also provided so there's no need to bring your sleeping bag! But that's not all. Our rooftop terrace is the place in the Brisbane CBD to catch some sun, chill out, have a BBQ or just watch the world go by while you wait for your laundry in one of our three laundry rooms. If the sun's not your thing then we also have common areas to kick back, relax, and get some quality tv time; that or cook up a feast in our guest kitchen! If you're looking for work, why not let our Job Club give you a nudge in the right direction? Likewise, our friendly travel desk staff don't just know everything about the beautiful South-East Queensland - they can give you advice about anywhere in Australia, New Zealand and the South Pacific! Downstairs the Down Under Bar is where you can go full on, flat out! Come on down to Brisbane's most famous backpacker bar where you can win great prizes, dance the night away, or even meet Mr/Mrs Right (or Mr/Mrs Right Now!). If you're after something a little quieter then our Zi Bar does great food and coffee, with regular functions to keep you entertained. Dormitories are available to genuine backpackers only. Guests MUST be over 18 years old to stay at Nomads Brisbane Hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Nomads Brisbane Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Brisbane Central Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing