We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay there”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nomads Brisbane Hostel
Ranked #109 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't stay there”
Reviewed March 22, 2010

This place was just creepy!! After staying at YHAs throughout Australia I thought I'd give Base a go... staff were rude, except for a couple of guys that were the other extreme, over the top friendly to the point of annoying.

The rooms were messy and dirty. I had booked a 10 bedder and when I saw the room I walked straight out and swapped for a single room, which wasn't much better... I had to put up with loud music until 1am, and very VERY noisy hallway swing doors that kept me awake all night, since people had no consideration for others and simply, no one seemed to care!

Positives are that bathrooms were clean and location was good.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luciana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    104
    131
    130
    173
See reviews for
7
96
233
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne, australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2010

Perfect location opposite central station (easy to get the train out from the airport) and right on the heart of the city. Above a pumping bar, yet once in your bed you hardly hear any noise.
Beautiful old building, modern enough inside while maintaining character.
10 bed dorm was spacious, with comfortable bunks and spacious lockers for bags. Bed linen is provided but remember to bring a towel. Showers (on 1st floor) were average - the tap handle fell off, water pressure was low but temperature wasnt too bad.
could have done with air con as the humidity in brissy is pretty nuts.
i didnt use them, but there seemed to be a lot of great facilities. Service wasnt fantastic (smile people!!) but what else do you expect at backpackers?
To be fair i wasnt travelling in the true backpacker style for which this place is intended, but enjoyed my stay all the while!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2010

I stayed in several of the Base chain of hostels and this is one of the least nice. Quiet rooms at least (The bar is tucked away in the basement) and a handy location close to the railway station link to the airport and the city centre, but my (single) room wasn't air conditioned and got pretty hot and sticky. If you're staying here in the height of summer, check about air con first... I found the staff pretty helpful and friendly though.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrWindUpBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2010

great hostel, fairly clean plenty of showers etc and a great atmosphere in the bar below

Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Aaronmorley8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2010

Very welcoming staff, excellent location - literally right outside central station and a block or two from Queen Street.

The hostel seemed a bit dated but it was spotless inside and it has loads of amenities including a lift, bar, restuarant, travel desk etc.

I had a single room which was basic, small room with bed but didn't need anything else. It was kept clean and despite not having air con, it stayed cool.

I was a bit worried that it would be noisy with there being a club in the basement but the place was really quiet and there was no issue with noise so you can get the best of both worlds. Quiet nights for when you need to catch up on sleep and a bar and club right downstairs with a really good crowd for when you want to party.

One of my favourite hostels anywhere!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2010

Stayed here for a couple of nights at the start of a 3 week trip Australia.
Just wanted somewhere cheap and central so we could have a look around the city and also spend a day at Australia Zoo before heading to the Gold Coast.
The Base Brisbane Central is a fantatic location, literally opposite the Central Train Station where we caught the train to Australia Zoo for the day and also caught the train when we left Brisbane for the Gold Coast.
Round the corner you will find Queen Street Mall, the main shopping area in Brisbane and if you walk to the end you can get to Southbank within about 5-10 mins walk where there is an inner-city man-made beach with aussie lifeguards!
We had a private room, which consited of a double bed, set of draws and a window, yes it was small, but we had everything we needed on our doorstep and only used the room to sleep in, of which it was more than adequate.
The shared bathrooms/showers were clean and secured with a key pass lock.
All of the staff were amazingly friendly and informative, except for one, I had asked a perfectly logical question and she answered me as if I had just asked her the most ridiculous thing in the world, my boyfriend was speachless, I thought that was what receptionist staff were there for, to be asked queries and questions??
The Down Under Pub is located next to/underneath the hostel and can get quite loud at night.
Overall we had a really great stay at the hostel, and it served all of our needs, we would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2009

I live in Brisbane... This is the best spot to stay; even if you do not stay here, come party downstairs at the down under bar which goes off every night. Tuesday, Thursday, Friday and Saturday are best. Great location right next door to central station, 24 hour mcdonalds, two blocks from main shopping street, walking distance to south bank. Great food which almost always comes with a pint of beer downstairs at the downunderbar. Tasty, hearty and cheap. Alot of fun. Some reviews are negative. Yes the rooms are small, yes you do not have your own bathroom, yes it gets noisey...so get downstairs as well. The lift is difficult with luggage. Job centre for those looking for work, internet cafe. Staying in Brisbane? This is the place...you will meet great people

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank armyduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.0 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square
0.2 mi away
Base Brisbane Embassy
Base Brisbane Embassy
#107 of 128 in Brisbane
3.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.7 mi away
BUNK Brisbane
BUNK Brisbane
#27 of 128 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Base Brisbane Uptown
Base Brisbane Uptown
#78 of 128 in Brisbane
3.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brisbane City YHA
Brisbane City YHA
#10 of 128 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
1.2 mi away
Brisbane Backpackers Resort
Brisbane Backpackers Resort
#104 of 128 in Brisbane
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomads Brisbane Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Brisbane Hostel

Property: Nomads Brisbane Hostel
Address: 308 Edward St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly Base Brisbane Central)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads Brisbane Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nomads Brisbane has everything a backpacker could want, with our five floors offering a wide variety of rooms to appeal to everyone from the newly-arrived to the newly-wed, including dormitory and private rooms. All rooms are secured via electronic keycards, while you can keep your valuables doubly secured with our supplied lockers. Linen is also provided so there's no need to bring your sleeping bag! But that's not all. Our rooftop terrace is the place in the Brisbane CBD to catch some sun, chill out, have a BBQ or just watch the world go by while you wait for your laundry in one of our three laundry rooms. If the sun's not your thing then we also have common areas to kick back, relax, and get some quality tv time; that or cook up a feast in our guest kitchen! If you're looking for work, why not let our Job Club give you a nudge in the right direction? Likewise, our friendly travel desk staff don't just know everything about the beautiful South-East Queensland - they can give you advice about anywhere in Australia, New Zealand and the South Pacific! Downstairs the Down Under Bar is where you can go full on, flat out! Come on down to Brisbane's most famous backpacker bar where you can win great prizes, dance the night away, or even meet Mr/Mrs Right (or Mr/Mrs Right Now!). If you're after something a little quieter then our Zi Bar does great food and coffee, with regular functions to keep you entertained. Dormitories are available to genuine backpackers only. Guests MUST be over 18 years old to stay at Nomads Brisbane Hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Nomads Brisbane Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Brisbane Central Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing