We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nomads Brisbane Hostel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Oaks Felix(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
$117
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
ibis Brisbane(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hilton Brisbane(Brisbane)
$147
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$127
$117
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$141
$135
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$70
$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$65
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
$124
$119
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$91
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (785)
Filter reviews
785 results
Traveler rating
79
140
171
173
222
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
79
140
171
173
222
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
501 - 506 of 785 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

A room just about big enough for 2 people, they crammed 4 people in. Along with the damp smell that lingered in the building, the music was turned up full blast until about 3 am, showers were disgusting, kitchen was horrible. Never staying here again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Liammatthews4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Front Office Manager at Nomads Brisbane Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Hi,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your feedback, we take all of our guest’s feedback negative or positive on board so that we can make any necessary improvements and improve our service for our guests.

Unfortunately it was raining heavily over the past 3 weeks causing most buildings to have a damp smell. Our kitchen and bathrooms are going through renovation at the moment and will be more accommodating once finished.

The bar takes noise levels seriously and monitors the levels all night. The beats from downstairs can at times travel up and we can arrange to room move you with our 24 hour reception team.

Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

I have never seen a hostel this dirty - finding a clean dish in the kitchen is basically impossible as they're all in the sink with the leftover food all over it. The luggage storage room is more than overloaded and the sheets in my bed were extremely dirty. All in all everything was very worn-off, dirty and disgusting, i was more than glad that I only stayed here for one night!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missadventurelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Rooms were so messy from people staying long term, noisy from bar downstairs all through night urine smell when you get in
Plus points-fairly central helpful front desk, cheap breakfast downstairs

would never consider this place again

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eloise453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in the first floor, the room was okay for a dorm but that's about it when it comes to anything positive about this place. I could sing along to all the dance hits playing downstairs and with earplugs I could guess which song is playing from the bass. The bed practically moved from the music... I don't care for noise usually but this was too much. Kitchen was always filthy and just didn't want to cook there. Please do not go if possible and if you enjoy sleeping every now and then. Worst hostel I've ever stayed in!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
Thank S-M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Well, where do we start with this place? For a start, the room was cramped, small and dilapidated. The supposed lockers to store your belongings were hanging off the hinges, making them obsolete for protecting your belongings as anyone could easily rip the door off with a gentle pull. The nightclub, situated right underneath the hotel, blasts out horrendous music every night at full volume until about 4-5 in the morning and even with earplugs crammed in, it was difficult to get any sleep.

The doors had vents above them leading straight into the hallway, so you could hear everyone and all activities going on outside your room, mostly pissed up people at all hours of the night making an absolute racket with no consideration for anyone else. The beds were uncomfortable and left my back sore, the general room cleanliness was poor, with hairy carpets and grim, messy walls.

The so called 'leisure' area was small and crap, limited seating with no access to any games or entertainment. The kitchen was overcrowded, had limited cooking supplies and on more than one occasion, my food was stolen by some inconsiderate bastards. The rest of the travellers weren't the nicest bunch of people. Very loud, rude and obnoxious people with no consideration for others.

The toilets weren't in any better state either. There were literally large puddles of urine all over the floor and seat and they didn't seem like they were tended to very often, if at all. The price was extortionate for what you get, a complete rip off and generally awful experience. Please avoid at all costs.

An all round terrible experience and I wouldn't recommend anyone in their right mind stay here. The owners should be ashamed of themselves for running a complete dump of a hostel. STAY AWAY!

Room Tip: Don't pick any room, you'd do better staying under a bridge!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews