We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Base Brisbane - Central”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nomads Brisbane Hostel
Ranked #118 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Thank god I only stayed for one night. The location is good but that's about it. The elevator didn't work and it was a chore dragging heavy luggage upstairs up to the 4th floor. It was also tiring having to walk up and down four flights of stairs whenever I wanted to leave and come back to the hostel. The thumping beat of the music all night from the bar downstairs meant it was not a relaxing place to stay and the noise of people dragging their luggage through the double doors in the corridor was so loud you couldn't sleep. Plenty of other backpackers/inns around town and it might be worth a bit of a walk to stay somewhere a bit more quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (665)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

455 - 461 of 665 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed 2 nights, got a 2nd floor Double room. Clean, ok as hostels go. We booked it as it was cheaper than the other hostels............now I know why! Oh my word, there is a club next door and it plays the worst music until 3am all week long! Seriously, 'Grease Lightening' at 2:30 am pounding inside your unwilling head.....sleeping is a secondary act in this hostel, trying to keep out the hideous music is the first. We had ear plugs thank the lord and managed to sleep to a certain degree. If you love clubbing and want to sleep after 3am then go for it, you can sleep all you like until 7am when the workmen begin outside.

Money well spent again in Australia!! Thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hev81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Manager at Nomads Brisbane Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

We really appreciate your feedback.

Regarding your comments on noise we do have a night auditor that does security checks around our hostel on the hour and will always be happy to help. Especially having our bar located downstairs we would of been happy to move you to a much more quieter room where you wouldn't have to listen to Grease Lightning.

Thank you again for your comments

Safe travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Very good location beside central bus station and 10 minute walk to main shopping streets. Staff were friendly at front desk and the reception area looks great. It all goes down hill once you step out the lift. Rooms are so crammed there was not enough rooms for baggage. I was in a 8 bed dorm that was clearly only made for 6 people and it only had 6 lockers and one plug outlet in the room. Worst hostel I stayed in and has put me off base hostels

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seaghán M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Manager at Nomads Brisbane Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Hello and thanks for taking the time to pass on your feedback

I am very sorry you were dissapointed in your stay at Base.

We are currently under-going some renovations (none of which effecting guests) which will make a big difference to our property especially our rooms.

Glad to hear that our friendly staff were very helpful.

We really do appreciate good and bad comments as it's important to us to know what our guests thoughts on our property are. We also use feedback to improve our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I liked that this hostel is easy walking to central Brisbane. The building was old but historic. Unfortunately the lifts dont work so pulling up bag flights of steps not so fun. Bit noisy with bar underneath resonating music through to first floor at least. Bed a bit lumpy. Reception well manned 24 hrs. Good service. Bit pricier than other hostels but it is Brisbane.

Room Tip: Lower floors easier for carting up baggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria155_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Manager at Nomads Brisbane Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on your recent experience at our hostel.

Location is definately very convenient to everything in the city, so that is a bonus for our hostel.
I apologise for our lift being out of order on the day of your arrival. As you are aware that it comes along with the old building and so that means it takes a while for the parts to come in.
We're glad you enjoyed the service you received here and that you had a good time in Brisbane!

Enjoy your travels and thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed here a while ago, I was booked in for three nights but it was so horrible I ended up sleeping on a friends couch after the first night. I was booked into a private room and it reminded me of some sort of gang pad. Wallpaper was hanging off the wall, there was graffiti on the walls, the fan on the ceiling looked as though it was about to fall down. The hallways smelt real bad. Wouldn't recommend anyone to stay here. Only good thing is the location, very central.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Reasonable price for what I got, central city so handy. Room and bathrooms were clean. Noise was a factor with the downstairs bar and other inconsiderate drunk guests, but nothing I wasn't expecting. Staff friendly, room secure (I had a single room)

Room Tip: I was able to upgrade to my own room for AU$15 a night which I thought was totally worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AK47girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Manager at Nomads Brisbane Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear AK47girl,

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Also great to see you took the upgrade option available we think it's worth it too.

Please come back and visit us again soon and thank you very much for taking the time to send in some feedback of our hostel.

All the best in your travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

A great mix of people. Kitchen is crazy learnt alot from watching other pepole cook! Not a hostel for the shy very busy and load but a true experience with a great work out with the 200 year old lift out of order. Love the bar underneath when your to lazy to cook but thhe Friday night party was messy (leave your best clothes in the bag)...........................

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dazza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Manager at Nomads Brisbane Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Thank you for finding the time to leave your feedback.

Base Central is well known to be a very social and crazy hostel compared to our other 2 Bases in the city.
We're glad you enjoyed the service you received while here and that you had a good time in Brisbane!

Enjoy your travels and thanks again for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.0 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square
0.3 mi away
George Williams Hotel
George Williams Hotel
#65 of 168 in Brisbane
462 reviews
0.7 mi away
BUNK Brisbane
BUNK Brisbane
#28 of 139 in Brisbane
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Brisbane City YHA
Brisbane City YHA
#12 of 139 in Brisbane
595 reviews
0.3 mi away
Base Brisbane Uptown
Base Brisbane Uptown
#77 of 139 in Brisbane
294 reviews
1.2 mi away
Brisbane Backpackers Resort
Brisbane Backpackers Resort
#119 of 139 in Brisbane
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomads Brisbane Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Brisbane Hostel

Address: 308 Edward St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly Base Brisbane Central)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range: $17 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads Brisbane Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nomads Brisbane has everything a backpacker could want, with our five floors offering a wide variety of rooms to appeal to everyone from the newly-arrived to the newly-wed, including dormitory and private rooms. All rooms are secured via electronic keycards, while you can keep your valuables doubly secured with our supplied lockers. Linen is also provided so there's no need to bring your sleeping bag! But that's not all. Our rooftop terrace is the place in the Brisbane CBD to catch some sun, chill out, have a BBQ or just watch the world go by while you wait for your laundry in one of our three laundry rooms. If the sun's not your thing then we also have common areas to kick back, relax, and get some quality tv time; that or cook up a feast in our guest kitchen! If you're looking for work, why not let our Job Club give you a nudge in the right direction? Likewise, our friendly travel desk staff don't just know everything about the beautiful South-East Queensland - they can give you advice about anywhere in Australia, New Zealand and the South Pacific! Downstairs the Down Under Bar is where you can go full on, flat out! Come on down to Brisbane's most famous backpacker bar where you can win great prizes, dance the night away, or even meet Mr/Mrs Right (or Mr/Mrs Right Now!). If you're after something a little quieter then our Zi Bar does great food and coffee, with regular functions to keep you entertained. Dormitories are available to genuine backpackers only. Guests MUST be over 18 years old to stay at Nomads Brisbane Hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Nomads Brisbane Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Brisbane Central Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing