We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - horrendous hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nomads Brisbane Hostel
Ranked #111 of 129 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
England
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Location - horrendous hostel”
Reviewed May 26, 2008

It's in a great location, just shame about the actual place. While I was there they were changing over computer systems. It caused absolute chaos. Only certain people were trained and queues were horrendous. Add to the fact that while I was staying, mine and a number of other rooms in the hostel had bed bugs (a common problem with the 3rd floor apparently). The staff on reception were helpful when pushed, but for the most part were more interested in talking to each other.
I wouldn't stay there again, nor would I recommend it to others.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DunkB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    110
    138
    135
    179
See reviews for
8
100
244
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2008

We stayed at the Palace in Brisbane for 3 nights, and overall, were not that impressed. Upon arrival we had to queue for 25 minutes while the recpetionists booked people in. Although the girl checking us was very friendly when we finally got served! They said tha a new booking system had just been installed.

We found our way up to the room and were quite disappointed. It wasn't very clean, and the aircon didn't work, also the bin hadnt been emptied. We told them about everything, and asked about getting a fan but they guy on reception was quite rude, saying that they were too busy to give us one.

We had a quick look around the hostel and it was ok. As there are 5 floors we expected lots of facilites, but there was only 1 kitchen on the ground floor, and 2 tv rooms (only one of the Tv's worked though.)

On the first night There were night staff who patroll the downstairs area after 7.30, and checked that everyone who came had a room key. On the final night I was woken by two guys banging on our bedroom door. I was quite scared when they started kicking it. They went away, and a few of us went down to see reception about it. The guy on reception said that no one watches the floors, so they didnt know who it was or anything. They said if it happens again open the door and ask them to go away!

The Palace has a backpackers bar downstairs which is meant to be 'Full on Flat out" but it was deserted both nights we went in there. The atmosphere on the roof was a lot better.

Oversall, the Palace is ok to stay at for one night, but doenst have the facilities to cater for people who want to stay in Brisbane longer.

  • Liked — 24 hour internet and reception
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Oz08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2008

The locations is great, you're nearby everything in the city.
We stayed in a 4 bed dorm, and i was mildly impressed with the standard of the rooms.
The backpackers bar is great, well worth going to...hic!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The unfriendly staff
  • Stayed March 2005, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KentishManofKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World, Universe
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2007

Location, location, location! The Palace is near everything. The rooms were clean and the facilities enough to keep me happy. The best thing about this place is the fact you meet like minded people from everywhere. Staff were friendly and nice. I had no propblems at all. I'd reconmend this place to anyone who's looking for a good time and the hub of the city.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank strayfella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2007

we stayed in the second palace backpackers down the road from the main one- what a dump! there were cochroaches in the disgusting kitchen and the room was like a prison cell! and like many others have said the staff were unhelpful! stay at tinbillys near the transit center!!

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank thebYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brisbane hotels

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2006

The location of Palace is excellent, being right in the city centre, its also fairly cheap.

It is however quite dirty, noisy, I found a bedbug on my sheets on arrival, and the bathroom areas were fairly disgusting. reception tended to have queues too, perhaps they could do with a few more front desk staff. Having moved onto Palace after staying in some excellent hostels it was a bit of a shock.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the uncleanliness
  • Tips/Secrets — try somewhere else
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank edbythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 30, 2006

Stayed in the palace for 1 week. it was horrible. the staff were totally unfriendly and very very unhelpful. They did not have have enough facilities for the amount of people staying there. The job club there was a total ripe off. The room next store to us had bed bugs and they cleaned the mattress right outside our door it was totally disgusting.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.0 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square
0.7 mi away
BUNK Brisbane
BUNK Brisbane
#26 of 129 in Brisbane
570 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brisbane City YHA
Brisbane City YHA
#10 of 129 in Brisbane
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Base Brisbane Uptown
Base Brisbane Uptown
#82 of 129 in Brisbane
266 reviews
0.2 mi away
Base Brisbane Embassy
Base Brisbane Embassy
#106 of 129 in Brisbane
130 reviews
1.2 mi away
Brisbane Backpackers Resort
Brisbane Backpackers Resort
#109 of 129 in Brisbane
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomads Brisbane Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Brisbane Hostel

Property: Nomads Brisbane Hostel
Address: 308 Edward St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly Base Brisbane Central)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 129 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads Brisbane Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nomads Brisbane has everything a backpacker could want, with our five floors offering a wide variety of rooms to appeal to everyone from the newly-arrived to the newly-wed, including dormitory and private rooms. All rooms are secured via electronic keycards, while you can keep your valuables doubly secured with our supplied lockers. Linen is also provided so there's no need to bring your sleeping bag! But that's not all. Our rooftop terrace is the place in the Brisbane CBD to catch some sun, chill out, have a BBQ or just watch the world go by while you wait for your laundry in one of our three laundry rooms. If the sun's not your thing then we also have common areas to kick back, relax, and get some quality tv time; that or cook up a feast in our guest kitchen! If you're looking for work, why not let our Job Club give you a nudge in the right direction? Likewise, our friendly travel desk staff don't just know everything about the beautiful South-East Queensland - they can give you advice about anywhere in Australia, New Zealand and the South Pacific! Downstairs the Down Under Bar is where you can go full on, flat out! Come on down to Brisbane's most famous backpacker bar where you can win great prizes, dance the night away, or even meet Mr/Mrs Right (or Mr/Mrs Right Now!). If you're after something a little quieter then our Zi Bar does great food and coffee, with regular functions to keep you entertained. Dormitories are available to genuine backpackers only. Guests MUST be over 18 years old to stay at Nomads Brisbane Hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Nomads Brisbane Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Brisbane Central Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing