We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Oaks Casino Towers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oaks Casino Towers
Ranked #54 of 160 Hotels in Brisbane
London
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I got a great deal through webjet so I wasn't shocked when I was put on one of the lower floors. Despite this there was very little road noise, and I'm a light sleeper. The one bedroom apartment was HUGE (though I think it was a 2 bedroom + study, with one of the bedrooms locked) and had everything you could want, including a DVD player. I had a great view across the river. The hotel is close to most things Brisbane has to offer and is a painless walk to Roma street train, bus and coach station. The people on reception were lovely and I'd stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonMac81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCasino, Manager at Oaks Casino Towers, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks Casino Towers. I was pleased to read you enjoyed the apartment and our fantastic location. Our aim is to make our guests feel at home and we certainly hope we will welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    248
    124
    46
    44
See reviews for
163
201
23
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Had a great stay at the oaks, booked a one bedroom apartment, the room that I got was a two bedroom apartment with one of the bedrooms locked and the ensuite locked. This actually was a good thing as the apartment itself was spacious and the balcony that over looked the Brisbane river was huge. Room was clean and full of all the mod cons one would expect. Only drama was the foxtel was difficult to operate (separate controller from tv took a while to get hang of) and bathroom had conditioner, body lotion but not shampoo, good thing I brought my own.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCasino, Manager at Oaks Casino Towers, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thankyou for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks Casino Towers. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed staying with us. As we have more two bedroom apartments in our building we do upgrade some of our bookings. I was disapointed to read that housekeeping had overlooked the shampoo and passed on your comments to the department. I certainly hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back.in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

It was cheap, but not cheap enough to find a bedroom with a locked ensuite - use the laundry!! - a locked second bedroom, a crane outside the window, and a bunch of workers on the roof of the building next door.
Gives me a Bluebeard feeling, all those locked doors. Won't be back under any circumstances.

Room Tip: Don't let them put you on level 21.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank JMW6_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This was our first trip to brisbane so staying in this hotel made life easier with the main city one street over and the casino across the road everything was literally at our doorsteps!

The room was perfect for what we needed, a kitchen so we could make our own breakfast and store some drinks and snacks, and a tv with foxtel for the few hours we weren't off exploring.

The pool was incredible! Although there are only two sun chairs avaliable leaving me to sun bathe on the floor! But overall I would recommend staying at this hotel! It's easy access to transport as the casino is adjacent there are literally 30 or more waiting taxis!

Also if you walk across the bridge over to the south side, not only is it a lovley 15 min walk but there are so many restaurants of every cuisine! We ate Indian, Greek and modern australian all avaliable on the same street!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrystalleesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level 5 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed at the Oaks Casino Towers for 3 nights. The staff on reception when we arrived were very slow in finding our reservation and getting all the paper work organised. Was given a room on the 20th floor great view on one side of the balcony the other side was a crane with guys working, didnt appreciate the noise at 7am. Obvioulsy this building has been goin on for some time, a little bit of warning when we booked would of been nice. The room its self was rather shabby. had 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms had a not laying on the floor when we arrived telling us not to use one of the rooms...fair enough as we only booked a 1 bedroom...but on inspection the towel rail was about to fall off the wall so we requested to use the other room..didnt really matter as that towel rail was the same. Pulled the blind down at night and it wouldnt go back up so had to get that fixed..Walls generally need a good paint all through the unit. Beds are comfy with great pillows. Checkout was pretty smooth, (different receptionist). all in all i think my next trip to Brisbane i will look for something else .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank razor01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Firstly I only paid $114 for the stay(one night in a one bedroom apartment) so I guess I shouldn't be complaining.
The apartment was not a bad size. Had no view and the bathroom smelt like sewerage/mould.
Comfy bed, aircon worked great! Balcony a plus and pool area was A++
If I stayed here again I would try and request a room with a view or 2 bedroom.

Room Tip: Request a high floor/one with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellyse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is the second time we've stayed at Casino Towers over Christmas and we've definately noticed a slip in standards in the last twelve months.

Flukishly we were allocated exactly the same room as last year and this allowed us to notice an obvious decline in presentation. The room smelt musty on arrival and needed a good airing. The DVD player was faulty (lucky I brought my xbox with me!) and the entryway walls need a paint refresh with obvious luggae scuffs.

The staff seem to have encountered a decline in attitude since last year. Last year folk fell over themselves to be nice, helpful and pleasant. This year we arrived at around midday and were told politely, but matter of factly, that our room wasn't ready, but would be in 15 minutes. My wife and I did a bit of christmas shopping and came back an hour or two later. Still no room. We were told it was still being cleaned.

We ended up sitting in reception for another good 30 minutes before we got a room. When we entered the room, it smelt very musty, so we doubt very much whether it had just been cleaned.

Over Christmas, you have to request a room service on Boxing Day. This we duly did, but no service ever occurred.

On the positive side, the rooms are fully equiped (ignoring the DVD player), the bed was awesome, the location is great and the price was right. There is a nice gym, pool, spa and sauna.

So three stars is probably a little harsh, but I couldn't select three and a half and I can't in any good conscience give a four star rating. We will probably look at new accommodation options next year when we come home over Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Oaks Festival Towers
Oaks Festival Towers
#56 of 160 in Brisbane
654 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oaks Charlotte Towers
Oaks Charlotte Towers
#52 of 160 in Brisbane
860 reviews
0.0 mi away
Treasury Hotel & Casino
Treasury Hotel & Casino
#49 of 160 in Brisbane
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#31 of 160 in Brisbane
998 reviews
0.2 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#16 of 160 in Brisbane
1,005 reviews
0.1 mi away
Next Hotel Brisbane
Next Hotel Brisbane
#11 of 160 in Brisbane
2,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Casino Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Casino Towers

Property: Oaks Casino Towers
Address: 151 George St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#37 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#51 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Casino Towers 4.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing a statuesque 39 levels opposite the Treasury Casino, Oaks Casino Towers stands among the best Brisbane city hotels fusing stylishly appointed 1 and 2 bedroom apartments with sleek designs, full kitchens complete with modern appliances, in-room conveniences including Internet access, spacious living and dining areas and sizable balconies overlooking the city and river below. Our large swimming pool and sun deck is the perfect place to unwind, as is the spa, sauna and well-equipped gymnasium, all ensuring your stay at Oaks Casino Towers is one of utmost leisure. Car parking information: On-site parking is available, bookings are essential and should be made in advance via our reservations office or through the hotel, fees apply. Directions: Although Casino Towers is on George Street, entry to the car park is off Charlotte Street. The laneway leading to the car park is on the right hand side of Charlotte Street between the Telstra Building and the Pancake Manor. Please note this is not signed due to Council Regulations. To access the car park: - Make your way onto Charlotte Street (one way south) and drive towards George Street - Immediately before the Pancake Manor, turn right into the laneway. - Drive 20 metres until you reach the roller door entry on the left. The car park is secured and you will be required to contact reception by dialling #101 from the intercom located in front of the roller door. Staff will then direct you to your car park and inform you how to access reception. All hotel guests are required to park in the car parks that are marked in green with 'Hotel Guest' displayed on the ground. Failure to park in these zones and/or clearly display your validated parking slip on the dash may result in car being towed at owners expense. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks Casino Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Casino Towers Hotel Brisbane
Oaks Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing