We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“long-time visitor, disappointed this time around”
Review of Oaks Casino Towers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oaks Casino Towers
Ranked #56 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is our go-to place in Brisbane. I can book a two bedroom apartment in the heart of the city with beautiful views and know that I will be treated wonderfully. The parking is a bit hairy but if you pre-book, there will be a place somewhere in the bowels of that dark building.

The views of the city and South Bank are gorgeous. Balconies are spacious and the ideal private places to spend your mornings or late nights.

But this time, we were given a poky little two bedroom apartment on the southeast side of the building. The rooms were so small that we found it easier to get dressed in turns rather than sharing the fun of pre-party playing together. My bed was pushed right up against the curtains and I was concerned about dust and when the curtains were last washed ~ just saying.

The ensuite shower had vast amounts of mold, as did the AC frame in the main bedroom. The second bedroom's AC could not work if the door to the balcony was opened so that room was dank and airless. The door from the lounge to the balcony did not open so we had to go through the main bedroom which was inconvenient to late sleepers versus early morning balcony users.

Plus, both bathrooms ran out of toilet paper in the middle of the night... No spares? No ~ we had to call down for replacements. Definitely not up to par.

The walls and doors were dirty. The apartment looked like it had been a while since it had been cleaned well.

I was not planning to update my review like this. When we returned home I wrote the management a letter with photographs to confirm our findings. I expected to hear back from them with some sort of confirmation and a promise that this would be looked in to but it's been weeks and no word. I don't see that as good management.

I have loved this place. The front desk staff has always been superb, happy and helpful. That expectation was met. I just wish the cleaning staff and management were as on-their-game... We were disappointed.

Room Tip: Do not go to the Souteast corner
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellamaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Casino Towers, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thankyou for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Casino Towers.
I was pleased to read about the service you continually receive from our front desk staff.
The issues you have raised in regards to the cleanliness of the room have been passed onto out Head of Housekeeping.
Valued feedback such as yours is essential to maintain the high standards we strive for at Oaks Casino Towers. It is regrettable about the miscommunication in regards to your original email and I shall contact you personally in regards to this.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks Casino Towers in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (708)
There are newer reviews for Oaks Casino Towers
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

603 - 609 of 708 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment. We booked direct with the hotel. It is very close to the main Brisbane city shopping area, the casino and the bridge to southbank.

The apartment was very spacious compared to other hotel rooms with a large outdoor balcony with views to the river.

There is a decent kitchen as well.

The bathroom was a good size with a washing machine and dryer.

Staff on the front desk were very helpful and courteous.

It would be a great base for a week as it is not just a room.

We'll stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lambo024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCasino, Manager at Oaks Casino Towers, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thankyou for taking the time to comment on your stay at Oaks Casino Towers.
It's great to hear you enjoyed our location and facilities. The views from some of our rooms are quite spectacular and I am happy you experienced these.
We pride ourselves on customer service and hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I stayed here in Sept/October for 3 nights before a conference. I arrived on a busy late Saturday afternoon - the day of the River Fire festival. It cost me $700+ AU for the three nights (about $1000NZ ... the Saturday night was $400 possibly because of the Riverfire Festival?)

I stayed in a one bedroom apt at the back of the tower on the 29th floor. From the balcony I still had a pretty good view of the river (see pic). The lounge/kitchen area were fine, the bedroom fine. The selling point really is the terrace and the way the whole place opens up. The bathroom was very average.

The other selling point for this hotel is the location. 250 metres and you are in the Myers Mall or across the river at Southbank. Being in the city, it is very noisy all the time (I live in the suburbs so it's different from what I am used to). And in Brisbane in October it's blue sky by 5.30 am.

I would stay again because of the location ... but you do pay for it! (Last year we stayed on the beach in Waikiki at the Hilton for about the same price!! Waikiki ... Brisbane ... I know which I prefer.)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank kiwi_karyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Casino Towers, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Thankyou for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Casino Towers.
It's great to hear that you took advantage of the location and went out and enjoyed what Brisbane has to offer. The weekend of RiverFire is indeeed one of the busiest weekends in the brisbane social calander, and trust this did not inconvenience your attendance at the conference.
I'd like to personally thankyou on your observations in regards to your room, without valued feedback such as yours we cannot continue to improve our product. We look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks Casino Towers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Location was great right in the heart of the city. The direction to get to the car park were spot on. There were good points and bad point to the room. The bad: The diswahser didn't work. The washing machine was tempremental. When the room was cleaned we asked for more toilet paper on day three and were told by the cleaner the hotel had run out and to supply our own. Three people were expected to use one roll for 4 days is unacceptable. The windows need better curtains or a blind as well. The light is very bright first thing in the morning. If you need a dark room to sleep this is not a good choice.

The Good: Definately ask for a high floor room. We stayed on 37th floor of 39 very quiet even with construction right below. The balcony is great to sit at for breakfast or to have a coffee in the morning. Very nice pool.

Room Tip: a hight floor is definately a must then its quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJ_7600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Public Relations Manager at Oaks Casino Towers, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Casino Towers. It is great to read that you found your apartment quiet and you could enjoy your breakfast out on the balcony. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Right next door to pancake manor really easy to get to nice reception and pool spa gym is good the two bedroom apartment was quiet and comfy top end appliances 289 for a night for four it was a bargain , really recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Casino Towers, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Casino Towers. It is great you found your apartment quiet and comfortable and the location convenient. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stayed in this hotel with my partner for his birthday as we wanted to be close to the Casino. The pool was lovely but the room was a total let down!

The bed frame made an awful noise even just when you sat on it, the mattress wasnt comfortable. if you were after a romantic night then this place isnt for you.

When we first walked into the room there was an awful smell and the bathroom had mould everywhere.

Please do not stay here if you want to enjoy your stay unless you plan on being in the pool the entire time.

We will not be staying here again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The hotel is well located except that it is currently next to a construction site. The noise from the construction site was awful and went on even in the middle of the night.

My room had no windows that opened and the only way to get any ventilation was to open the sliding doors to the balcony. The balcony is great if you love ;looking at the back of buildings.

The worst thing about my room was the bed. I could feel the springs in my mattress and hear them squeak whenever I turned in bed.I am not sure where they got the bed but it was likely from a discount store.

What else? Unfriendly, unhelpful and bloody unpleasant staff. One of the male staff working in reception in the afternoon of October XX (details can be provided to TripAdvisor members if required) was probably the most unhelpful and unfriendly hotel staff I have ever met.

Room Tip: The best room you can get would be in a different hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PerthFrequent_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Casino Towers, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Casino Towers. We are concerned to read of your experiences while staying with us, especially in regards to the service you received from our staff. If you wish to discuss any matters with us further you can contact our Customer Feedback Team on customerfeedback@theoaksgroup.com.au. We hope to have the opportunity to talk with you and welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Oaks Festival Towers
Oaks Festival Towers
#58 of 168 in Brisbane
659 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oaks Charlotte Towers
Oaks Charlotte Towers
#52 of 168 in Brisbane
878 reviews
0.0 mi away
Treasury Hotel & Casino
Treasury Hotel & Casino
#51 of 168 in Brisbane
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#30 of 168 in Brisbane
1,008 reviews
0.1 mi away
Next Hotel Brisbane
Next Hotel Brisbane
#14 of 168 in Brisbane
3,072 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#31 of 168 in Brisbane
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Casino Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Casino Towers

Address: 151 George St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#38 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#52 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: $113 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Casino Towers 4.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing a statuesque 39 levels opposite the Treasury Casino, Oaks Casino Towers stands among the best Brisbane city hotels fusing stylishly appointed 1 and 2 bedroom apartments with sleek designs, full kitchens complete with modern appliances, in-room conveniences including Internet access, spacious living and dining areas and sizable balconies overlooking the city and river below. Our large swimming pool and sun deck is the perfect place to unwind, as is the spa, sauna and well-equipped gymnasium, all ensuring your stay at Oaks Casino Towers is one of utmost leisure. Car parking information: On-site parking is available, bookings are essential and should be made in advance via our reservations office or through the hotel, fees apply. Directions: Although Casino Towers is on George Street, entry to the car park is off Charlotte Street. The laneway leading to the car park is on the right hand side of Charlotte Street between the Telstra Building and the Pancake Manor. Please note this is not signed due to Council Regulations. To access the car park: - Make your way onto Charlotte Street (one way south) and drive towards George Street - Immediately before the Pancake Manor, turn right into the laneway. - Drive 20 metres until you reach the roller door entry on the left. The car park is secured and you will be required to contact reception by dialling #101 from the intercom located in front of the roller door. Staff will then direct you to your car park and inform you how to access reception. All hotel guests are required to park in the car parks that are marked in green with 'Hotel Guest' displayed on the ground. Failure to park in these zones and/or clearly display your validated parking slip on the dash may result in car being towed at owners expense. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oaks Casino Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Casino Towers Hotel Brisbane
Oaks Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing