We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oaks Casino Towers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oaks Casino Towers
Ranked #50 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Decent hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed here in a 1-bedroom apt for 5 nights in June. The location is good with grocery stores and shops and restaurants nearby. Not so close to the train station for the airport. I was attending a conference at the congress centre which was a 15 minute walk. The apartment was clean and spacious although the carpets and furniture were a bit old. The view was onto some office buildings - Telstra probably and one under construction. The construction crews got started around 7am which was annoying but what can you do. I used the dishwasher, washing machine, toaster, microwave and they all worked fine. Internet access was through a third party at ridiculously high rates so instead I walked to McDonald's or Starbucks for their free wi-fi. The front staff were friendly. Overall I had a nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ckwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Casino Towers, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Casino Towers. We are glad to hear that you found the location of our hotel good and your apartment was clean and spacious. I will pass your comments onto the Hotel Manager in regards to our friendly staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    231
    116
    40
    40
See reviews for
153
182
21
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

I stayed at this aparthotel in August 2012 for a congress. We booked a pre-paid a two bedrooms room months in advance, to be sure we would have had a suitable accomodation. Notwithstanding in our reservation receipt it was writhhen 'room with a view', we were given a room in front of a buiding under construction. Not only there was no view, nor privacy, since there were workers all day a few meters from us, but alos the noise was continuous. We asked to have the room changed almost every day, but the staff was astonishingly unhelpful. I spend most of my working days in hotel rooms and this is the first time ever my right complaints have not been given any importance. I consider this unbealivable and even embarassing for the aparthotel itself. The manager never shown up to apologise during our one week staying, nor a present was delivered or any other form of compensation was offered. As for the aparthotel, the building is quite old and the furniture cheap. I would consider it anyway overpriced. A bad smell was always present in the bathroom. The 'fully equpped' gym is a very small room with a few cyclettes and other machines.

Room Tip: Ensure you are guaranteed a room with a view. Do not pay in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Luca_Genova66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensvale, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Great views both times we stayed. Once for family wedding and the other for a work conference. Great location and views were stunning. Some guests had views of a building wall but we were lucky to have the best views in Brisbane.

Staff were very helpful and friendly. Apartment was spacious and had all the amenities we needed. The location is great and we were able to walk to everything easily.

I would definately stay here again even though it was a bit pricey, it was worth the money being so close to everything.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a river view so you can really take in the beautiful river at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mc4141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Casino Towers, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Casino Towers. It is great to read that on several occasions you have been impressed with our property. We are pleased to read that you found the apartments to be spacious and well equipped and you can enjoy the beautiful views of Brisbane. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooroy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

I stayed here with two friends for two nights. Just loved it, the position was excellent as we just had to walk a short distance to see The Jersey Boys. Staff were very friendly. The only thing I would suggest to management is a directory on the hotel's facilities in the rooms. Otherwise had a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GayeCooroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Casino Towers, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Casino Towers. It is wonderful to read that you found the location of our hotel to be convenient for going to see Jersey Boys. We appreciate your suggestion of improvement, and this will certainly be considered. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanthorpe Qld Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

We always choose to stay in an apartment if we are staying for more than one night in Brisbane. I have stayed in several apartment buildings in the inner city area and Oaks at Casino Towers has the best views and location- as long as you know which apartments to request.
We have stayed at Casino Towers on four occasions. We request a one bedroom executive which has river views on the higher floors (2201, 2801 etc)
This will allow you to have great views of Southbank, Brisbane River and bustling George Street.
Another tip is to also book a carpark (if required) rather than leave this to 'check in' time as car parks are limited.
They do need better signage to show carpark entrance in Charlotte Street.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greenlds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Casino Towers, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Casino Towers. It is wonderful to read that on several occasions we have been able to impress you with our apartments and you were able to enjoy the views of Southbank and the Brisbane River. We would like to thank you for providing our future guests information about the car park entry. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australind, Australia
Level Contributor
469 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights during a stopover on our way to Cairns. My husband wasn't keen as he had a bad experience at Oaks Casino Towers last year when he stayed here for a convention(He didn't have a credit card on him as it had been fraudulently used just before his convention -and so cancelled - and despite him being part of a larger group of bookings, he wasn't given access to his room until reception had contacted me back in WA, faxed through authorisation forms that I had to sign and then put against any extra charges. This is despite the room costs having already been prepaid. During this whole process which took well over an hour he was made to hang around in the lobby.)
I had forgotten that it was this hotel when I booked online to stay this time.
This time was better. Check in was easy and friendly, however when we got to our room, the second bedroom we had requested with 2 single beds was still locked, as was our ensuite. The receptionist came up with a key to unlock the two extra rooms, and then we found that the kids' bedroom was made up as another king bed. However as it was midnight, we decided not to worry about changing the beds around.
Pros: Great location. We had a view over the river to South Bank and it's a block from the mall.
Apartments are well fitted out with good kitchen facilities and nice bathrooms.
Reception staff were helpful.
Cons: There was a hideous smell in the corridors when we were there (apparently there are issues with the rubbish shutes.
Bedding error, despite it being marked on our booking. My children were more concerned about this than us.
It's a pity that some of these things let down the Oaks Casino Towers, it should be amazing given its location and set up, but there needs to be work done on communication and staff training.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Casino Towers, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Casino Towers. It is good to hear that you found to location of our hotel to be convenient and our staff were helpful. We would like to apologise for the mix up with the bedding configuration and I will be passing your comments onto the Hotel Manager and General Manager for Learning and Development. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

I was on 28th floor - very good views but private too so didnt feel I was being "watched" . I was in a one bedroom apartment. Bed and bedlinen very good, comfortable. Kitchen amenities great as was lounge and desk space. I was only in for one night, but reception staff on duty were pleasant and greeted me like an old friend (much better than 2 other Oaks Apartmenst that I have stayed at on a weekly basis over a couple of years and never get a hint of recognition) ICarpet and furnishings were clean and unmarked. The only negative - the mould in the shower - inexcusable when the apartment gets cleaned daily - I have ahd the same issue with other Oaks properties and cannot see how this can continue to occur. A bit of exit mould or similar spray takes a few seconds out of the cleaning resigme. have stayed at other Oaks apartmenst in Brisbane regularly, and will chose this one over the others now as a result of my experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mummsie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Casino Towers, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Casino Towers. It is fantastic to read that you found your apartment to suit your needs and found the bed comfortable. I was pleased to read and that our staff were pleasant and welcomed you warmly. I will pass your comments in regards to the mould in the shower onto the Housekeeping Manager for immediate review in all apartments. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Oaks Festival Towers
Oaks Festival Towers
#53 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Brisbane Elizabeth Street
0.2 mi away
Oaks Charlotte Towers
Oaks Charlotte Towers
#60 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oaks Felix
Oaks Felix
#55 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treasury Hotel & Casino
Treasury Hotel & Casino
#47 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#21 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Casino Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Casino Towers

Property: Oaks Casino Towers
Address: 151 George St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#37 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#47 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Casino Towers 4.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Casino Towers is ideally positioned to take advantage of the vibrant lifestyle Brisbane has to offer. From retail therapy in the bustling Queen Street Mall to the relaxation, art and culture of the nearby South Bank Precinct. Oaks Casino Towers is a 4.5 star apartment hotel located opposite Brisbane’s Treasury Casino, boasting impressive views over the city or river. The one and two bedroom apartments are luxuriously appointed with European-style appliances and quality finishes, ducted air-conditioning and spacious balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Oaks Casino Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Casino Towers Hotel Brisbane
Oaks Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing