We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views and location for more than one night”
Review of Oaks Casino Towers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oaks Casino Towers
Ranked #55 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We always choose to stay in an apartment if we are staying for more than one night in Brisbane. I have stayed in several apartment buildings in the inner city area and Oaks at Casino Towers has the best views and location- as long as you know which apartments to request.
We have stayed at Casino Towers on four occasions. We request a one bedroom executive which has river views on the higher floors (2201, 2801 etc)
This will allow you to have great views of Southbank, Brisbane River and bustling George Street.
Another tip is to also book a carpark (if required) rather than leave this to 'check in' time as car parks are limited.
They do need better signage to show carpark entrance in Charlotte Street.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenlds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Casino Towers, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Casino Towers. It is wonderful to read that on several occasions we have been able to impress you with our apartments and you were able to enjoy the views of Southbank and the Brisbane River. We would like to thank you for providing our future guests information about the car park entry. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (772)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

680 - 686 of 772 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights during a stopover on our way to Cairns. My husband wasn't keen as he had a bad experience at Oaks Casino Towers last year when he stayed here for a convention(He didn't have a credit card on him as it had been fraudulently used just before his convention -and so cancelled - and despite him being part of a larger group of bookings, he wasn't given access to his room until reception had contacted me back in WA, faxed through authorisation forms that I had to sign and then put against any extra charges. This is despite the room costs having already been prepaid. During this whole process which took well over an hour he was made to hang around in the lobby.)
I had forgotten that it was this hotel when I booked online to stay this time.
This time was better. Check in was easy and friendly, however when we got to our room, the second bedroom we had requested with 2 single beds was still locked, as was our ensuite. The receptionist came up with a key to unlock the two extra rooms, and then we found that the kids' bedroom was made up as another king bed. However as it was midnight, we decided not to worry about changing the beds around.
Pros: Great location. We had a view over the river to South Bank and it's a block from the mall.
Apartments are well fitted out with good kitchen facilities and nice bathrooms.
Reception staff were helpful.
Cons: There was a hideous smell in the corridors when we were there (apparently there are issues with the rubbish shutes.
Bedding error, despite it being marked on our booking. My children were more concerned about this than us.
It's a pity that some of these things let down the Oaks Casino Towers, it should be amazing given its location and set up, but there needs to be work done on communication and staff training.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Casino Towers, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Casino Towers. It is good to hear that you found to location of our hotel to be convenient and our staff were helpful. We would like to apologise for the mix up with the bedding configuration and I will be passing your comments onto the Hotel Manager and General Manager for Learning and Development. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I was on 28th floor - very good views but private too so didnt feel I was being "watched" . I was in a one bedroom apartment. Bed and bedlinen very good, comfortable. Kitchen amenities great as was lounge and desk space. I was only in for one night, but reception staff on duty were pleasant and greeted me like an old friend (much better than 2 other Oaks Apartmenst that I have stayed at on a weekly basis over a couple of years and never get a hint of recognition) ICarpet and furnishings were clean and unmarked. The only negative - the mould in the shower - inexcusable when the apartment gets cleaned daily - I have ahd the same issue with other Oaks properties and cannot see how this can continue to occur. A bit of exit mould or similar spray takes a few seconds out of the cleaning resigme. have stayed at other Oaks apartmenst in Brisbane regularly, and will chose this one over the others now as a result of my experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mummsie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Casino Towers, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Casino Towers. It is fantastic to read that you found your apartment to suit your needs and found the bed comfortable. I was pleased to read and that our staff were pleasant and welcomed you warmly. I will pass your comments in regards to the mould in the shower onto the Housekeeping Manager for immediate review in all apartments. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Yes, we stayed here again and this time they made a serious attempt to charge us for using the internet! Which we did not! Believe me as previously advised - buy a Telstra WiFi for $99 with 5GB of use if you are staying more than 3 days! It would be very viable! Their internet is hard wired only, no wifi. Terrific place, we were moved no problem when we discovered we had a pool of water on our carpet - well done!

The Sting in the tail? A major change since our earlier stay - AU$25 per day for parking, I protested that we did not pay for parking the last time so it must be included? The answer: "No sir, you cannot prepay the parking, you can only pay it when checking out" - pity this is such a wonderful place operating the strategy of a budget priced airline!!!

Shall we stay again? ........ No way, they are selling shirts without buttons to my mind!

Room Tip: River view room - high floor. We discovered the staff have a 'menu' of questions to ask when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jobone2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Casino Towers, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Casino Towers. It is disappointing to read that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. Parking fees within the CBD is common practice at the majority of establishments and is additional to room charges as parking is not always required by guests. You will find that the majority of car parking companies charge simular fees to us, therefore our costs are competitive with other establishments. Our internet charges are common throughout all Oaks Brisbane properties. Our prices are as follows: 2 hours with a limit of 50MB for $12.50, 24 hours with a limit of 200MB for $22.50. We can also offer weekly or monthly charges for long stay guests. We do apologise if these charges were not communicated with you correctly. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

There are some good things to be said about the Casino Oaks Towers: perfect location -- you can't be closer to downtown attractions; spacious apartments; reasonable rates for the downtown location. Some reviewers also praised the views from the apartments. They apparently resided in one of the uppermost apartments. I didn't have any view in my one-bed-room apartment. But I experienced nagging noise from large vents underneath the windows of the apartment. And here my negative list starts.

After the first disturbed night I requested being moved to a higher floor in order to escape the noise -- just to be told by a rather indifferent management that they didn't have any more quite apartments available. No help, I suffered from the noise for the rest of my stay. While very spacious, indeed, the apartment made a rather run down impression. This was not just a matter of outdated decor. Matrasses once had been luxurious ones. Now they were worn through. And there were traces of dirt almost everywhere. In fact, the murky bathroom was so dirty that you could take pictures of the dirt. No pleasant stay. Had I booked and paid for the apartment myself, I had moved out after the first night.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UTheTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Casino Towers, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Casino Towers. It is disappointing to read that you were unhappy with your apartment and the noise level from the vents. Unfortunately we could have been fully booked at the time of your stay, so we were not able to move you to a more suitable apartment. We try our very best to make sure all our guests in house are happy with their rooms and we apologise this was not the case for you. I will pass your comments in regards to the cleanliness of your apartment onto the Housekeeping Manager. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Negatives: Firstly, I found the hotel hard to find and the car park ever harder. I drove the block 4 times in peak hour traffic, so not a good start. Then to be greeted by a rude receptionist (Megan) where I had to sign my life away, topped it off. Our view in the room was looking into a construction site only meters away and we were woken at 6.15am each morning by the builders. I felt like they were in our bedroom, as you could hear every word they said. The bathroom had mould in it. The garbage system waffed a revolting smell up through the corridors like someone had been sick.

Positives: Good location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not looking over the construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Familyholiday255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Casino Towers. We regret that the development near Oaks Casino Towers caused you disturbance at the time of your stay. We do our best to work with Council to limit interruption to our guests and restrictions are placed on the construction companies with regards to commencement of work. Unfortunately, there are various construction sites throughout the CBD. Upon check in it is our policy to have guests read and sign a Guest Registration form outlining terms and conditions of your stay. This is designed to protect both our guests, their enjoyment and the property directly. It is disappointing to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us on this occasion and if you wish to discuss any matters further please contact our Customer Feedback Team on customerfeedback@theoaksgroup.com.au. We do hope you consider staying with Oaks in the future to experience the standard we are known for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Like this hotel very much. Stayed there for 2 days last week and the 2 bedroom is quite spacious. Remember these are serviced apartments so there is no fancy things in your fridge but you are so close to convenience stores and restaurants it is no big deal. Ask for a room overlooking Southbank as the views are terrific and this hotel is quiet.

Would recommend if you like to self cater.

Room Tip: As you are in an apartment - take breakfast items and milk, there is no food or mini bar. That way y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Betty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Casino Towers, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Casino Towers. We are pleased to read that you were happy with your 2 Bedroom Apartment and were able to enjoy the views. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Oaks Charlotte Towers
Oaks Charlotte Towers
#48 of 169 in Brisbane
978 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oaks Festival Towers
Oaks Festival Towers
#58 of 169 in Brisbane
752 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#29 of 169 in Brisbane
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Next Hotel Brisbane
Next Hotel Brisbane
#18 of 169 in Brisbane
3,477 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oaks Felix
Oaks Felix
#59 of 169 in Brisbane
647 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#20 of 169 in Brisbane
2,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Casino Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Casino Towers

Address: 151 George St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#50 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: $107 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Casino Towers 4.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing a statuesque 39 levels opposite the Treasury Casino, Oaks Casino Towers stands among the best Brisbane city hotels fusing stylishly appointed 1 and 2 bedroom apartments with sleek designs, full kitchens complete with modern appliances, in-room conveniences including Internet access, spacious living and dining areas and sizable balconies overlooking the city and river below. Our large swimming pool and sun deck is the perfect place to unwind, as is the spa, sauna and well-equipped gymnasium, all ensuring your stay at Oaks Casino Towers is one of utmost leisure. Car parking information: On-site parking is available, bookings are essential and should be made in advance via our reservations office or through the hotel, fees apply. Directions: Although Casino Towers is on George Street, entry to the car park is off Charlotte Street. The laneway leading to the car park is on the right hand side of Charlotte Street between the Telstra Building and the Pancake Manor. Please note this is not signed due to Council Regulations. To access the car park: - Make your way onto Charlotte Street (one way south) and drive towards George Street - Immediately before the Pancake Manor, turn right into the laneway. - Drive 20 metres until you reach the roller door entry on the left. The car park is secured and you will be required to contact reception by dialling #101 from the intercom located in front of the roller door. Staff will then direct you to your car park and inform you how to access reception. All hotel guests are required to park in the car parks that are marked in green with 'Hotel Guest' displayed on the ground. Failure to park in these zones and/or clearly display your validated parking slip on the dash may result in car being towed at owners expense. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Oaks Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oaks Casino Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Casino Towers Hotel Brisbane
Oaks Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing