We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best location for RNA Showground & the Valley”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
City Park Apartments
Ranked #102 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
cairns, australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best location for RNA Showground & the Valley”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed here over two nights when attending the Future Music Festival at RNA Showgrounds. Location could not have been more perfect. Short walk to the show, close to Fortitude Valley for nightlife and fantastic food in Chinatown. Apartment was 2 bedroom corner on first floor. Had everything we needed for a short weekend stay, but full kitchen available when we felt like cooking. Beds comfortable, rooms clean and tidy. Free basement parking and lovely, friendly and helpful reception staff. Wifi not included, which would have been nice (could pay extra), and some furnishings dated, but for the overall price you can't go wrong for value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Otanerau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    15
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
16
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Dated property that proved its worth in location and value. Rooms are a bit musty and only get servced once a week. There are lots of rules posted all over the place but at least there is no ambiguity on what you can and cant do. Free parking, expensive wifi (as usual in Aust. - when are they going to learn) fantastic large balcony.

Room Tip: get a back room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigers4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

City park is high up on the hill above Brisbane. But don't think you are not central, there is a free bus that stops a block away and takes you to/from the city center very often, all day long. And if you want to walk you are about 20 minutes from town. The rooms are very spacious, and the kitchens are well outfitted. These apartments are much larger than expected. And the beds are very very comfortable.
There are very few staff, so you will get to know the people in charge pretty fast- and probably become good friends if you stay long enough. The willingness to assist and tell you about all of the events going on in the city really makes your stay a breeze.
When something does go wrong, staff fix the problem right away. Our TV died one day, and within 20 minutes we had a new one taken from an unused room.
I highly recommend City Park.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonGibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

The apartment was ok but the decor was a bit dated and in need of some serious upgrade. The seats on the balcony were broken and unusable but the apartment was in a good location (10 mins walk to the city) and parking is available. I had heard good things about these apartments but my experience was quite the opposite.

I accidentally left some clothes in the washing machine and phoned the manager immediately on my departure to reach the answering machine. The lady eventually got back to me and said she found them ... I offered to pay for express postage but she refused to accept the money saying: 'they will send it & i would have to pay for it at my end'. That was good so long as I got the items.

I waited a over a month and still had not received the parcel. I phoned the manager back and got the answering machine again leaving a polite message to indicate I had not received my parcel. Needless to say she did not get back to me. I waited a few days and tried again to eventually get through to her and was scolded: 'you keep phoning and I am about to get married - I will post it tomorrow' she then slammed the phone down on me.

I have not received my clothes and am doubtful if I will. Her attitude ruined the whole experience and i would recommend staying somewhere where your business is welcome. Reading through past trip advisor post I am not the only one who has received this service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed in this third floor apartment for two nights over a weekend. There was a lift and the apartment had a view across the reasonably busy road to parklands but was very quiet at night. The rooms were pleasantly furnished and the kitchen had all necessary equipment in good condition. The beds were comfortable. Walking into the city took about fifteen minutes through the mix of historical Queensland houses, hospitals, apartments and offices that is Spring Hill. Being Brisbane, the walk involved quite a few steep hills but there is a bus service very close. Secure, undercover car parking is included in the tariff.
We only saw the proprietors at checkout and reception is only open for a limited time each day and I would suggest that they make a city map available in the apartment so that guests can find their way into the city. There were good instructions to find shops and cafes in the area. The location is convenient to many of the Brisbane attractions, especially if you have a car. A convenient base for an extended visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcm04999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

I stayed for three nights in a 1 bedroom apartment during the winter - this place was great. It got a little chilly outside which is unusual in Brisbane, so I was pleased to be able to stay toasty. Secure car parking in the basement was included in the price, a big consideration for me. Central but quiet, a 10 minute walk to the lights of town. Friendly staff, all was good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteTheKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We wife and I stayed at the City Park Apartments for 5 nights in March, while visiting friends who emigrated from the UK to Brisbane several years ago.

We stayed in a 1 bed apartment (flat 20) for £91/night which seemed fantastic value for the facilities. The room had a large balcony with table & chairs, a well equipped kitchen with fridge, cooker, dishwasher, washing machine & tumble dryer. Pleased to find that all the room was stocked with things like dish washer tablets, washing up liquid & washing powder. Towels were also provided for the bathroom.

The block has a secure underground garage, which we didn't use, and a swimming pool, but this was a disappointment - tried to use it but the water was cold and the surface covered in leaves.

The office was staffed every morning by a very friendly husband & wife team. On our first day we reported a few initial problems and requests which they resolved the same day – cleaning the balcony, providing hairdryer & scissors, a plug for sink, replacing a light bulb in a lamp.

Location of the block is convenient for the city, with the free city loop bus stopping a street away, but we also found it was very pleasant to walk into city centre through very attractive Roma Street Gardens.

Providing you're not expecting hotel type service, then this is a great value well equipped apartment.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorkingRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.3 mi away
The Summit Apartments
The Summit Apartments
#119 of 157 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Milton Brisbane
The Milton Brisbane
#42 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wellington Apartment Hotel
Wellington Apartment Hotel
#70 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel
ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel
#79 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.7 mi away
Abbey On Roma
Abbey On Roma
#105 of 157 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Park Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Park Apartments

Property: City Park Apartments
Address: 251 Gregory Terrace, Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Park Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Park Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing