We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for coffee and special sweet treat!!”
Review of Le bon choix

Le bon choix
Ranked #2 of 89 Dessert in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Ideal for coffee and special sweet treat!!”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We called in for coffee after a trip to the Sunday fruit and vegetable Markets so it was a quick visit; Fortunately for us it was not too busy when we arrived and we were able to get a seat outside as we also had our little dog with us. We went here for 2 reasons, firstly we had heard it was good and presumed we should be fine to take our puppy as that is something the French are comfortable with.

I do agree with one of the other reviewers, The desserts are what you go for and if you do your research you will find out that they are baked by people who know what they are doing. Our coffees were beautiful and the service was great however I did notice that as it got busier that the staff did struggle a bit. All in all it was a lovely experience for my husband and I (+puppy) as it was a little reminder of when we visited the cafes in France. No smokers outside on the day we visited though.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Welltravelled5558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    63
    16
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
521 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“A taste of Paris in Brisbane”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This was a delightful looking cafe tucked away between two busy roads in the city. It has a genuine Parisian feel with a selection of gorgeous tarts. The staff have a heavy french accent which adds to the appeal. My only criticism would be that their Macarons were a bit too intense in colour and flavour. An ideal spot for an afternoon treat.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank zzrbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A new place to return to”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We came across this nice cafe by accident after driving around late on a rainy Sunday afternoon. Sleepy Brisbane was looking all closed up until we spied this inviting shop!
Only had time for a coffee but my mocha was delicious & my granddaughter declared this to be what she wanted for her upcoming Birthday treat in June. So we shall be returning!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui_Bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A little slice of France in the city...”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

An amazing asortment of patisserie goodies.. brought back such lovely memories of being overseas again... Enjoy I hope you enjoy it too.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank anjiehoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Mmmm plenty to choose from”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Unfortunately only discovered this place on the last morning of my short trip to Brisbane. When you walk in you are greeted with plenty of different desserts. Too many to just pick one! They all looked so tempting. Ended up ordering a chocolate filled donut. Wanted to order the special hot chocolate but it was not available so went with the iced chocolate instead. The chocolate filled donut was warmed up when it was served and was absolutely amazing. The iced chocolate however was disappointing. It tasted very watery and all the chocolate was on the glass which I had to scrap down to get any taste. The dronk was also not very big and the ice took up half. So a big thumbs up for the food but a thumbs down for the drink.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank missCTownsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le bon choix also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Le bon choix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing