We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff who cares”
Review of Oaks Aurora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oaks Aurora
Ranked #78 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
US
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Staff who cares”
Reviewed November 13, 2010

My spouse is staying at the Aurora while on a business trip. A few days past without an email or call. I called the hotel and Robert answered and told him about the ordeal.
He assured me that the manager (Linda) would check out his room and get back with me. The next day the housekeeper (dont know the name ) did a great job of giving detailed information. As it turned out he was on a business venture without access to the internet.
It is such a good feeling to know the staff at the Oaks Aurora care and is willing to help when called upon. That means a lot to me, so I would have a good feeling to stay there.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bustertom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    194
    127
    56
    44
See reviews for
95
136
20
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2010

Staying for three weeks and love the fact that I can wash my own clothes and make my own food instead of going out to eat every day. Great view out over the mountains and staying up really high. Only 10 mins to work on foot and also like the building security.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussieboy126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Checked in to my room only to in find out air con is under service for next 4 days! Went back to lobby and they couldn't find me another room. Asked for my money back as I was leaving and THEN they found me a room. Why lie to your customers? Location is a bit out of CBD not near mall and it was over priced. Pool was freezing and tiny!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goose1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Qld
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2010

We stayed at Oaks Aurora with 3 kids under 13yrs and it was GREAT. We booked via wotif.com and asked for a two bedroom apartment on the highest floor available. We got an apartment on the 36 floor with views over the Brisbane River, the kids loved it. The apartment had two bathrooms and a good size kitchen to prepare breakfast. The location is perfect with access to Eagle Street jetty just across the road. We used the Quick Cats that run up and down the river to get around the city. The restaurant choice in the area is excellent. The Queen Street Mall is a 5min walk away. There is a 7/11 store on the ground floor and a BWS liquor store also easily accessible via the ground floor. Car parking was an extra $20.00 per day. All in all a great place to stay and if the kids are happy we are happy. The only downside for me was the apartment had no dishwasher. Yes, I got the job of doing the dishes :(

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craftyweasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

The mold smell hit when the lift door opened at the floor and downhill from there. Stains over the entire carpet of the apartment, dirty dining chairs, holes in the towels and cushions you do not want to touch.
Unfortunately this is not mitigated by service as the front desk staff treat you like you are an inconvenience (even when you book a two bedroom suite but get to the room to find that you only have access to one bedroom) and the lack of accountability by management over the state of the rooms underlines the problem with the hotel.Which is all a shame as the location and facilities in the hotel are great.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank koroua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2010

In summary:

My car was towed ($350 to be released) because after I registered my number plate with reception the hotel staff failed to allocate me a parking space in a different area of the carpark (not in visitor parking). I was then told that it was not their policy to ask guests if they have a car or to take any notice of the guest writing a registration number on the guest registration form. Apparently the terms and conditions of booking explain that it is up to the guest to request a car space on check in. Totally ridiculous and not acceptable for business travellers where your office staff would make the booking on your behalf.

When I got my car back and alternative spot allocated they then allocated it to another couple who were guests in this place. The couple complained/told them it was already in use. The response "that's because she's checking out today and you are checking in". Not quite sure how that magically makes one space into two - but don't forget this is an accomodation without any proper procedures in place.

This is not a hotel. Most are tenanted serviced apartments. There is no room service, house keeping, concierge, bar, restauarant or anything else that you would expect a hotel to provide. It is not even on par with holiday apartments.

The bed was like sleeping on a pile of lumpy towels.

As the other apartments are tenanted, smoking is permitted here. Cigarette smoke drifted in to my room from accross the corridor.

Every time I passed reception guests were complaining.

There are many other accomodation choices in Brisbane - don't choose this one. As a regular business traveler within Australia this has to be my worst experience to date.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benariba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

I was very impressed with Oaks Aurora. I requested a room on a high floor and was put on level 51 with views over the mountains. Floor to ceiling windows and a fantastic balcony made the most of the height. The entire apartment was very spacious and airy, with absolutely everything I needed. I was only staying for a few days, but would have been comfortable for a much longer stay. I'll definitely be going back on my next visit to Brisbane.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkyeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.3 mi away
Oaks Felix
Oaks Felix
#54 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oaks Lexicon Apartments
Oaks Lexicon Apartments
#57 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#51 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oaks Charlotte Towers
Oaks Charlotte Towers
#58 of 157 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#18 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oaks Festival Towers
Oaks Festival Towers
#55 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Aurora

Property: Oaks Aurora
Address: 420 Queen St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#68 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Aurora 4.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brisbane accommodation within walking distance of all that the city has to offer, Oaks Aurora Tower is a modern 69-storey landmark building popular with business travellers. Hailed as a masterpiece of inspired design, the hotel is superbly appointed with resort-style amenities and commanding panoramic city and river views.Comprising 1 and 2 bedroom self-contained apartments, fully equipped with kitchen and laundry, reverse cycle air-conditioning and spacious balconies, Oaks Aurora Tower also offers a 25m heated lap pool, recreation deck, spa, sauna, gym and cinema. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Aurora Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing