We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“has lost my future bookings”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Oaks Aurora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oaks Aurora
Ranked #80 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“has lost my future bookings”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stay in Brisbane regulary for work and leisure and have had many excellent stays here however the last two were so bad I have decided not to go back. Firstly I arrived at 1.30pm after a long trip ( and am currently 7 months pregnant) to be told the room was not ready and they didn't know when it would be available. I requested a call when it was ready but didnt receive one. Secondly the apartment was not cleaned the whole time I was there ( 4 nights) . Staff must have come in daily as the towels were replaced but nothing else was done. No replacement of toilet paper, no dishes done, no washing powder replaced so I could at least do them myself, no rubbish collected, no beds made. Such a disappointing change to previous visits .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1aussietraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Aurora, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. This is invaluable to say the least. We’re very apologetic that your recent stay at Oaks Aurora was unsatisfactory, in particular the cleaning and servicing standards. Ordinarily we pride ourselves on strict quality controls with respect to housekeeping provisions. Obviously we have failed on this occasion. We apologise also that you were not able to access your accommodation prior our advertised checkin time. It is disappointing to hear also that you were not advised when your apartment was actually available. We will ensure that the reception staff are advised that this oversight should not be repeated. Once again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    192
    124
    56
    44
See reviews for
95
135
20
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

A couple of friends and I got a two bedroom apartment for a one night stay.

We had a late check-in (at 6pm), and before that we tried calling the reception for parking. Started calling at 9am that morning and numerous of time through out the day until we got there; no one picked up our phone calls! It was the number provided on the website. When we went to check-in, I have to say, I have never recieved such bad customer service before!! The receptionist was completely rude! She rolled her eyes and sighed numerous of times at us when we asked her something. She looked like she didn't want to be there, and treated us like we were a big nuisance to her. Her attitude was not welcoming at all. I asked her about the reception phone and told her how no one picked up. She didn't believe me and I had to show her my call log on my phone. I tried calling again, and it rang. So, I don't know what went wrong there, but I'm not satisfy about the customer service. After checking in, a friend and I went back to reception and asked for her name (incase we want to file a complaint). She wasn't there, and another receptionist told us that she was new. Other than the 'new' girl, we found the other staff were amazingly nice.

The room was good. It was clean, spacious and modern. The hotel is close to most places thus cheap for taxi fees. Despite the bad customer service, I wouldn't mind staying there with friends again if planning to have a place to stay for night out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4889LS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Aurora, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Firstly, thank you for your favorable comments with respect to the apartment in which you were accommodated. We’re pleased you were comfortable whilst you stayed with us. With respect to the poor service you received prior and upon your arrival, we apologise sincerely. Please rest assured that we have taken the appropriate measures to ensure that the offending staff member receives sufficient training so as to prevent this from happening again. Ordinarily we pride ourselves on exceptional customer service. It is disappointing to hear that we have not lived up to our usual standards on this occasion. I would like to think that this was an isolated event. Once again, thank you for your kind words and valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I spent three nights at the Oaks, 16 - 18 October 2012 in room 489. The altitude of the room was nearly above all other buildings in the Brisbane city and had a fantastic view both day and night. The unit was spotlessly clean and spacious with above standard appointments ie, large LCD TVin the lounge room and a smaller one in the bedroom, dishwasher in the kitchen and washer and dryer in the laundry.
The service was always with a smile and nothing was ever a problem. Car parking is fantastic with numerous lifts to your room.
I plan on revisiting next time I am on business or holidays.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room above the 40th floor on any side of the building. I was overlooking St John...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Aurora, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Aurora. It is wonderful to read that you found your apartment clean and spacious with excellent views. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights, this was a work trip. I was fairly disappointed with this hotel, mainly the bed and the condition of the apartment. The bed was small, didn’t even have a valance (see picture) and I’m not a fan of triple sheeting (using sheets rather than a doona cover). The bed was also very uncomfortable. The carpets were very badly stained. The living area was spacious.

What was hot:
 Size of apartment
 Balcony
 Price
 Kitchen and Utensils

What was cold, and needs attention:
 Check in experience (Bulky Key)
 Lack of pay TV channels
 No TV in bedroom
 Stained Carpet
 Horrible Bed
 Horrible Linen


What can’t be easily changed:
 No natural light in bathrooms
 Slow lifts


Overall: a disappointing stay, not a place you choose if you want a good night’s sleep

Would I stay here again: no, not until there is a complete referb and new & bigger beds

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room, and a low floor (as the lifts take forever)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philby_79Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Aurora, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Aurora. It is great to read that you found your apartment spacious and value for money. However, it is disappointing to read that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations and I will pass your comments onto the Hotel Manager for investigation. We do hope you will choose to stay with Oaks Hotels and Resorts again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brisbane hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed in a 2-br apartment with great views of the city, river and the Story Bridge.
Although a bit tight for a family of 5, the hotel was fine as a place to sleep ad unwind.
The staff were excellent and catered to our needs very well.
The location is great, with immediate access to the Eagle Street Pier and its many restaurants and river ferries.
Unfortunately the pool heat pump was out of order whilst we were there, so the pool was cold, and with so many floors to cater for, the lifts can be a short wait, but not inconveniently so.
overall, a nice stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors have excellent views across Brisbane.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Aurora, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Aurora. It is great to read that you were able to enjoy the great city views from your 2 Bedroom Apartment. We are pleased to read that you found our staff excellent and that they were able to cater for your every needs. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

I stay at oaks fairly regularly, it's close to the river, business district and shops. The rooms in some of the lower levels can be a bit tired, but overall it's fine as the units are self contained with a kitchenette - often with a basic level of utensils and cooking gear.

I'm fairly happy staying here but would suggest asking for a high floor which avoids street noise in the evenings from the late night city revellers and city traffic. I'm currently staying in an apartment on level 46 which has 270 degree panoramic views of the city which is great (but can be windy on the balcony).

Overall very happy with the Oaks - don't expect the ritz but its cheaper than others in the area - clean, tidy and with its own washing machine and dryer.

Staff are helpful, but be mindful a lot of travelers / tourists also use the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor - avoids street noise. Room 466 has an exceptional view and is well maintained.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Egg&Banana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Aurora, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Aurora. It is wonderful to read that on several occasions you have been impressed with the standard of accommodation Oaks provides and continue to stay with us. We are pleased you found the location of our hotel convenient and that you have been able to enjoy the amazing views of Brisbane from your apartment. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gawler, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We spent two nights in a 2 bedroom apartment. The apartment we had was on the 43rd floor and had a lovely balcony with spectacular views across the river. We found the apartment to be very clean and comfortable and had everything you need. It is in a handy location with Eagle Street Pier being only a 5 minute walk and the mall about 10-15 minutes walk away. The staff on reception were always friendly and helpful. We would be happy to stay there again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Aurora, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Aurora. It is great to read that you were able to enjoy the spectacular views from your balcony and you found your apartment clean and comfortable. We are glad you found the location convenient and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.3 mi away
Oaks Felix
Oaks Felix
#55 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oaks Lexicon Apartments
Oaks Lexicon Apartments
#57 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#51 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oaks Charlotte Towers
Oaks Charlotte Towers
#60 of 157 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#19 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oaks Festival Towers
Oaks Festival Towers
#54 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Aurora

Property: Oaks Aurora
Address: 420 Queen Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#70 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Aurora 4.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brisbane accommodation within walking distance of all that the city has to offer, Oaks Aurora Tower is a modern 69-storey landmark building popular with business travellers. Hailed as a masterpiece of inspired design, the hotel is superbly appointed with resort-style amenities and commanding panoramic city and river views.Comprising 1 and 2 bedroom self-contained apartments, fully equipped with kitchen and laundry, reverse cycle air-conditioning and spacious balconies, Oaks Aurora Tower also offers a 25m heated lap pool, recreation deck, spa, sauna, gym and cinema. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Aurora Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing