We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service does not make up for city location”
Review of Oaks Aurora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oaks Aurora
Ranked #71 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Stayed for one week - with family members - two rooms booked. Daily cleaning consisted of puuling up a bed (not making as the bottom sheets were not even pulled flat) and changing towels. No wiping of services, no floor cleaning and certainly no wiping of showers, toilets or hand basins. To arrange to get the room vacumed required speaking to the housekeeper who was not able to make the decision (as the room was ONLY booked as a daily clean - which did not include wiping vacuming or any other cleaning services), ringing up reception and then having a supervisor provide approval - housekeeper unable to vacuum based on whether the room required cleaning. Go figure....
Waiting well over 15 minutes to catch the single lift working during the peak period around 8am on a work day. Rooms were tired, mattresses poor quality and pillows left sleepers with bad necks, backs and headaches for the rest of the day. It is not a cheap way to stay in Brisbane - advise is to stay at the Merriott or one of the other nearby hotels - much nicer, service better and at least you get a decent bed and a clean room on a daily basis.

Room Tip: Avoid - there are many better places to stay in brisbane - with much better value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (692)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

643 - 649 of 694 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2011

Great apartment in Brisbane city area, within walking distance to businesses in the CBD and shops. Fantastic view of the Brisbane river both day and night. General amenities at the apartment generally new and in good working order.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SEasiajetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We booked at the Oaks Aurora last minute - overall it was satisfactory although I felt that there were elements that we weren't happy with. The grout in the bathroom (we stayed in a one bedroom executive suite) was quite dirty and there was no bath (our fault for assuming). We ended up using this as a base rather than a place to stay and relax. We purchased internet time which was incredibly slow. A lot of these little things may have been avoided had we done adequate research but certainly I wouldn't recommend this for couples or families looking for 4 - 5 star accomodation... I think there are better options.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

After many diliberations between the boyfriend and myself we came to the decision of staying at the Oaks Aurora on queen st. We both had never stayed in Brisbane before so were very eager to get to the hotel and check it all out after our flight from The Whitsundays.

Upon arrival, entry was Extremly confusing, lucky for us other guests were entering the buildig so we followed suite! Reception staff were notified 2 weeks before we were coming that we would need a
130pm check in. We approached the front desk to enquire about our room after being looked at like we were from a completely diff planet the reception lady blankly said, 'room not ready' and were told to wait. Yep ok no worries. 2pm came and went, we were then able to finally check in at almost 230pm.
Whatever,we put that behind us as we were pretty excited to find out that we were on the 48th floor.

As we entered the '1bdr' that we booked, this room DID NOT look like anything on the website, though we were pretty stoked on the view and the large balcony!!

First of all, cleanliness was great. Was very dissapointed to see that we were in fact in a 2bdr room that had been locked down. Also there are no channels avail on the foxtel
box, no cd player/stereo, no room service unless u would like to pay the 70+$ to get some, daily housekeeping was a general pull the sheets up on the bed and give them 2 small sized kids towels. I also had folded washing on the washing machine that they had just put on the floor to put a new detergent on the lid. Not impressed.

I myself work in 5 star, maybe my standard is way too high but this was not worth the 250$ p/n we paid for 3 nights.

Location and view was amazing and the short stroll was great though I don't think I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rbjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

Stayed 3 nights.
Pros:
Nice modern decor with large balcony overlooking the river.
Location was perfect with river view and 5 minutes walk to the main Queen Street Mall.
Check in and service was a breeze.
Very secure and safe, as it is a residential unit as well.
Nice comfortable furniture with fully equipped kitchenette.

Cons:
(ours was an owner owned unit)
Our lampshade had ripped off from the frame. But was replaced immediately
Lights were blown
Carpet was stained
TV channels were very limited
Lighting was harshly cool white and dim as well.
AUD$20 for parking per night

Overall a pleasant stay but of course room for improvement. I would consider staying at Oaks again but hope for a better maintained unit (by owner or otherwise).

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank auntieadriene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2011

Do not stay here for business. Thursday through Sunday the place is awahs woth hoardes of innebriated under 25s hell bent onn nothing but consuming vast amounts of alcohol and playing music as loud as possible. The skeleton staff do nothing about the problems and the corridors were littered with half drank alcopops bottles. It is not a hotel, but a collection of serviced apartments and an awful place.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank monsieur_scaramanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

We hired out a 2 bedroom for a night out in Brisbane. We were surprised we when arrived and got a 3 bedroom with a massive balcony and spa. Floor 7 room 9, is very good if you need a big apartment for a group of people. If you do take a car you have to pay direct for parking approx $20/night.

I would stay here again, it's very modern and large.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasmineo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Oaks Lexicon Apartments
Oaks Lexicon Apartments
#68 of 169 in Brisbane
303 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oaks Festival Towers
Oaks Festival Towers
#60 of 169 in Brisbane
730 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oaks Charlotte Towers
Oaks Charlotte Towers
#51 of 169 in Brisbane
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oaks Felix
Oaks Felix
#58 of 169 in Brisbane
622 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#55 of 169 in Brisbane
736 reviews
2.2 mi away
Oaks Woolloongabba
Oaks Woolloongabba
#48 of 169 in Brisbane
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Aurora

Address: 420 Queen St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#63 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: $103 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Aurora 4.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brisbane accommodation within walking distance of all that the city has to offer, Oaks Aurora Tower is a modern 69-storey landmark building popular with business travellers. Hailed as a masterpiece of inspired design, the hotel is superbly appointed with resort-style amenities and commanding panoramic city and river views.Comprising 1 and 2 bedroom self-contained apartments, fully equipped with kitchen and laundry, reverse cycle air-conditioning and spacious balconies, Oaks Aurora Tower also offers a 25m heated lap pool, recreation deck, spa, sauna, gym and cinema. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Aurora Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing