We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good ambience, staff attention and food”
Review of Modern Thai

Modern Thai
Ranked #294 of 4,369 Restaurants in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Good ambience, staff attention and food”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had our first visit to the restaurant this week and were pleasantly surprised by the environs, the pleasant staff, the quality of the food and the value for money. We love Thai food and next time will make sure we increase the heat to please our spicy tastebuds. The restaurant was packed by 7.30 which speaks volumes about its popularity and appeal to a wide variety of people from many cultural groups. Worth a second visit by us.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrs A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    19
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in Brisbane!”
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

The atmosphere, food, service and pricing is amazing. They deserve to be at Southbank but so thankful we have them here at Mt Gravatt

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank melfamilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A very pleasant surprise in the 'burbs!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Really top quality Thai, five star service and up market venue. Very unexpected in this area. We will definitely be back. Coral trout curry was very good, and Ice creamery was a nice change to usual.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1ozzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly good Thai”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We were out and about, frantically doing chores after work before the shops closed and happened to be in this area which we were not very familiar with. We had never heard or seen the Modern Thai Restaurant before, and hadn't even looked them up on Trip Advisor before, but decided to give them a go as we were starving.
The first thing we noticed was the decor - it is modern and stylish. I enjoyed the many (real!) candles which gave the place a nice ambiance. The staff were incredibly friendly too.
We had the tom yum, fish cakes, curry puffs and a red curry. Everything was tasty.
I would come back here in the area again. It looks like a good place to hold events (eg. work dinners, birthday parties)

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank millzorz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Thai in Brissy”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Next time you are in Brisbane, Australia you MUST visit Modern Thai restaurant at Mt Gravatt. They have the best thai menu to offer. They have their own unique recipes as well as the traditional thai food. The decor is nicely done, the staff so very pleasant and professional it just makes the overall experience a great night out.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AuntyMaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Modern Thai also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Modern Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing