We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what I thought” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Smoke BBQ

The Smoke BBQ
Ranked #320 of 4,262 Restaurants in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $94
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Austalia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not what I thought”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Dissappointed in the ambience, thought the place would have had real character instead it's more like a cafe than a restaurant. The food was average and the service the same. We had a two hour booking and instead of the staff discretely notifying us of when our time was coming to an end, one staff member started removing wine glasses from in front of people, who were still drinking and saying in a loud voice "the table is rebooked" when one of our party asked for their glass back. Despite our party being a large one (23 people) they insisted only one bill per table which, although stated on the menu, created a huge headache with calculators having to be produced to try and work out everyone's tab. Surely allowances could have been made for such a large group? this last part made the atmosphere of the meal petty much dissappear under a pile of meal dockets.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank emuhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    76
    36
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Robina, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mmmmm ribs and wings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

If your looking for authentic buffalo wings in the Brisbane area this would have to be one of the best places I have found with the tastiest wings.

From the corn bread on arrival to the pull apart ribs our meals here are always top notch.

Be sure to make your reservation early as they get quite booked out very quickly and is only a small place.

Definitely worth the trip.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lez81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Ribs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

The ribs were really great and tender but we could have done with a little more of that gob smackingly delicious sauce.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Food took Forever, dry ribs, disappointing : (”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Was told this was "the place"for ribs, I was really really disappointed, the rib I received was more like dry corned beef....it took SO long over an hour to get meal. The Cornbread should have only been used to prop up a wonky table, the meal is literally "A" rib, and no joke about 12 chips with sauce...... wont go again, wont recommend

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bree5670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Satisfied the cravings!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Headed over to Smoke BBQ for the first time the other day and it definitely won't be the last. Initially we tried to call to make a reservation but got an answering service instead. Figured we'd try our luck by just rocking up. We turned up at 7pm on Saturday night and the place was packed, but our friendly waiter showed us to some high tables in the courtyard around the corner that was empty apart from us, and we were more than happy to be in a secluded area away from the bustle and noise in the main restaurant.

Drink order was taken quickly and we were given some complimentary cornbread. Husband wasn't a fan but I thought it was scrumptious! Waiter took our food order when our drinks were delivered - we'd had a look at the menu at home so already had a pretty good idea of what we were getting. Husband got Pork Ribs with a side of Mac & Cheese. I got the Memphis Pork Belly with bbq'd corn.

The food came out 5-7 mins after we'd ordered. I was blown away with how quickly it came out (including our sides). Everything was delicious, both kinds of pork, the fries, the coleslaw, sauces and sides...wow. I think we'd just fallen in a bit of luck as I did see some bigger groups standing around that had booked for 7.30 but weren't seated until closer to 8pm. If that had been me I'd be annoyed, but alas..just the 2 of us and we had a great meal, lovely ambience and ridiculously speedy service.

Keen to go back and see if it lives up to these standards a second time. :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fln07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Smoke BBQ also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to The Smoke BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing