We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thoroughly enjoyed it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Zafron - CLOSED

Zafron
Price range: $17 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Zafron has a simple and unpretentious ambience to provide a comfortable social space that features quality and taste. It's raison d'etre is how the cuisine tastes and presents. Only quality ingredients are used and no shortcuts are taken. Everything is hand-prepared fresh by Chef. Zafron has a reputation as a quality venue for large group bookings. Chef's Signature dish for Zafron is her Caspian Chicken. In this East-meets-West dish, Persian ingredients such as pomegranate molasses, pine nuts and Persian saffron contribute to a unique taste with a French-style design. The chicken tenderloins are marinated in Persian pomegranate molasses then pan seared, rolled in crushed roasted pine nuts, breadcrumbs and aromatic spices and baked. The tenderloins are then placed on wilted spinach and caramelised carrots, then dressed with a beautiful saffron white wine sauce and drizzled pomegranate molasses. Only one place on the planet has this dish and it is our most ordered item on the menu! Chef's Tapas Shared Plates are unrivaled for taste and value. Each platter comes with 4 tapas for two persons with a lovely salad garnish. Each tapas and sauce is hand-made.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyed it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Four of us ate here a couple of weeks ago on a Sunday night and had the banquet. It was delicious. So much food that we could hardly finish it all. Very tasty and great service. We thought the pricing was very good for the amount of food and quality of food that we had. Great that it is also a BYO wine. So much cheaper than paying three times the price that wine costs in most restaurants! Would highly recommend it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz2357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    47
    16
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“My first Persian meal. Liked the delicate flavours and immaculate presentation and attentive but unobtrusive service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Excellent for pre- theatre meal or good night out with friends. The place was understandably busy on a Saturday night. Every portion on each dish tasted like it was freshly prepared just for the order and came out as soon as completed. Made with love and presented with pride.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sid L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Not Good at All”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

As a Persian, I can say this restaurant has nothing to do with Persian cousin.
The foods are all modified, and not original. Probably the owner have decided to give the place the responsibility of serving more people from other cultures, but I guess should have changed the name as well!.

The food was cold and burned and had no taste like what I was expecting.

Not visiting again, nor recommending to anyone

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Payam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Incredible food, lovely service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

I've lived my entire life in Brisbane, however, it was only until I jumped on TripAdvisor that I found this little gem. The main meals were absolutely amazing - and very reasonably priced which was surprising, as Brissy can be so expensive. Our waitresses were lovely, efficient and easygoing. The only negative aspects of the evening was that we were sat next to a large, very loud group of people, however, this was obviously not the staff's fault. And secondly, the serving size of the dessert I ordered was quite tiny (delicious, but tiny!). Other than that, I can't fault it. A seriously beautiful little restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had been followers of trip advisor for a while, and being fans of middle eastern cuisine, noticed that Zafron had not moved out of the top 3 restaurants. This was a place we had to try! Located in busy Brunswick street, the entry to the restaurant was not an obvious one. The staff are great and very friendly, always with a big smile and always at your service. The food was well presented but unfortunately didn't blow us away. It was decent, but lacked flavour. Especially the price comparison to other Persian/middle eastern restaurant, this was dearer and a smaller portion size. Also, you better be a pistachio lover, as it seems most of their dishes contains it. Their homemade Persian ice cream was different and tasty, not overly sweet. Overall, we were happy with our experience and commend the waitstaff on their great service, but I don't think it's something we would be in a rush to try again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pultima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zafron also viewed

 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing