We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #51 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Great hostel, extremely friendly and helpful staff, great location and so close to transit centre, only 5 min walk. the place is spotless, and has great facilities. would defo stay again and highly recommend. Double rooms are big, plenty of space, cheap internet, nice clean swimming pool, air con in all rooms

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonnyBravo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 176 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013

This place is in a lovley old building and the rooms are well sized. When we first arrived they had messed up our booking and only booked for one guest not two. This was a little annoying but eventually worked in our favour getting a double room after a couple of nights in different rooms. The one major thing that spoils this place is long term residents, the dorm rooms especially the all girl room I stayed in was so full of luggage and clothes there was no where for my things. The fridges are in the room and when food went missing it didnt make you feel very comfortable in the room. Also there is a general feeling you are staying in the long term residents space so not very welcoming!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The rooms are decent size and the bedding was clean. We stayed in a shared dorm room on the bottom floor. There was only one toilet and shower room for girls which sometimes meant you had to queue. The kitchen is waaaaaay too small for the amount of people that stay there. Also closes at 9 every night which means everyone wants to be in there 6-9.

Overall not a bad experience but some more facilities could be made available or less people should be allowed there at any one point.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simone_Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed here for 1 night in a double room with shared bathroom facilities.

We were in a building towards the back of the complex which was self contained and quiet which I liked. There was a clean kitchen and a tv room with sofa. I felt like we were staying in an apartment rather than a hostel which suited us.

The room itself was lovely, I would say boutique style with a separate area for storing bags or clothes.

I loved the bathroom with a big Victorian style bath.

There was a pool area which looked nice although we didn't use it.

The only downside was that as we were located far away from reception when it came to do laundry in the evening it was quite a trek which isn't a problem in itself just that the route was poorly lit. Other than that it was a great stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cantwait2holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Aussie Way is by far the best hostel i've stayed at in Brisbane.. the staff are friendly, welcoming and really down to earth. The rooms are clean, decent sizes and come with a fridge and lockers.. I stayed in a double room, then 2 shared rooms and they were all in nice condition. The swimming pool is great, it's usually quiet most of the time so it's like having your own private pool. The kitchen is kinda small and can get busy at times, but they provide all utensils/plates/mugs etc even free coffee which is a bonus compared to some of the other hostels around here (like Base hostels where their kitchens are terrible & have no utensils!). I met some of the most awesome people during my time there, I left there about a month ago and still bump into people I met there. Aussie Way is more of a family orientated hostel, all the other hostels I've stayed at in Brisbane are nowhere near as friendly and I find that nobody really talks to each other in the larger hostels. The staff at Aussie Way knew me by name which was nice, they even sit and have a chat with you and don't make you feel like an outsider.. not like hostels who just want your money and don't provide a genuinely welcoming atmosphere. I had the best couple of weeks ever staying there, I honestly haven't been happier in another hostel and I'd definitely recommend it to anyone and everyone. Greg, UK.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gr3gT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Check in opens at 7.30am. Check out is 10am. female bathroom upstairs and another downstairs. It's being currently ran by girls who live within the hostel and working there for money. They're always keeping it clean. There's a swimming pool that's nice. It's very quiet and there's people whom have lived there for months and still there. The rooms themselves are of a good size. It's a little run down but for the price, you cannot complain at all. It's one of the cheapest hostels in Brisbane I've found.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EFEE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The biggest thing is the convenience. It's 10-15 mins walk to Roma St station (depending how much you carry) which is the main changeover for buses and trains. The facilities are also not bad--I find that it could be better lit (but it's not bad) and the bathrooms are decent but cramped. However, the lounge room is reasonable and the kitchen looks like it is too (I only stayed a handful of nights over about 3-4 stays and didn't cook). There's surprisingly a good amount of outside space to chill out, and yes there is a pool. So yes it was reasonable and I wouldn't mind staying here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
1.3 mi away
BUNK Brisbane
BUNK Brisbane
#28 of 140 in Brisbane
595 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banana Bender Backpackers
Banana Bender Backpackers
#70 of 140 in Brisbane
112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brisbane City YHA
Brisbane City YHA
#12 of 140 in Brisbane
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Some Rooms Backpacker
Some Rooms Backpacker
#86 of 140 in Brisbane
11 reviews
1.2 mi away
Brisbane Backpackers Resort
Brisbane Backpackers Resort
#120 of 140 in Brisbane
20 reviews
0.2 mi away
Summer House Brisbane
Summer House Brisbane
#79 of 140 in Brisbane
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel

Address: 34 Cricket St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range: $19 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brisbane’s inner city escape. This boutique hostel is in a heritage listed colonial style building constructed in 1872. It holds all the charms of its historic past blended with today necessities with its open verandas, classic design and wooden floors, with air-conditioning, free Wi-Fi, pool and BBQ area. Aussie Way prides itself as a clean, safe environment with a no alcohol policy that ensures, all get a good nights sleep. It does however promote Brisbane’s top entertainment and nightclub district, shops, restaurants and cinema only a few minutes walk away. Its close to Suncorp stadium and only a seven minute walk to the Brisbane city and transit centre. Limited parking available. Aussie Way Boutique Hostel operating for over 27 years, your “Inner City Escape”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and HostelWorld so you can book your Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing