We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great little place to stay”
Review of Kookaburra Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kookaburra Inn
Certificate of Excellence
cardiff, wales
2 reviews
“great little place to stay”
Reviewed September 24, 2009

this place is a little gem. (not sure what the review below was on about).
the hostel is located just outside the city centre. just close enough to wlak each day but no so close as to have all the hussle and bussle. it is also slap bang between the centre and the Valley (if you wan nightlife). both are 10 minutes each way.
the hostel has recently been taken over by Chris and Wendy (maybe the last reveiwer stayed before then). Chris and Wendy are both really nice people and so friendly. they remembered my name for the whole 4 days i was there - that was a great touch.
the hostel is clean and tidy and a little like being in a house share.
i would highly recommend this place if, like me, you like a quieter side and want to get to know people. or are travelling alone or especially new to backpacking.
this place is for you. thanks to Chris and Wendy for making my stay a great one. i will be back

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kardifflad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    105
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
9
73
104
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
beijing
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2009

Most of the bedroom are under ground, and it is quite wet and dark. The room is quite tiny however with kinds of insects. There is even cobweb on the fan. Hard to believe there is somebody will like it!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rachel_lin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, UK.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2009

We stayed at the Kookaburra Inn for one night before our flight out of Australia, the inn is located in a suburban area of Brisbane and is best suited to travellers who have there own transport (although it is possible to walk into the city centre if you don't mind a good 30 minute walk).

The Inn itself is nice and very clean but quite basic, there are a number of communal areas including an outside patio area with a barbecue which we made good use of. The manager/owner who lives on the top floor is very welcoming and walks around with a little parrot on her shoulder, its so cute!!

Overall I would recommend this place to travellers on a budget.

  • Liked — The lady who owns the inn is lovely
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemmasnook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2008

Kookaburra Inn was a nice place to use as a base for exploring Brisbane. Located about 15 minutes walk from the CBD it is just far enough out to offer a peaceful respite from the hum of the city below. Rooms were clean and functional, with shared bathrooms and toilets. The kitchen was a good size and there was a homely TV room with comfy chairs and sofas. Unfortunately there was no free pickup from the bus station, but this is a minor gripe as we had a great stay here.

  • Liked — nice clean room. good kitchen and tv room
  • Disliked — no free pick up - it is a bit of an uphill hike from the bus stop with backpacks (although perfectly doable)
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMPLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2008

This is a very nice hotel in Brisbane. It is not a hostel itself since there is no possibility of sharing rooms. Nevertheless acommodation is not expensive.
The rooms are spacy and comfortable
Kitchen is OK and it has a very nice backyard with tables and chairs and a BBQ.
Very close to Brisbane CBD.
Supermarket is down the street.
They don't have 24-hour reception (office hours from 9am to 5pm) so if you are planning to arrive after 5pm you should give them a call or send an email so they can leave you the key to your room.
I highly recommend it!

  • Liked — Very well maintained (it's a 1927 building!!)
  • Disliked — Steep street to get there
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex1426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.7 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
0.9 mi away
Bowen Terrace International Accommodation
0.3 mi away
Meriton Suites Adelaide Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mantra Richmont Hotel
Mantra Richmont Hotel
#7 of 160 in Brisbane
697 reviews
0.3 mi away
Punthill Brisbane
Punthill Brisbane
#9 of 160 in Brisbane
617 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 160 in Brisbane
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kookaburra Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kookaburra Inn

Property: Kookaburra Inn
Address: 41 Phillips Street | Spring Hill, Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kookaburra Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the peaceful surrounds of inner Spring Hill, the Kookaburra Inn is a unique experience in the heart of beautiful Brisbane, Australia. Travellers alike have enjoyed the serene grounds of the Kookaburra Inn for many years, whether they are relaxing in one of the courtyards, enjoying the secluded privacy of the inn or simply enjoying the may ammenities that make the Inn a little more homely. The quiet leafy surrounds is the perfect place to unwind and enjoy the rest of a guest house with the convenience of a local capital city. Alternatively, you’re located in the heart of the River City and you can explore the many attractions that Brisbane has to offer, all while calling the Kookaburra your home base! Come and enjoy this unique atmosphere as we provide that little something special for your home away from home… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kookaburra Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kookaburra Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing