We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Prime location with lots of choice”
Review of Mantra on Mary

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra on Mary
Ranked #65 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Banksia Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Prime location with lots of choice”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We booked at M on Mary using a discount voucher, so we were uncertain as to the quality of accommodation at this reduced price. This unit block is in a prime location, just 2 blocks from the Queen street mall,with lots of choice for shopping and dining. I walked over the bridge to Southbank in 10 minutes and continued walking beside the river to he Goodwill pedestrian bridge which took me in a round trip back to the unit. I agree with a previous review.....did we have the same unit? We had a high quality kitchen with a very old lounge covered in a sheet?
Otherwise the unit was in perfect order and cleanliness. We had very little noise at night and we enjoyed the small balcony. The unit block seems to be occupied with overseas students but they were quiet and civilised. This location was perfect for exploring the city and its opportunities and the price was favourable in comparison to similar accommodation, especially as we received late checkout with our voucher. We would happily stay again for this price and the proximity to key activities in the CBD.

Room Tip: Car parking is limited and expensive so explore other transport options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buzz139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOnMaryBrisbane, Front Office Manager at Mantra on Mary, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Buzz,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at M on Mary Apartment Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we appreciate your feedback.

We are in the process of a soft refurbishment of our rooms and the couches are one of our main items on the list. I would like to invite you to contact me directly via email (simon@monmary.com) to discuss your comments regarding the apartment itself, so that I may investigate your concerns and pass them onto the owner of the unit.

Also I’m delighted you found our location so convenient, we are in a wonderful spot so close to some great café and shops.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon to M on Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    369
    195
    96
    64
See reviews for
185
302
71
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Quite a strange offering. My apartment had a high quality kitchen but the thing that stood out to me when I walked in was the cracked vinyl couch with a sheet over it. The bedroom had a bed and one bedside table, despite room for a table on both sides.
The bathroom/laundry was clean and modern but the shower situation would not be suitable for those with poor mobility or young children. The shower was over a deep bath surrounded by screens, entry point through a opening door.
The location is good but the price would not be worth it unless you would get good use of the kitchen and laundry. Other properties near by have a bit more style.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank LplusJAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOnMaryBrisbane, Front Office Manager at Mantra on Mary, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of the M On Mary Apartment Hotel. We welcome all feedback to help us to ensure that our rooms & service is consistently meeting our guests needs. Unfortunately it seems on this occasion that we have failed to meet all of your expectations and for this please allow me to sincerely apologise.

I note your positive comments and you are correct, we are certainly in a great location and the apartment do have great kitchen facilities.

I would like to invite you to contact me directly via email (simon@monmary.com) to discuss your comments regarding the apartment itself, so that I may investigate your concerns further.
As the apartments are all privately owned it is great for us to be able to provide this information to the apartment owners as we are in the process of upgrading and refurbishing where necessary.

We thank you for taking the time to review your stay and hope we get the chance to see you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Excellent place to stay on a visit to Brisbane, you couldn't get much better for location and proximity to everything you need. The apartment was lovely, well furnished, comfortable beds, lovely deck with plenty of seating to enjoy the great views over the river and city, beautifully clean and had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable. There is a nice pool and BBQ area and having a full kitchen and laundry facility just made life so much easier.
The staff were very helpful,lovely and friendly, and the apartment hotel is good value for money, We will happily stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewZealandSuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOnMaryBrisbane, Front Office Manager at Mantra on Mary, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Suz,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at M on Mary Apartment Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we appreciate your feedback.

I’m delighted you found our location so convenient, we are in a wonderful spot so close to some great cafe, shops and attractions. I am also happy to see that our staff where able to meet your expectations as we strive to provide quality customer service, and I will pass on your kind comments.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon to M on Mary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Excellent hosting .
Good location, close to some comerce... Safety and silent. Apartment overlooking the city and river Brisbane. System the houseclean is good and realible . Apartment with goods amplances, all perfects functions.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leandro_Dias_Oliveir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

I have tried many other apartments and hotels in Brisbane but dont know why I bothered. M on Mary never fails on service, location, cleanliness and value for money.
I stayed here this time nearly a week on business and was on the 40th floor in a fantastic room at great value. Staff there are genuinely nice. While we were staying there a car caught fire in the laneway next door and they even handled that emergency calmly and assuredly.
I treid Evolution aprtments last time but it's not a patch on M on Mary. Perfect location too in walking distance to Eagle Pier restaraunts and Brisbane's botanical gardens.
Will never bother trying anywhere else. Well done M on Mary!

Room Tip: High floors have great views of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPM35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOnMaryBrisbane, Front Office Manager at Mantra on Mary, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at M on Mary Apartment Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we appreciate your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your view from one of our apartments, we do have such a lovely view from our higher floors.

I am also happy to see that our staff where able to meet your expectations as we strive to provide quality customer service, and I will pass on your kind comments.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon to M on Mary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a night at M, called up to see if we could check in early and reception handled it with no troubles.

Another perk would be that the air conditioning is individually adjusted for each room! Very comfortable even if it was just a night.

Cons: The blanket provided was not very comfortable and they could have provided an extra pillow or so but having said that I'm sure reception could have helped with that.

All in all a good positive experience.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Choisun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We had excellent service when we stayed here, we were able to check in early at noon then went for lunch and shopping (Queen Street Mall is two blocks away). When we discovered we had a faulty airconditioner in our room when we returned at about 4.30, the manager came up to see us within 10 minutes of us ringing reception, maintenance was there in another five minutes, and we were upgraded to a three bed (from a one bed) room 10 minutes after that.
Large modern rooms, close to restaurants/shopping/public transport, easy check in and check out, able to store bags. Only complaint was the lack of black out blinds in the bedrooms of the apartment we were in, the see through blinds let in a lot of light early in the morning.
Overall we were happy with our stay and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment high up to avoid the city noises (traffic, local restaurants) if you're a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank staceyswan83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOnMaryBrisbane, Front Office Manager at Mantra on Mary, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Stacey

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at M on Mary Apartment Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we appreciate your feedback.

We constantly strive to attain and maintain high standards of service and hospitality. I am happy to see the actions of my staff helped resolve the air con situation and you were able to enjoy your time in Brisbane. I will pass on your kind comments to my team.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon to M on Mary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.0 mi away
Oaks Festival Towers
Oaks Festival Towers
#55 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Brisbane Elizabeth Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oaks Charlotte Towers
Oaks Charlotte Towers
#58 of 157 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#23 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
0.0 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#10 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Mary

Property: Mantra on Mary
Address: 70 Mary St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly M on Mary Apartment Hotel)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Mary 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Mary offers you stylish accommodation and easy access to the very best Brisbane has to offer. You’re close to excellent dining options at Eagle Street Pier, just a short stroll to great shopping at the Queen Street Mall and if you’re in Brisbane on business – then the central business district is within walking distance. Mantra on Mary knows how to please guests with spacious living areas, separate bedrooms and separate studies. You can choose an apartment with your private balcony boasting views across the city skyline or Brisbane River. These One and Three Bedroom apartments are complete with everything you need; they feature a fully equipped kitchen, laundry facilities, in-room Wi-Fi and a LCD TV with Foxtel. So whether you’re travelling alone, or with a group – there is an apartment at Mantra on Mary to suit your every need. Venture outside your apartment and onsite you’ll find a heated outdoor lap pool, gymnasium, sauna, and a BBQ and recreation area. The Aquarius Health & Medispa is ready to offer you a great variety of pampering treatments as well as a 22m indoor heated lap pool, bathhouses and gym as well as fitness classes suitable for both men and women. Catering equally to both the leisure and corporate guest with business services and the tour desk, so no matter your reason for visiting Brisbane, you’ll be comfortable at Mantra on Mary. You’ll find yourself surrounded by cultural activities with the Gallery of Modern Art (GOMA) and the Performing Arts Centre just across the bridge. Hop on the City Cat and take in the sights along the Brisbane River. Having fun is as easy as heading to Fortitude Valley to enjoy live music and a collection of amazing boutiques and funky designer shops. Mantra on Mary is hard to beat when it comes to proximity, convenience and comfort when visiting Brisbane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing