We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Awful but Wouldn't Stay Again”
Review of Mantra on Mary

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mantra on Mary
Ranked #70 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Comparatively short notice found me at M on Mary rather than my preferred option in Brisbane of Quay West (see previous review). Stayed in 1 Bedroom "Riverview" - refer to my photos for the extent of the actual view of the river from the 26th floor! A very musty smell greeted me on entry to the apartment and there was some damage to the lounge room wall (I neglected to take a photo).

I think I was the only person over the age of 23 in the entire building - it is really an apartment block rather than a hotel and it obviously houses a huge number of students.

Normal check-out is advertised as 10:00am but I requested 11am on arrival which, I was assured, was 'entered into the system'. At 10:56 the next morning, as I was leaving the apartment, reception started making "Bugger Off" phone calls to the room which I felt was rather rude. When I mentioned this at reception I was told they'd made a mistake and hadn't seen on the system that I had an 11am check-out. Not sure whether I'd rather be considered rude or incompetent to be honest!

Overall - weird musty smell, students everywhere (OK, if that's your thing, of course), paid extra for a "Riverview" that you needed advanced astronomical equipment to actually see and either rude or incompetent front desk staff (take your pick).

Room Tip: Don't bother paying extra for the "Riverview" option.
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank RussellJW_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeanneMonMary, Front Office Manager at Mantra on Mary, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear RusselJW_10,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the M on Mary.

I am disappointed that you experienced these issues during your stay in our one bedroom apartments and can assure you that this is not up to our normal high standards. Our one bedroom apartments boast both river and city views and when booked direct we can certainly add details in to the booking to ensure the booking suits your needs.

On behalf of our front office team I would like to apologise for the phone call regarding your late checkout time, I have personally followed up with the relevant staff member. I have also advised our Maintenance and Housekeeping Managers about the comments regarding your apartment, which have now been rectified and I thank you for your feedback.

Should you wish to discuss your recent booking further or choose to book with us again at the M on Mary I invite you to contact me directly on 07 3503 8000. I would be more than happy to personally oversee your next stay with us.

We wish you well on your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,172 - 1,178 of 1,224 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013

Upon checking in we had an efficient person, whom let us know what the best room with the view would be and we weren't disappointed when we walked in. My only comment was the parking. With all Brisbane hotels you have to pay for the day which is fine, but what i objected to was that when we wanted to check out the next day we were charged $15, though it is normally $30. Most other hotels let you stay while you go for breakfast or another walk around the city before leaving. I think it should have been at least 24hrs from you can check into the hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 2608 which i thought had a good view of the city. you couldn't hear the A/C noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephanieLacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally S, Director of Sales at Mantra on Mary, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. As we have limited parking, guests generally aren’t permitted to leave their cars after the 10am checkout and I’m glad we were able to accommodate your request and charge only a half day parking, rather than overnight charge. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed in a room with a study. This place is not a hotel, it is semi-serivced apartments. The couches belonged on the verge pickup. They were awful. The bathroom had no face washes. We requested some via note and received a scribbled reply that a hand towel would be an adequate substitute. Cleaners didnt really make up the room as much as neaten the bed and put dishes in the dishwasher for us. The front desk was only occasionally attended - when it was, only one of the three hole-in-the wall windows was open. Our experience was not that of a hotel. It was more of an apartment building with towel-chaning service. We chose M on Mary for the excellent location. The location was excellent.

Room Tip: Book a high room bring your own face manchester
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TowelTowel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally S, Director of Sales at Mantra on Mary, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are pleased to hear you found the location excellent and as we are central to all the essentials in Brisbane. M on Mary is a serviced apartment with hotel facilities such as 24 hour reception and daily housekeeping and please accept our apologies if you felt that the service you were provided during your stay was inconsistent. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to M on Mary again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Spent 4 nights there on a business trip, brought the family aswell. Originally booked the one bedroom, however upon seeing there were 4 of us (2 adults, 1 child and a baby) the customer service offered us upgrade to 1 brm and 1 study unit which is lovely.
The unit was clean and spacious. But on the living room we found a safety pin on the rug, which is immediately taken out and the staff apologized. Recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R0salin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

These apartments are ok. Ones without balconies can be claustrophobic as some of the window configurations don't create a sense connection with the outside world. The apartments are reasonably fitted out, bed comfortable. Overall cleanliness ok, but more attention to bathrooms is needed. Good location. Staff attentiveness and interest to customer needs is variable.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
Thank cangau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This a is a large but very convenient apartment hotel. It's right in the centre of the city and only a few metres from the main government offices and a major shopping centre. The staff are few but helpful and responsive. The in-room kitchen and laundry make this a good proposition for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Back rooms are a bit noisy. Pay a little more and get one with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingram10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The rooms were clean and it was easy to do some work after hours. The only thngs marring my stay were: the bedside clock time was wrong and could not be adjusted; there was no plug for the handbasin

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
0.0 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#16 of 169 in Brisbane
1,090 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oaks Festival Towers
Oaks Festival Towers
#60 of 169 in Brisbane
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mantra Terrace Hotel
Mantra Terrace Hotel
#54 of 169 in Brisbane
893 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#33 of 169 in Brisbane
1,030 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra on Queen
Mantra on Queen
#59 of 169 in Brisbane
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Mary

Address: 70 Mary St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly M on Mary Apartment Hotel)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range: $78 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Mary 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Mary offers you stylish accommodation close to Eagle Street Pier and Queen Street Mall. You can choose an apartment with your private balcony boasting views across the city skyline or Brisbane River. One and Three Bedroom apartments are complete with everything you need; they feature a fully equipped kitchen, laundry facilities, in-room Wi-Fi and a LCD TV with Foxtel. Onsite you’ll find a heated outdoor lap pool, gymnasium, sauna, a BBQ and recreation area, Aquarius Health & Medispa as well as a 22m indoor heated lap pool, and a gym with fitness classes suitable for both men and women. The Gallery of Modern Art (GOMA) and the Performing Arts Centre are just across the bridge. Or hop on the City Cat and take in the sights along the Brisbane River. Having fun is as easy as heading to Fortitude Valley to enjoy live music and a collection of amazing boutiques and funky designer shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mantra on Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing