We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Whitsunday Islands

Whitsunday Islands
Book In Advance
More Info
$498.32*
and up
Cairns to Sydney Hop-on Hop-off Travel Pass
Ranked #426 of 1,935 things to do in Queensland
Attraction details
Texas City, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Hamilton Island, one of the Whitsunday Islands off the coast of Brisbane, Australia is a great place to relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery. A short boat ride (I took a ferry) to the Great Coral Reef is a must.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bobccarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    7
    0
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
95 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Absolutely Breathtaking...must see when visiting Great Barrier Reef”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Flew into Hamilton Island airport directly and I must say it is truly a holiday destination. Only 30 percent of the island has been developed. The rest remains literally untouched. The island is incredible...easy to get around and can easily go to many of the 74 surrounding islands. Am just leaving and had to write before I forgot! The latest resort recently opened called Qualia. If there was such a rating it would be a 6 star property, but this is another rating. There are several wonderful places to stay...I stayed at the Reef View Hotel. Definitely check out if you are going to be in Queensland.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Ron780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Maria, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Become a Castaway on the Whitsunday Islands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

My trip started with a sailboat charter out of Airlie Beach where I met other travellers from around the world. You can join in and sail the boat or sit back and relax while you island hop through the Whitsunday's. Nothing has compared to the crystal clear warm ocean waters teaming with marine life. Snorkelling, diving and exploring the islands was incredible. Anchoring by deserted islands and docking at other inhabited ones. It made me want to castaway my troubles and stay awhile. Whistunday island was my favourite with the tiniest whitest grains of sand that give song when you walk along the beach. Phosphorescent waters made a night time swim light up and feel magical. Definitely a castaways dream!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank AMIHomeRental
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stunning, beautiful and you won't find anything else like this in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have been around the world a fair bit and just love the whitsundays!! It is safe, small but not too small, friendly and whe you are out on the water you can actually go to bays and inlets and have the whole place to yourself. We actually get a bit annoyed when people pull up near us!!
Great value for money and any boat trip is a trip of a lifetime. Highly recommend it to all walks of life!!

Helpful?
6 Thank Whitsundaylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamborine Mountain, Australia
Level Contributor
602 reviews
278 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Over rated to the max”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a boating holiday i the Whitsunday's via Hamilton Island, weather was good for winter, water to cold to swim in. In summer to many stingers so thats not the time to go either! Famous Whitehaven Beach whilst it looks great, go there when the tide is out and you will see a million stingrays. Hamilton Island is an extreme rip off also. Not sounding patriotic but I would rather go to Thailand or Vanuatu and not be ripped off.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
15 Thank Gaile1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whitsunday Islands also viewed

 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Whitsunday Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing