We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whitsundays Catamarans - Powerplay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Whitsunday Islands

Whitsunday Islands
Book In Advance
More Info
$498.70*
and up
Cairns to Sydney Hop-on Hop-off Travel Pass
Ranked #429 of 1,936 things to do in Queensland
Attraction details
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Whitsundays Catamarans - Powerplay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012
Pending review

When we started looking into doing a live aboard boat trip around the Whitsunday's Islands we were overwhelmed with the amount of different boats and trips available. We quickly narrowed it down because we wanted a boat that wasn't full of schoolies and wasn't a sailing boat. We had heard that the sailing boats were for younger people and more of a party boat and held around 22 people. Being 25 years old we wanted a boat that had people our age and held fewer people. We finally decided on Powerplay, because it was smaller and was a little posher :) our skipper was Tan, our dive instructor was Megan and our host was Sam. When we got on the boat we were given chicken and veggie wraps to eat while we where told the route around the islands we were going to take. One route to the first dive site we got to sunbath on deck and get to know everyone. We all were given a stinger suit because during November/ December it's jelly fish season, although I didn't see many. During the three days we were given so much food to eat and all the food was great. Everything was included apart from the dives and drinks, but you could bring your own drinks on board. The only thing I would say would be that the drinking water should have been free for people diving because after breathing pressured air and being in salt water you are really thirsty. Each small bottle of water was $2. I did 5 dives over the 3 days, Megan was great and pointed out interesting things while we were underwater, and we even did a night dive and saw a 2 metre Shark. On the dives Megan took a underwater camera and took some amazing pictures of me and the coral. On the second day we were taken to the hill inlet and the Whitehaven beach, we were off the boat for a few hours and this was a great time to swim in the sea and sunbath on the whitest beach I have ever seen. Truly amazing! We had a shared double room, which was a room with two double beds in it. It was air conditioned and very comfortable. The sheets were clean and the pillows were great. There were plenty of activities to do for people who didn't want to dive, you could snorkel and use the paddle board. There were even floats for people who were not strong swimmers. Overall the Powerplay was amazing and I would definitely do it all over again.

Visited December 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    7
    0
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stunning, beautiful and you won't find anything else like this in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have been around the world a fair bit and just love the whitsundays!! It is safe, small but not too small, friendly and whe you are out on the water you can actually go to bays and inlets and have the whole place to yourself. We actually get a bit annoyed when people pull up near us!!
Great value for money and any boat trip is a trip of a lifetime. Highly recommend it to all walks of life!!

Helpful?
6 Thank Whitsundaylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamborine Mountain, Australia
Level Contributor
603 reviews
278 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Over rated to the max”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a boating holiday i the Whitsunday's via Hamilton Island, weather was good for winter, water to cold to swim in. In summer to many stingers so thats not the time to go either! Famous Whitehaven Beach whilst it looks great, go there when the tide is out and you will see a million stingrays. Hamilton Island is an extreme rip off also. Not sounding patriotic but I would rather go to Thailand or Vanuatu and not be ripped off.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
15 Thank Gaile1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Blue Water Sailing At It's Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

The Whitsunday Islands are one of the most beautiful set of islands in the world, if you love to sail, snorkel, or just plan be out on the water, this is the place for you. You can spend your days sailing around the islands, each islands having its own unique attractions. Whitehaven Beach the one not to be missed, it's a 7 km stretch along the "Whitsunday Island". The island is accessible by boat from the mainland tourist ports. Dogs are not permitted on the beach and cigarette smoking/or fires are prohibited. Whitehaven Beach is known for its white sands. The sand consists of 98% pure silica which gives it a bright white color. Unlike regular sand, the sand on Whitehaven Beach does not retain heat making it comfortable to walk barefoot on a hot day. This sand is also very fine, and so nice to walk on... The Islands and Whitehaven Beach are truly magical.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitesands13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay with loads of extra$”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

A Whitsunday holiday is brilliant for relaxed cruising, dining, ocean & poolside fun --but look ahead to what your package includes or bring plenty of extra dosh for excursions like diving or snorkeling. Most restaurants are lovely with good range of fare although no exceptional cuisine. Plan to visit several islands as each is different, offering everything from pristine, undeveloped beaches to the more commercial (Hamilton Island) venture with activities and night-life.
For overseas travellers, a must-see side trip of 2 days+ to appreciate the ocean's true-blue.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whitsunday Islands also viewed

 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Whitsunday Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing