We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for kids but once it's crowded”
Review of Borumba Deer Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Queensland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Borumba Deer Park
Ranked #992 of 2,110 Specialty Lodging in Queensland
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great for kids but once it's crowded”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The facilities are nice and clean and can cope with the number of visitors. The location is great with the swimming holes near by, kids have a great time if they are in a group. Some of the other camper can be less then considerate with excessive noise, letting their dogs run free and not picking up after them. Staff are very helpfull but someone needs to monitor those campers that aren't interested in keeping to curfew.

Room Tip: Visit in off peak times if you can. Three days is probably enough time here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bazzap68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    23
    8
    8
    5
See reviews for
36
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We recently spent 5 night's at the Deer Park. We were in a group of 4 families, and camped in the New Paddock area, which appeared much more shaded than the Sherwood Forest area. We were very happy with our site, and felt we had the pick of the campsites. Unfortunately it got extremely busy whilst we were there, as we stayed over the October long weekend. The facilities struggled to cope, with the male members of the trip commenting that toilet paper was limited in the toilets. The kids, 9 in total, ranging from 15 years to 7 years of age, had a ball. The creek provided hours of entertainment, and they were able to cycle around the park safely. It was great to have a fire each night. The only thing I was disappointed in, was that there were no bush walks. I asked at the desk, and the lad was quite shocked when I enquired about walks in the area. She told me of 2, one of which took 5 mins, and the other which went along the main road outside the deer park. I felt this one was not an option, as it was walking along a road with a speed limit of 80-100km/hr. As our group had a total of 17people, 9 of which were children, I felt this was not ver safe. Unfortunately the nearby dam didn't have any walks either.
We enjoyed our time at the park, however it would have been a bit more enjoyable with some walks!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed for a few nights camping with family and friends. Not a busy time of year so plenty of great campsites down near the creek. Fire pits provided and you can buy firewood on-site (although quite expensive).
If you want a powered site or have a dog, you need to stay in the upper part of the park, which hasn't got a great view and is mainly grassed open land with a few trees.
The main part of the park where there are caravans - and where you could park a large caravan - is quite depressing and very tired looking.
Facilities and campsites were very clean. Whole park, though clean, was quite unmaintained. Looked as though no money had been spent on the place in 10-20 years.
Staff were very friendly.
Very noisy on the Saturday night.
I stay at a lot of camp grounds and thought that this was on the expensive side for what was on offer.

Room Tip: For unpowered tent or camper stays, down by the creek is the prettiest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Texasghost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Qld
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2010

A group of family and friends spent two days at Borumba Deer Park.
The children in our group had a care free time biking around the park and swimming in the creek that boarders the park. The toilet/shower block facilities in the Sherwood park section of the park were excellent. The staff could not be more friendlier or helpful and the deer feeding show on Saturday afternoon was both informative and entertaining. Both nights we were there we had an open fire which was great. It is only a 5min drive to the Borumba Dam. Overall a great place to relax, kick back with family and friends and enjoy the outdoors in a great location.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank craftyweasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queensland hotels
194.9 mi away
Raintree Motel Biloela
Raintree Motel Biloela
#6 of 8 in Biloela
25 reviews
501.6 mi away
Ironbark Inn
Ironbark Inn
#1 of 2 in Barcaldine
24 reviews
492.4 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
411.2 mi away
Royal Carrangarra Hotel
47.5 mi away
Kingaroy Country Motel
Kingaroy Country Motel
#5 of 7 in Kingaroy
29 reviews
250.5 mi away
Emus Beach Resort
Emus Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Emu Park
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borumba Deer Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borumba Deer Park

Property: Borumba Deer Park
Address: 1133 Yabba Creek Rd | Imbil, Queensland 4570, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #992 of 2,110 Specialty Lodging in Queensland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing