We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

Prickles Mexican Resturaunt
Ranked #79 of 376 Restaurants in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $23
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Darwin, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We have been to this restaurant MANY times, from our 1st time here to last weeks visit we cannot get enough of this place, service is friendly & pretty fast, staff are helpful & food is fantastic. The only problem i can see is for tourists as it isnt in the CBD, you need to either drive there or take a taxi to Parap.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank txnkitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    61
    22
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic Mexican Food”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Have been to Prickles on a few occasions now and have never been disappointed.
The staff are friendly and helpful. The service is good and the menu is quite adequate. The quality of the food is great. While the restaurant doesn't compare with a 2 or 3 Michelin hat establishment it shouldn't be so compared. In comparison with other Mexican restaurants I have eaten in this would be the best.
Having a sweet tooth I was blown away by one of their deserts; a banana enchilada with butterscotch sauce, cream and ice-cream.
If you haven't been then this is well worth a try, you wont be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food, service and value!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We arrived in Darwin and found ourselves here desperately needing some good food. We were not disappointed. The food was fresh, tasty and the meal sizes were generous. The service was quick and friendly.
A week later on our return from Kakadu we went straight there and again found everything we expected. They had lots of vegetarian options plus some gluten free.They were also flexible with our meals, so I was able to ditch an enchilada for a salad. Always grateful when a restaurant can be flexible!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best mexican in Darwin”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I love the atmosphere at Prickles. Great decor and ambient lighting. Food wasn't the best mexican I have ever had but miles better then any other mexican available in Darwin. Great tasting drinks and friendly staff. Meals are a good size too

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raepascoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Microwave magic”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The title says it all. McDonalds would be ashamed of these offerings. Try one of their an overpriced, premixed cocktails to top it off.

Helpful?
Thank LibbyDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prickles Mexican Resturaunt also viewed

 
Darwin, Top End
 

Been to Prickles Mexican Resturaunt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing