We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Mantra Pandanas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Pandanas
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed here for 3nights in March. Our room was spacious with everything we needed. It had been newly refurbished with nice decor and a clean modern bathroom. We had a small balcony with views of the pool and Darwin city. It would have been nice to have had a table and chairs on the balcony. The swimming pool was lovely and very quiet during the day. There were plenty of sun lounges. Breakfast was good with lots of choice. The hotel is conveniently located to explore the city on foot, it is also close to the bus deport. We used the buses a lot. They were air conditioned, clean and cheap.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave Pearson I, General Manager at Mantra Pandanas, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Hi Lewoni,
Thanks for choosing to stay at Mantra Pandanas and we're delighted that you enjoyed the experience. Please be advised that the balcony furniture has since been replaced throughout the hotel following the offical end of the cyclone season. We hope to welcome you back soon on your next visit to Darwin.
Kind regards
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    338
    149
    48
    26
See reviews for
80
275
49
349
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

View was fabulous on the 14th floor. Not so good if a power cut...!
Staff were not only ill prepared, but totally useless. Restaurant is unispiring. Room well suited for the money. Managers could do with training, then work on the everything else!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Bbbubbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave Pearson I, General Manager at Mantra Pandanas, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Maggie B,
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and it's great to hear that you enjoyed your room and the fabulous views. Thanks also for taking the time to comment on the power outage which occurred across Darwin back in March. Whilst it was disappointing to read your comments about our staff who worked tirelessly throughout the crisis, I am pleased to advise that all of our staff were very well prepared and followed the power outage procedures to the letter. Plenty of assistance and refreshments were provided to our guests and we received many thanks and letters of appreciation in recognition of our efforts. We conduct regular training sessions to deal with emergency situations and update our procedures accordingly. We hope that you change your viewpoint as we would be delighted to welcome you back to stay with us again.
Kind regards
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Spent four nights over the Easter period. Stayed in an ocean view room on the 17th floor. The room was an excellent size with reasonably nice decor. Bathroom was very modern and clean. Staff were quite attentive and friendly. Yes, there were limted housekeeping services during the Easter break, however not a problem as this was clearly communicated and rooms were freshened up if you requested. Only a couple of minor negatives, the management should pay more attention to detail with the presentation of the hallway carpets and some of the furniture in the rooms, as there were quite a number of noticable stains.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Craig O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave Pearson I, General Manager at Mantra Pandanas, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Hi Craig O,
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and for your great comments about our staff and facilities. Thanks also for your comments on the hallway carpets and furniture which are scheduled for shampoo treatments over the next two weeks. We really appreciate your visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Arrived at midnight and room was not configured as requested but otherwise quick checkin. We were too tired to worry about it. Very early the next morning housekeeping came to organise room configuration (as requested) we declined as needed more sleep but good to see it wasn't forgotten. The restaurant in the hotel was closed (or very limited times) over Easter (open for brekkie Easter Saturday ) so it was difficult to get coffee or anything other than fast food as most restaurants and cafes were closed over Easter in Darwin (Mitchell st had some bars, cafes open - full of backpackers) The room was a great size with modern amenities and would recommend staying (on cheap websites ie mystery hotel) it's centrally located and easy walking distance to most attractions and restaurants in the CBD. Staff were helpful, however, male staff member was condescending when questions asked. A good fresh hotel, however, would be better if housekeeping and hotel facilities were fully operational during holiday period.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave Pearson I, General Manager at Mantra Pandanas, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Hi Lawyerlou2211,
Many thanks for your valuable feedback and we're glad you enjoyed our helpful staff, central location and modern amenities. Housekeeping services are always available on request at anytime on public holidays and the restaurant is open for breakfast daily and room service is always available for lunch and dinner. Thanks again for your comments and we do hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Stay here quite alot for work, location is good, your close enough to everything in the city but far enough that you don't hear all the tomfoolery. Nice and clean, the one bed aparments are a good size. Gym and outside pool area are a bit tired, the gym is a waste of time 2 machines that are on their last legs, the pool is ok but not that inviting, could do with a sprook up. Staff are lovely and helpful and the restaurant good - Darwin prices as you would expect, I don't understand why we pay such high prices for reasonable service but that's all I got to say.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave Pearson I, General Manager at Mantra Pandanas, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Hello Indilee,
Thanks for being a loyal guest and we really appreciate you staying with us on a regular basis. We're delighted that you enjoy our location, restaurant and service and thanks for your comments about the pool and gym. We have contacted the gym equipment supplier to come in this week to fully service all of the equipment and replace any item which is not in perfect condition. We do hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights in March on business. The hotel is very well presented, very clean and the staff were all very friendly. Check-in was early in the morning about 4am, very quick and there were no problems.

There is a restaurant off the lobby that serves up a good buffet breakfast and a good dinner, though like most of Darwin, it is expensive.

The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. I had a high floor room with sliding glass doors opening out to a balcony. The room had all the normal fittings including a mini bar, large wardrobe, ironing board, iron, safe, desk, chairs, TV etc. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom is large with a walk around shower, no door, so it ends up a bit wet. Shower and toilet in the same room. The TV has a few pay tv channels too.

A big plus was the power points at the bed side tables. So many hotels dont have them and it's madness. As someone who relies on their phone for their alarm, and needs it charged, not being able to have it next to the bed is a pain.

Its a 5-10 minute walk up to the main street where there are plenty of bars and restaurants, as well as a supermarket. During the week it's still a busy nightlife in the main street and depending on who you are and what night you're out, you may feel a little unsafe getting around by yourself but I had no dramas.

All in all, this was a very comfortable stay with no issues whatsover. I can recommend this hotel happily, you won't be dissapointed.

Room Tip: High floor facing the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank josh-aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave Pearson I, General Manager at Mantra Pandanas, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear josh-aus,
Thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Mantra Pandanas and thanks for your great feedback and recommendation.
We're delighted that you enjoyed our friendly staff and facilities and we agree with you that our location is perfect for nearby venues.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Stayed here for 8 days for work in early March and booked two rooms for myself and a colleague.. Overall the hotel presented well and staff were very friendly.
A few things that were on the negative side was that i booked and paid for two rooms using Mantras website and the booking and details of the other room and mine was made under the other guest.
The car park was a nuisance as every time you entered you had to give your room number and name which obviously due to the booking error i was never a guest. To leave the carpark you could just swipe your room card but entering you couldnt.Strange?
The shower in the room had a sunken floor but when having a shower it would not drain properly and overflow to the whole bathroom. Obviously this is a common problem as the carpet outside the bathroom was very wet.
Had breakfast included as part of the deal for an extra $10/day. Very simple spread for breakfast but worth $10 price.
The door to the balcony was very hard to lock and after many attempts gave up locking it.
Overall good hotel and probably would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave Pearson I, General Manager at Mantra Pandanas, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Hi Traveller388,
Thank you for your positive feedback and it was great to hear that you enjoyed you stay with us. Apologies for the confusion with the booking details; it appears that a rare glitch in the automated system duplicated your colleagues name. Our reservations manager has identified this and has implemented a procedure to rectify, if by chance this reoccurs. We do hope that you will stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Top End.
Many thanks,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.3 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
0.2 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 36 in Darwin
1,915 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
0.1 mi away
Oaks Elan Darwin
Oaks Elan Darwin
#5 of 36 in Darwin
525 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#7 of 36 in Darwin
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Pandanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Pandanas

Property: Mantra Pandanas
Address: 43 Knuckey St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
#3 Business Hotel in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Pandanas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Darwin, Mantra Pandanas combines sophisticated city chic with Darwin's famous laid back, tropical culture, making this property an ideal base for your Darwin business trip or accommodation choice for the perfect holiday escape. Offering 336 studio, hotel, one and two bedroom apartment style rooms, Mantra Pandanas is supremely appointed with modern contemporary decor and luxury amenities. Selected rooms include a private balcony offering panoramic views across Darwin Harbour and Darwin city skyline, and serves as the perfect vantage point to enjoy the setting sun. Apartments include kitchenette and laundry facilities and can also act as an office with selected apartments providing guests with modem and facsimile lines plus ISD/STD direct dial phones and voice mail message service. Mantra Pandanas is the perfect accommodation option for travellers who are relocating to the Northern Territory or who are on a long stay work assignment. It is also a perfect base for travellers looking to explore NT's stunning natural beauty and abundant local tourist attractions Mantra Pandanas also features two Darwin conference venues which have been designed to equally cater for small meetings right through to theatre style professional presentation. Special occasions, events, functions, weddings and conferences can also be catered for with banquet facilities for up to 140 delegates. The resort offers premium onsite facilities guests can enjoy including, Table Forty Three restaurant and bar, lagoon style swimming pool, spa and fully equipped gym. Guest services include 24 hour reception, internet lounge and business area, tour desk and tour booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Pandanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Pandanas Darwin
Mantra Pandanas Hotel Darwin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing