We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good... Just a few small things to fix up”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mantra Pandanas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra Pandanas
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Very good... Just a few small things to fix up”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2008

My wife & I recently stayed at the Mantra Pandanas which was booked by the company that we were taking a Kakadu tour with. The hotel was very comfortable for our initial night's stay & we quite relished the thought of a second night there after a dusty week in the bush.
Sure the corridors may be a little narrow but so what? No porters to carry dust covered bags to the room? We would have been embarrassed if there had been.
But the staff are very attentive & helpful, the rooms are new & pleasant. The bathrooms are modern with a washing machine & dryer excellent additions to wash the red dust out of a weeks clothing. Just be careful as the step up into the bathroom is surprising large (probably to cover the fall in the pipework in the floor of the new bathrooms).
However a few small things the hotel management need to sort out in our opinion -
1. There was no wine or beer in the room when we returned from the bush for our second night. A couple of cold beers in the fridge would have gone down dusty throats nicely.
2. The fire alarm going off three times after 9:00pm at night is not funny, & if I had not read a previous review about the same problem my wife & I would have been very alarmed.
3. The hotel is meant to be a non-smoking venue but other guests were smoking by the pool & using an official-looking hotel cylinder butt collector. If the venue is non-smoking why facilitate smoking by the pool?
4. The coffee at breakfast was just not hot enough on either day that we were there. In fact to get a hot coffee we ended up buying one from the restaurant.
5. There were two computers in the hotel lobby, with the idea of buying a prepaid card for either 10 or 30 mins access. This idea works well, however only one of the computers is hooked up to the printer there. So if you have just confirmed your airline seats & want to print out your boarding pass, you have no idea that you cannot do it from computer #2 & in the meantime have used up the balance of your prepaid credit.
Only small things I admit, but not the sort of things that would stop me staying there again if in Darwin.

  • Liked — Clean & modern; helpful staff; close to Darwin cbd
  • Disliked — Fire alarms going off at 9:00pm
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sydneysider34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    302
    134
    42
    23
See reviews for
67
242
44
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2008

We were lucky to find the Mantra Pandanas as, not realising how busy Darwin gets in July, we left the booking a bit late. The Pandanas was not heavily advertised as it was still under construction in May - in fact the top few floors were not yet open.
We had what could best be described as a studio including a bathroom bigger than some rooms I have stayed in with a full sized bath, a walk-in shower, washing machine and tumble drier.
The sleeping area had a separate fan, air-con and TV, independent from those in the living/kitchen area.
The kitchen area included a sink, hob and dishwasher.
The website warned of the possibility of construction noise from the site adjacent but this was not significant relative to a city centre location.
Our balcony had wide views over the city including the awesome Darwin sunset though, at night, some noise from the air-con on the government building opposite became apparent while the patio doors were open.
Excellent restaurant and bar. Lovely pool at 6th floor level though this only gets direct sun for part of the day (quite enough in the tropics!)

  • Liked — Great facilities in room
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Embradon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2008

I recently stayed here for a week on business.
Location wise, this is an A1 hotel.
Check in staff are great and the room was impressive, with a sizeable balcony, good kitchen, TV and hi-fi, broadband access and a separate bedroom.
Fridge was well stocked too.
Downsides: price at $295 for room only it isn't cheap and breakfast was OK but not great value. Coffee was pretty average too.
Gym and pool are poor for a hotel of this class as well.
Overall, good but pricey.

  • Liked — Staff and location
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BarnetBlackDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2008

I stayed here in late June 2008 in an excellent room overlooking the Darwin Harbour, with a 180-degree view from the balcony on its top floor, #19 for the hotel portion (the higher-up stories are private apartments).
The room was fine, however, the service and other facilities were very lacking for a facility that purports to be 4.5 stars. No porters to handle my heavy baggage upon arrival. No dedicated concierge. No in-room packet about the hotel (where is the pool, for instance?). Only a half-dozen TV channels. Ice-delivery took 45-minutes. In the two elevators, you are subjected to the service personnel bringing in their carts of dirty sheets and towels. Since the construction of the apartments above my top-floor hotel room was still going on, I had continual noise during the day, plus construction debris and workers' cigarette butts falling onto my beautiful balcony.
I wrote the management, and got back a polite letter saying thanks, but a lot of these things "are beyond our control." Well, they'd better get it controlled.
I would suggest for now staying at the nice Darwin Airport Hotel -- they have their service downpat, and it's a lovely location with a Bali-type atmosphere and finesse.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank Marion94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2008

We have just spent 4 nights and would agree with the previous reviewer. The choice of a Studio Harbour View room was perfect for the both of us especially at sunset. Easy walking distance to Mitchell Street etc. Lifts were annoying as they took ages to get to you. Didn't eat at the restaurant but looked of a good quality.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank kelbert17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2008

We walked into the Pandanas after a three day basic 4 wheel drive camping trip with high expectations and were not disappointed. Although we had booked a city view room we were pleased to see a panoramic view of Darwin Harbour from our 14th floor balcony. The hotel is easy walking distance to local attractions and restaurants. The rooms are clean and tastefully decorated as you would expect in a new hotel. As the hotel is still being built there were teething problems such as irregular lifts, fire alarms that went off and doors that wouldn't open (to the pool). The restaurant had recently opened and looked inviting but we chose to eat elsewhere and made our own cold breakfast in the room. The pool area was on the 6th floor and very pleasant when we could finally get in. We were really happy with our stay overall and would stay there again if we could get another good deal on the rates.

Helpful?
Thank oricus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2008

The hotel is rated at 4.5. It is not finished yet, no meals, no room service for meals, no facilities i.e. gym etc. Paid $195 for A BED.

The corridors are all of 1 meter wide. Would be very difficult to pass others in the hallway with luggage. At that time I thought I was in a Formula 1 hotel. Even their corridors are wider. The room itself is quite pleasant with good view. The shower recess has no door therefore the sink area becomes sodden.

We were ready to check out when the fire alarm went off. We rang front desk, we were told to stay in room. Next stage of fire alarm stated to leave room. We had to travel 15 floors. By the time we got to the bottom the emergency had been called off. No check of all residence had been done.

We were asked if we enjoyed our stay. Wrong question

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — the very narrow corridors, lack of room service
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankRSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.3 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.3 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oaks Elan Darwin
Oaks Elan Darwin
#4 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Pandanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Pandanas

Property: Mantra Pandanas
Address: 43 Knuckey Street, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Darwin
#4 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Pandanas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Darwin, Mantra Pandanas combines sophisticated city chic with Darwin's famous laid back, tropical culture, making this property an ideal base for your Darwin business trip or accommodation choice for the perfect holiday escape. Offering 336 studio, hotel, one and two bedroom apartment style rooms, Mantra Pandanas is supremely appointed with modern contemporary decor and luxury amenities. Selected rooms include a private balcony offering panoramic views across Darwin Harbour and Darwin city skyline, and serves as the perfect vantage point to enjoy the setting sun. Apartments include kitchenette and laundry facilities and can also act as an office with selected apartments providing guests with modem and facsimile lines plus ISD/STD direct dial phones and voice mail message service. Mantra Pandanas is the perfect accommodation option for travellers who are relocating to the Northern Territory or who are on a long stay work assignment. It is also a perfect base for travellers looking to explore NT's stunning natural beauty and abundant local tourist attractions Mantra Pandanas also features two Darwin conference venues which have been designed to equally cater for small meetings right through to theatre style professional presentation. Special occasions, events, functions, weddings and conferences can also be catered for with banquet facilities for up to 140 delegates. The resort offers premium onsite facilities guests can enjoy including, Table Forty Three restaurant and bar, lagoon style swimming pool, spa and fully equipped gym. Guest services include 24 hour reception, internet lounge and business area, tour desk and tour booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Pandanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Pandanas Darwin
Mantra Pandanas Hotel Darwin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing