We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good, but basic, hotel.”
Review of Mantra Pandanas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra Pandanas
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“A good, but basic, hotel.”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in August 2013 for 3 nights on business. When I arrived at the hotel around lunch time there was a very long queue at the reception area. It took about 10 minutes to be served.
Once checked in I proceeded to the lifts. The first lift you come across is only for the residential part of the hotel. The next couple of lifts are for hotel guests. Whilst this is easy to work with at ground level, I found it confusing on my floor of the hotel. ie if you push the down arrow, then the lift reserved for residents may come. Once inside the lift the floor buttons are different on each side of the lift. At one stage I got into a lift but the floor I wanted to go to did not have a button so i go out. Later I realised that there were different buttons on each side of the lift.

The room was good, however the glass door to the wardrobe had been smashed and had not been replaced.

I had breakfast in the restaurant downstairs. I just had the continental breakfast and it was fine. Service upon arrival at the restaurant was slow.

Check-out was fairly efficient.

In short, the hotel was a good hotel and I may choose to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curfew156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave Pearson I, General Manager at Mantra Pandanas, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Curfew156,
Many thanks for choosing to stay at Mantra Pandanas and for your positive remarks overall. I agree with your comments about the lift signage and I am pleased to advise that the body corporate has organised to amend the signage for each lift to provide a more user friendly service. I have shared your comments with our team for urgent attention and we do apologise for any inconvenience caused by some of the issues you experienced. If you do choose to stay with us again it would be a privilege to welcome you back
Kind regards
Dave Pearson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    312
    141
    44
    24
See reviews for
73
252
46
323
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is a good hotel, perfect for a short stay in Darwin. Central, clean and tidy etc. However some housekeeping oversights - e.g. if you use the laundry service on day one, could they maybe add a replacement laundry bag for day 2? Ditto the in-room dining card - having ordered breakfast in room the first day, a replacement card was not put in for day 2. Basic stuff, not a deal breaker of course - but it's annoying. Oh, and having waited ages for a lift only to find key card has stopped working and you have to return to reception to get it re-coded (happened to a colleague too)
Showers are great, irons are really good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave Pearson I, General Manager at Mantra Pandanas, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Jay E,
Thank you for taking time out to review your recent stay with us and for your positve comments about the cleanliness, location and really good showers. Thanks also for the feedback regarding the housekeeping replacement items which we have shared with our team for urgent attention. We hope to welcome you back soon on your next visit to Darwin.
Kind regards
Dave Pearson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I spent three nights at this hotel on a business trip from the UK. It was my first experience of Darwin and I received a very warm welcome from the reception staff.

The rooms were surprisingly spacious (two large double beds, plus sofa, table etc). The fixtures and fittings were of medium quality compared to, say, a Hilton but function. The TV had about 10 channels (a lot less than the hotel I stayed in Brisbane) but I wasn't in the room very much.

The gym was small and a bit disappointing (no free weights, no water, no Concept rower or similar). The pool looked okay although I didn't go in. The attached restaurant was a mixture of a coffee shop, hotel breakfast room and an evening restaurant although it seemed to close at 9pm. It was getting a light refurb when I was there.

The wifi signal in the bedroom was very good although I still don't understand the predominantly Australian practice of charging $20+ per day to use it (there is a free service in the coffee house).

The location is good and the central bars and restaurants are a five minute walk away.

In summary, a good hotel with big rooms and very friendly and helpful staff. I would happily stay there again (but stop charging for credit cards and include breakfast in the rate - it feels opportunist and is annoying).

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floors and also ask for a discount for car parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave Pearson I, General Manager at Mantra Pandanas, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Simon G,
Many thanks for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to review your experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed our spacious rooms and friendly helpful staff and we agree that our location is ideal. I am also pleased to advise that the restaurant refurbishment is now complete and that a new water fountain has been oredered for the gym.
Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Dave Pearson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

If you have to stay here for work any longer than 7 days and expect a decent size refrigerator and cooking facilities you will be dissatisfied. Shower recess leaky and thin walls. Can hear TV next door b
The room has a strong mouldy odour which I asked about. Came back to a room heavily sprayed with some dreadful smelling spray. Bins not empty and REALLY REALLY noisy air conditioners. Have to turn bedroom one off.
Front desk staff brilliant.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meredith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave Pearson I, General Manager at Mantra Pandanas, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Louise C,
Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel and for choosing to stay with us. It was great that you thought our staff were brilliant but disappointing to read that you had experienced some maintenance and housekeeping issues and we do apologise for any inconvenience. We have addressed these issues in the room you stayed in and we do hope that you will come back to enjoy a better experience next time.
Kind regards
Dave Pearson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

very pleasant and relaxing stay at this hotel. we stayed here with friends for there wedding and the hotel staff were very accommodating for all of us at this hectic and busy time. will stay thete again when in darwin next. very nice, modern and clean rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megsbenno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave Pearson I, General Manager at Mantra Pandanas, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear megsbenno,
Thank you for your review and it was pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Darwin.
Kind regards,
Dave Pearson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed in the one bedroom apartment which was very comfortable. The balcony and ocean view made the room even more enjoyable - The room is fitted out with all your individual needs - The hotel amenities also cater for most business and personal needs. Overall an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrantNixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave Pearson I, General Manager at Mantra Pandanas, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear GrantNixon,
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and for such a great review! We do hope to welcome you back soon on your next visit to the Top End.
Kind regards
Dave Pearson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Staff on reception superb. Apartment style with all amenities . Sliding doors on cupboards wouldn't! Restaurant not open weekends. Room service OK. Food average. Would be fine for. business meetings and stays, but expensive for what it gives in the way of hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jpog123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave Pearson I, General Manager at Mantra Pandanas, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Jpog123,
Many thanks for your review and for choosing to stay with us. It's great to hear that you thought our reception team were superb and that you would recommend us for business meetings and stays. We do have a special weekend deal which is great value for money and there are plenty of restaurants and bars available close by. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Darwin.
Kind regards
Dave Pearson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.3 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.2 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 37 in Darwin
1,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oaks Elan Darwin
Oaks Elan Darwin
#5 of 37 in Darwin
486 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
887 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Pandanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Pandanas

Property: Mantra Pandanas
Address: 43 Knuckey St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
#3 Business Hotel in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Pandanas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Darwin, Mantra Pandanas combines sophisticated city chic with Darwin's famous laid back, tropical culture, making this property an ideal base for your Darwin business trip or accommodation choice for the perfect holiday escape. Offering 336 studio, hotel, one and two bedroom apartment style rooms, Mantra Pandanas is supremely appointed with modern contemporary decor and luxury amenities. Selected rooms include a private balcony offering panoramic views across Darwin Harbour and Darwin city skyline, and serves as the perfect vantage point to enjoy the setting sun. Apartments include kitchenette and laundry facilities and can also act as an office with selected apartments providing guests with modem and facsimile lines plus ISD/STD direct dial phones and voice mail message service. Mantra Pandanas is the perfect accommodation option for travellers who are relocating to the Northern Territory or who are on a long stay work assignment. It is also a perfect base for travellers looking to explore NT's stunning natural beauty and abundant local tourist attractions Mantra Pandanas also features two Darwin conference venues which have been designed to equally cater for small meetings right through to theatre style professional presentation. Special occasions, events, functions, weddings and conferences can also be catered for with banquet facilities for up to 140 delegates. The resort offers premium onsite facilities guests can enjoy including, Table Forty Three restaurant and bar, lagoon style swimming pool, spa and fully equipped gym. Guest services include 24 hour reception, internet lounge and business area, tour desk and tour booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra Pandanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Pandanas Darwin
Mantra Pandanas Hotel Darwin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing