We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but nothing outstanding”
Review of Mantra Pandanas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra Pandanas
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice but nothing outstanding”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Nice and comfortable - nothing good or bad - nothing outstanding.

Decor is nice, but sterile.

Bed is comfortable, shower and bathroom good.

Room service menu was good - enough selection, resonable price

Easy to find and easy to access Darwin CBD

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marika V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave Pearson I, General Manager at Mantra Pandanas, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Marika,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and we're pleased that you enjoyed the comfort, room service menu and location.
We hope to welcome you back soon on your next trip to the Top End.
Kind regards
Dave Pearson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    310
    140
    44
    24
See reviews for
73
251
46
321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My Wife and I stayed 5 nights at the start of a 15 day visit to the Top End our room was excellent overlooking the pool with a little bit of a view the staff were friendly and helpfull the undercover secure parking a good feature and its proximity to everything made it ideal for someone new to town looking to explore on foot. We booked a mystery hotel after looking at all the features offered we were sure of which hotel we were booking and saved a couple os hundred dollars making it very good value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave Pearson I, General Manager at Mantra Pandanas, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Anthony S,
Thanks for staying at Mantra Pandanas on you recent trip to Darwin and it was great to read that you enjoyed the experience and made a great saving!
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards
Dave Pearson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed for a few days at the Mantra Pandanas apartments. Kitchen & laundry facilities. 1 bedroom. Balcony overlooking the town centre and out to the coast. Good size pool but sheltered by buildings most of the day. I found this centrally located walking distance to dining out and bars & clubs. Short walk to main mall shopping precinct. Close to supermarket amenities. Friendly staff at the front desk. I had the 17th floor.

Room Tip: Request Water views, higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank BuonaVoyage62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave Pearson I, General Manager at Mantra Pandanas, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear BuonaVoyage62,
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your experience and it was pleasing to read that you enjoyed a pleasant stay with us. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the Top End!
Kind regards
Dave Pearson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My Wife and I were extremely happy with our stay at the Mantra Pandanus. Well worth the money. We stayed in a one bedroom waterview apartment on the 17th floor. Great views from the good sized balcony. The apartment was as advertised. Plenty of room with all the mod cons needed for a good time away from home. The hotel staff made our stay much more pleasant by being helpful and obliging whenever needed. They always had a smile on their faces and were willing to go the extra distance to make our stay more enjoyable. The only negative I have is that the cost of a Continental breakfast at Table 43 was a RIP OFF. I mentioned this to one of the front desk staff and she kindly gave us a 25% discount as we stay at Mantra Hotels elsewhere.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best views. We think the rooms facing south are the best. The corner suites a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grahamw266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave Pearson I, General Manager at Mantra Pandanas, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear grahamw266,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your excellent review. We really appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back soon!
Kind regards
Dave Pearson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
131 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stayed on the 12th floor and my room was a decent size. Unfortunately I didn't have a balcony or a view. My room was clean and comfortable. The price was very expensive for an average hotel. I ate at the restaurant twice and was disappointed both times. The staff were very friendly and professional. Undercover parking is available for $15 a day. Free Internet was available in the restaurant but what was really annoying was the hotel wanted to charge $25 for 800mb in the hotel room. Surely for the overpriced rooms, Internet could be included. I recently returned from travelling through Asia and some third world countries and unbelievably free wifi is available everywhere. Australian hotels need to get their act together.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwibrent1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave Pearson I, General Manager at Mantra Pandanas, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Deniseand Brent,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us and we do appreicate the feedback. We're delighted that you thought our location was excellent and our staff very friendly and professional. I have shared your comments regarding the restaurant with my chef and restaurant manager to find ways for improvement. Whilst we offer free internet in the cafe area of our restaurant, the internet available in our rooms is provided by an external supplier.
Thank you again for your feedback and we do hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Darwin.
Kind regards
Dave Pearson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Hotel staff were very pleasant and most obliging and helpful. Stayed twice during August on the weekend special rate which was fortunate as the normal rate quoted was very expensive. The room with a water view on the 14th floor was spacious and comfortable, but as the afternoon sun was too hot to use the balcony, I wouldn't pay the extra on the usual rate to have a water view. Also there are a lot of buildings between the balcony and the view of the water. The hotel's location is good with an easy walk to the mall, restaurants and water front and the room was quiet. Mini bar was very expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maree1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave Pearson I, General Manager at Mantra Pandanas, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Maree1903,
Many thanks for your review and we're delighted that you found our team pleasant and helpful and that you enjoyed our central location and quiet rooms.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Top End soon!
Kind regards
Dave Pearson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Fairly standard facilities for a modern hotel but nothing outstanding.
Front desk staff are very helpful & friendly.
NO Digital TV (apparently new upgrades are on order) which is poor for a hotel charging these prices which are more than $100 higher than comparable cities.
The Pool Area is in shade from surrounding buidlings all day, so is not appealing.
Why can't hotels provide at least an hours free Wi-Fi a day so guests can check emails instead of charging exhorbatant fees?

Room Tip: Views arew restricted by close buildings on some sides and levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saturn52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave Pearson I, General Manager at Mantra Pandanas, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Saturn52,
Thanks for staying with us during your recent trip to Darwin and it was pleasing to read that you found our front desk team helpful and friendly. Our brand new digital TV's have been installed into all rooms and are currently being configured to receive the additional free to air digital channels. WiFi in the rooms is provided by an external supplier however we do offer free internet terminals in our cafe area which is handy for checking emails and flight bookings.
Thank you for taking the time to comment and we do hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
Dave Pearson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.3 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.2 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 37 in Darwin
1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oaks Elan Darwin
Oaks Elan Darwin
#5 of 37 in Darwin
479 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
884 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Pandanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Pandanas

Property: Mantra Pandanas
Address: 43 Knuckey St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
#3 Business Hotel in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Pandanas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Darwin, Mantra Pandanas combines sophisticated city chic with Darwin's famous laid back, tropical culture, making this property an ideal base for your Darwin business trip or accommodation choice for the perfect holiday escape. Offering 336 studio, hotel, one and two bedroom apartment style rooms, Mantra Pandanas is supremely appointed with modern contemporary decor and luxury amenities. Selected rooms include a private balcony offering panoramic views across Darwin Harbour and Darwin city skyline, and serves as the perfect vantage point to enjoy the setting sun. Apartments include kitchenette and laundry facilities and can also act as an office with selected apartments providing guests with modem and facsimile lines plus ISD/STD direct dial phones and voice mail message service. Mantra Pandanas is the perfect accommodation option for travellers who are relocating to the Northern Territory or who are on a long stay work assignment. It is also a perfect base for travellers looking to explore NT's stunning natural beauty and abundant local tourist attractions Mantra Pandanas also features two Darwin conference venues which have been designed to equally cater for small meetings right through to theatre style professional presentation. Special occasions, events, functions, weddings and conferences can also be catered for with banquet facilities for up to 140 delegates. The resort offers premium onsite facilities guests can enjoy including, Table Forty Three restaurant and bar, lagoon style swimming pool, spa and fully equipped gym. Guest services include 24 hour reception, internet lounge and business area, tour desk and tour booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Pandanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Pandanas Darwin
Mantra Pandanas Hotel Darwin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing