We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great overall experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mantra Pandanas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra Pandanas
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great overall experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I should begin by saying I was not a specific guest of the Mantra - I was a guest of The Short Stays Specialists who I highly recommend - great check in / out (we were checked in at 9am, checked out at 3pm) and much cheaper than booking direct.

It's quite clear that Darwin is both insanely expensive and fairly old - a 4 star in Darwin would be a 3 in QLD or Melbourne, but the Mantra Pandanas is a great choice. The location is EXCELLENT (despite being across the road from Centrelink / Luma Luma apartments which has shocking reviews) with the perfect distance between the Darwin Waterfront one direction and the CBD the other. I wouldn't stay closer to the CBD as the place to get a tan is down at the Waterfront, but it was great to be so close to restaurants at night time.

The building is fresh and new with a welcoming reception. Building is fairly residential. Rooms are spacious - we had to be downgraded to a hotel from a 1 br apartment which we got for $150 in peak school holiday season. Room is well equipped and we had a fantastic view on the 13th floor of the Territory Day fireworks. Beds are comfortable and the bathroom is large and modern. We were kindly free wifi from The Short Stays Specialists but I believe the Mantra charges. The room has both air conditioning and fans providing plenty of cooling for the size of the room. I was there to enjoy 33 degree temperatures so rarely used it but when I did it was very efficient.

The only negative is that the pool is completely in the shade. It's freezing. Now I don't swim but I came to get sunshine and had intended to spend the entire week by the pool. No chance of that. It was a real let down as I chose the Mantra over another place because I thought the pool looked better. Unfortunately photos crop out the huge building which casts a shadow over it. So do factor this in if you're looking for a summer holiday!

The restaurant is great although closed at times on the weekend. The Arancini is delicious, I highly recommend it! We had the hot breakfast buffet at 6am when we arrived, it was basic for $19 but did the job.

Overall it was a very pleasant stay. Staff are wonderful and in one of the oddest towns I've ever been to, it's an ideal retreat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Angie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave Pearson I, General Manager at Mantra Pandanas, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear 1Angie,
Thank you for reviewing Mantra Pandanas and it's great to hear that you found our staff to be wonderful and enjoyed our restaurant. It was a shame that you were downgraded by your chosen agent which of course would not have happened if you had booked and stayed as a Mantra guest. We do have some great weekend offers available and Mantra guests benefit from full hotel services and facilities such as free internet in the cafe, room service, housekeeping and 24 hour assistance.
Kind regards
Dave Pearson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    302
    134
    42
    23
See reviews for
67
242
44
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Mantra Pandanas Starts well but fails to deliver in a few key areas. Firstly, on entering the room I was pleasantly surprised at the size and cleanliness. It was very large with great views. However, the cost of both the Internet and movies is exorbitant. Why hotels continue to charge ridiculous prices for Wi-Fi and Movies is beyond me. $25 for 24 hours Wi-FI? No thanks. Further, my shower only provided me with about 3 minutes of hot water before it ran cold. I assumed this would be a one off due to time of day but no. Bed was great and overall not a bad experience, but please stop ripping off guests for tech services when the rack rate is so high anyway.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave Pearson I, General Manager at Mantra Pandanas, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Matt C,
Many thanks for your review and we really appreciate your feedback. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your room and the views and we do apologise for the problems with the water temperature in the shower. Generally, wi-fi and movies are supplied by external providers who in turn charge the hotels for these services. We do offer free internet from our two new terminals to all hotel guests and these are located in the cafe area.
Thanks again for your comments and we do hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Dave Pearson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed in a Hotel Room on the 6th floor with city views, for 3 nights from 12th July 2013.
We found the staff very helpful and courtesy.
The room we stayed in was very large and clean, large bed, modern decor with a balcony.
Plus air conditioner, ceiling fans and a room humidifier.
Large clean bathroom.Domestic staff did a mighty job too.
The breakfast was awesome!!!!
We loved the pool, bit chilly when you first get in, but you appreciate it in the afternoon due to the hot days in Darwin. Gym well equipped
We found Darwin accommodation expensive,but found the Mantra Pandanas to be reasonably priced, which included breakfast and free parking.
Just a little thing to point out, the air conditioners on the roof of the buildings across the street were a bit noisy, especially if you left the balcony door open during the night, this could be addressed!!!
Thank you Mantra, we would stay again.
Cathy and Rob, Byron Bay NSW.

Room Tip: our room 607 was directly across the street from the buildings with the noisy roof air conditioners...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave Pearson I, General Manager at Mantra Pandanas, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Cathy S,
Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to review your experience. We're delighted that you enjoyed our service and facilities and we will definitely contact the owners of the nearby buildings regarding their air conditioners.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Dave Pearson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

No offer of assistance whatsoever by idle reception staff as my elderly mother and I struggled in with our luggage after a long plane flight. The room was bare of any decoration, just concrete walls,smelling of concrete still, and a queen bed which sagged in the middle with just one lightweight occupant. The pool was welcome but the adjacent lap pool is for residents only, another disappointment. The room service food was very ordinary. The TV was analogue. The housekeeping staff were efficient and very good. Otherwise, nothing to commend this overpriced hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EveMeredith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave Pearson I, General Manager at Mantra Pandanas, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear EveMeredith,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we appreciate you taking the time to comment on your experience. We do apologise for the lack of assistance offered to you on arrival and I have shared your comments with our team regarding this. I am pleased to advise that all of our TV's will be replaced in the next two weeks with the latest digital models and we are working on a new room service menu.
Thank you for the positive feedback regarding our housekeeping service and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to accommodate you.
Kind regards
Dave Pearson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Great apartment hotel. Location is right in the city. Clean and well maintained rooms.

Staff were friendly especially the cleaners.

Only negative is the fire alarm goes off regularly because the rooms don't have cooking vents.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael_Trip_Review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave Pearson I, General Manager at Mantra Pandanas, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Michael,
Many thanks for your review and for choosing to stay at Mantra Pandanas during your recent visit to Darwin. We're delighted that you enjoyed the experience and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
Dave Pearson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed on 7th floor in a standard room with king bed. There is aircondition, ceiling fan and a humidifier and a fridge stocked up. The room is huge and so is the bathroom. Very clean. Staff is friendly and approachable.Stayed for two nights for $400.00 included breakfast and free parking in the price. The buffet breakfast was really good with a good choice of selection.There was hot and cold breakfast. The hotel is just a couple of blocks from the central mall about a ten minutes walk so it is very central. There is a gym which i did not visit so can't give a review on it. Unfortunately, wifi is not included in the price. Maybe all hotels should consider including wifi in the price as it is something that has become a part of everyones life.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KalahariAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave Pearson I, General Manager at Mantra Pandanas, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear KalahariAustralia,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking time out to write about your experience. We're delighted that you enjoyed our convenient location, service and facilities and it's great to hear that you thought our weekend package deal was good value. With regards to internet facilities, we do provide two free internet terminals for our guests in the cafe area on the ground floor. The wifi in our rooms is provided by an external supplier which is why we have to charge for this item. We hope to welcome you back soon on your next visit to Darwin.
Kind regards
Dave Pearson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Good points:
We had a room on the 16th floor with a small balcony overlooking the city & with a view over to Lameroo Beach
Plenty of space in the room and modern fittings
Central location for restaurants & shops
Good swimming pool & small gym
Not so good:
At $389/night for a standard room, it’s very expensive and 2% credit card surcharge on all credit cards is excessive compared to the hotel’s cost for them on Visa/Mastercard
My pet peeve – profiteering from internet access. Wireless internet was available in the rooms but was charged at A$15 for two hours. The cost of providing this service is negligible. Free internet access was available in the foyer but only at terminals. We got free wifi for 7 days at remote Katherine Gorge!
No folder in the room on the hotel facilities – apparently will be available in a couple of weeks, but this was of no use to us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geckau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave Pearson I, General Manager at Mantra Pandanas, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear geckau,
Thank you for writing about your recent stay with us and we really appreciate your feedback. It's good to hear that you enjoyed the location, views and facilities. Darwin is an expensive city for accommodation particularly mid week when compared with other locations. We do have a weekend special deal which you may wish to consider in the furure which includes breakfast and car parking. Whilst we do provide free internet terminals in the ground floor cafe area, the wifi network to the rooms is supplied by an external provider. I am sorry that there was no folder in your room and I can advise that we do now have our new compendiums which are currently being distributed to our rooms. Our friendly team at reception are also there to assit with any enquiries about hotel facilities and the local area. Thank you again and we do hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,
Dave Pearson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.3 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.3 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oaks Elan Darwin
Oaks Elan Darwin
#4 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Pandanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Pandanas

Property: Mantra Pandanas
Address: 43 Knuckey Street, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Darwin
#4 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Pandanas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Darwin, Mantra Pandanas combines sophisticated city chic with Darwin's famous laid back, tropical culture, making this property an ideal base for your Darwin business trip or accommodation choice for the perfect holiday escape. Offering 336 studio, hotel, one and two bedroom apartment style rooms, Mantra Pandanas is supremely appointed with modern contemporary decor and luxury amenities. Selected rooms include a private balcony offering panoramic views across Darwin Harbour and Darwin city skyline, and serves as the perfect vantage point to enjoy the setting sun. Apartments include kitchenette and laundry facilities and can also act as an office with selected apartments providing guests with modem and facsimile lines plus ISD/STD direct dial phones and voice mail message service. Mantra Pandanas is the perfect accommodation option for travellers who are relocating to the Northern Territory or who are on a long stay work assignment. It is also a perfect base for travellers looking to explore NT's stunning natural beauty and abundant local tourist attractions Mantra Pandanas also features two Darwin conference venues which have been designed to equally cater for small meetings right through to theatre style professional presentation. Special occasions, events, functions, weddings and conferences can also be catered for with banquet facilities for up to 140 delegates. The resort offers premium onsite facilities guests can enjoy including, Table Forty Three restaurant and bar, lagoon style swimming pool, spa and fully equipped gym. Guest services include 24 hour reception, internet lounge and business area, tour desk and tour booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Pandanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Pandanas Darwin
Mantra Pandanas Hotel Darwin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing