We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but cons”
Review of Mantra Pandanas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra Pandanas
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Comfortable but cons”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

I have stayed in the studio rooms and ordinary rooms at Mantra Pandanas several times over the last 18 months on business. The studio is comfortable and it's handy having a washing machine, dryer, fridge and kitchenette as well as balcony. The hotel is clean and centrally located.

I don't like the ordinary rooms as the windows are locked shut, and Reception won't give you the keys (apparently it's an OHS issue, although short of you throwing yourself out the 14th floor windows it's hard to see why).

Other cons include the following. Firstly, internet access is ridiculously expensive (why can't Australian hotels provide free wifi, even in the lobby!) Secondly, sometimes there isn't hot water. I have complained about this and apparently it is because each room shares a hot water tank with a neighbouring room, so if your neighbour has a long hot shower you have no hot water. This can be problematic in the Darwin dry season when it gets cool and also in rooms where the window doesn't open so you have to aircondition (and thus it gets cold). Further, some of the rooms have a damp smell but I've not had a problem with changing rooms on request due to this problem. Finally, the food at the restaurant is terrible. Recently I ordered a Thai Beef Salad, it was essentially stir fried beef that they'd then mixed lettuce and tomato into. It was awful.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank xhlgette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Mantra Pandanas, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear xhlgette,
Thank you for choosing Mantra Pandanas in the past when travelling to Darwin. I am glad to see the Studio Rooms suit your needs. In regards to the lack of hot water at times, it is something we are aware of and are working towards a solution to alleviate the demand over peak times. I am disappointed to hear your experience in the Restaurant was not up to standard and will address this with my Executive Chef and ensure the standard is maintained at all times as we have had great reports in the past, so obviously we are lacking consistency, which we will rectify.
From all the Staff at mantra Pandanas we look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Darwin on Business.
Kind Regards,
David Brill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    327
    146
    46
    25
See reviews for
76
262
48
337
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Horrors! Horrors! Horrors!
When I checked in at 6 am, duty manager could not find my reservation..even when I showed him printout with reservation number - much later, the explanation was that as it was a weekend, the data had not been updated from their Administration.
While waiting for them to sort out the reservation, I checked out the breakfast buffet - very skimpy breakfast choices for A$20+!
Hotel does not provide free wifi - I was given a card allowing me 10 minutes on the computer terminal in the hotel coffee shop - these are 2 antiquated computers with major lag time - just to open up my Hotmail account took 6 minutes! - that is even before I even read a single email.
As I went up the lift to my room, there was a notice that the hotel swimming pool was out of order - I wonder if it was genuinely out of order, or just closed to save on maintaining the pool!
When I checked into my room, I was dismayed to find dried urine on the toilet seat!!! Called Reception and was told Housekeeping staff was not in yet! The bathroom floor was freezing cold, and no room slippers were available.
I called Room Service for lunch - and the meal was delivered by the receptionist.
Saving grace - the day reception staff,especially Tiffany - they were all efficient and presentable.
Before I checked into this hotel, I had taken a cab directly from the airport to Crown Plaza Darwin - as I thought I had been booked in there - then checked my email and found I had been booked into Mantra Pandanas - the contrats between Mantra Pandanas and Crown Plaza was like night and day! And the hotel rates are the same - in fact, when I walked into Crown Plaza at 5.30 in the morning, and they of course could not find my reservation (as I was booked into Mantra), they offered me a very attractive rate for 2 nights stay. And when I cancelled before they could credit the cost to my credit card, they were still very helpful - calling me a cab to go to Mantra.
At Crown Plaza, fee wifi is available for 20 minutes per device - that means 20 minutes on an ipad/computer plus another 20 minutes on your mobile. At Mantra, no wifi, only antiquated computer terminals in coffee house.
At Mantra, manned by minimum staff at night - 2 at reception and one in the coffee house.
The wall behind the reception at Mantra was dirty and patchy, floor tiles in reception were chipped and dirty with visible rubbish here and there.

Room Tip: Just avoid this hotel...check into Crown Plaza...unless you are on a nostalgia trip!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Persimmone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Mantra Pandanas, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear Persimmone,
Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay at Mantra Pandanas. It disappoints me to see on this occasion we have not been able to meet your expectations. We pride ourselves on our standard of service and take all feedback very seriously. I have raised all of your points in our last weekly management meeting and procedures have been put into place to rectify any shortcomings. Incidentally, the pool had developed a leak and needed immediate rectification which included emptying the pool and resealing. Thank you for your kind words in regards to the service you experienced from Tiffany and I have personally passed on your comments to her and rewarded accordingly.
Thank you once again for your constructive feedback and look forward to hopefully accommodating you in the future.
Kind Regards,
David Brill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Stayed 5 nights in April. Room was clean but air-conditioning was iffy. Complained to the front desk and was told that any setting below 20 degrees was not going to work. Upped the setting to 21 degrees - room cooled down but not cold - adequate to sleep but not cool enough to be comfortable - I happen to like cold rooms! If you face the same problem, request to change your room ASAP. Otherwise, room was clean and well-appointed. Mini-bar was decent and bathroom was great.

Room Tip: Make sure the A/C works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berliozh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Mantra Pandanas, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear Berliozh,
Thank you for staying with us in April this year and for your feedback. In regards to the air-conditioning; it is always a struggle maintaining the units in the tropical climate which we experience in Darwin. Our units are serviced on a quarterly basis to ensure they are working to their optimum and obviously creating a pleasurable temperature for all individual Guests. Our rooms also have ceiling fans and dehumidifiers to add to the Guest comfort.
If you are returning to Darwin in the future we would be more than happy to look after you.
Kind Regards,
David Brill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

First hotel in Australia where I cold use the minibar without getting robbed.
Room was a bit smelly of mold, but once I started the ceiling fans and set the AC at vent, it was OK.
The included breakfast was not the best, but I am fine with some toast and coffee, if you want a full breakfast dont get a roon with breakfast included.

Really good sea view fom my room.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony since you cant open the windows in the rooms without balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrlindberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We stayed here in January 2012 for 5 nights on business. It's in a great spot, right in the middle of the CBD and an easy walk to The Esplanade and Mitchell St. Our room had a kitchenette (which we didn't use) and a washing machine which was really useful. We ate in the restaurant each morning, as it was included in our booking but would not rate the breakfast buffet, it was very ordinary and the staff seemed a bit grumpy! Housekeeping was good, the pool was pleasant and there was a reasonable sized gym. Overall, a good choice for a business stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shnooks82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Return visit, this time had a room with full kitchenette, dining table and seating (not that I needed either), a huge bathroom with bath, lovely rain shower and laundry and a bedroom in the middle with a second tv. All plus a good view of the water. The bed is in this set up is smaller than a normal room I've stayed at previously, but not a complaint. Once again though on the last night out of threeI was there the fire alarm went off at 1 am, false alarm (happened in January this year as well- something is cleatrly wrong in circuits. Weird!) But pretty good all round

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachaelOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

I shared a room with a friend and despite having an apartment booked we were given a hotel room. We had to be rather assertive, wait an hour and a half, and threaten to move hotels before they miraculously found an apartment that they initially said they didn’t have!
The service at reception was the slowest I have experienced and many of the reception staff looked like they were having ‘on the job training’. We paid $265 per night for the room which included breakfast. Breakfast was a very disappointing experience – many areas were uncleared, cutlery and crockery frequently ran out and had to be requested, no milk, no hot water……
There were many people from our conference staying at this hotel and many had gripes about the hotel. Given the comments already on trip advisor about the problems with this hotel, management need to put some effort into providing better service and training their staff. Not good enough for the price.
I come to Darwin frequently and I won’t be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2011Marg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.3 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 37 in Darwin
1,874 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oaks Elan Darwin
Oaks Elan Darwin
#5 of 37 in Darwin
507 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Pandanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Pandanas

Property: Mantra Pandanas
Address: 43 Knuckey St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
#3 Business Hotel in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Pandanas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Darwin, Mantra Pandanas combines sophisticated city chic with Darwin's famous laid back, tropical culture, making this property an ideal base for your Darwin business trip or accommodation choice for the perfect holiday escape. Offering 336 studio, hotel, one and two bedroom apartment style rooms, Mantra Pandanas is supremely appointed with modern contemporary decor and luxury amenities. Selected rooms include a private balcony offering panoramic views across Darwin Harbour and Darwin city skyline, and serves as the perfect vantage point to enjoy the setting sun. Apartments include kitchenette and laundry facilities and can also act as an office with selected apartments providing guests with modem and facsimile lines plus ISD/STD direct dial phones and voice mail message service. Mantra Pandanas is the perfect accommodation option for travellers who are relocating to the Northern Territory or who are on a long stay work assignment. It is also a perfect base for travellers looking to explore NT's stunning natural beauty and abundant local tourist attractions Mantra Pandanas also features two Darwin conference venues which have been designed to equally cater for small meetings right through to theatre style professional presentation. Special occasions, events, functions, weddings and conferences can also be catered for with banquet facilities for up to 140 delegates. The resort offers premium onsite facilities guests can enjoy including, Table Forty Three restaurant and bar, lagoon style swimming pool, spa and fully equipped gym. Guest services include 24 hour reception, internet lounge and business area, tour desk and tour booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Pandanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Pandanas Darwin
Mantra Pandanas Hotel Darwin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing