We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice choice”
Review of Mantra Pandanas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mantra Pandanas
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice choice”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We stayed here in January 2012 for 5 nights on business. It's in a great spot, right in the middle of the CBD and an easy walk to The Esplanade and Mitchell St. Our room had a kitchenette (which we didn't use) and a washing machine which was really useful. We ate in the restaurant each morning, as it was included in our booking but would not rate the breakfast buffet, it was very ordinary and the staff seemed a bit grumpy! Housekeeping was good, the pool was pleasant and there was a reasonable sized gym. Overall, a good choice for a business stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shnooks82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    305
    138
    44
    23
See reviews for
70
246
45
312
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
200 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Return visit, this time had a room with full kitchenette, dining table and seating (not that I needed either), a huge bathroom with bath, lovely rain shower and laundry and a bedroom in the middle with a second tv. All plus a good view of the water. The bed is in this set up is smaller than a normal room I've stayed at previously, but not a complaint. Once again though on the last night out of threeI was there the fire alarm went off at 1 am, false alarm (happened in January this year as well- something is cleatrly wrong in circuits. Weird!) But pretty good all round

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachaelOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

I shared a room with a friend and despite having an apartment booked we were given a hotel room. We had to be rather assertive, wait an hour and a half, and threaten to move hotels before they miraculously found an apartment that they initially said they didn’t have!
The service at reception was the slowest I have experienced and many of the reception staff looked like they were having ‘on the job training’. We paid $265 per night for the room which included breakfast. Breakfast was a very disappointing experience – many areas were uncleared, cutlery and crockery frequently ran out and had to be requested, no milk, no hot water……
There were many people from our conference staying at this hotel and many had gripes about the hotel. Given the comments already on trip advisor about the problems with this hotel, management need to put some effort into providing better service and training their staff. Not good enough for the price.
I come to Darwin frequently and I won’t be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2011Marg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

Unfortunately this hotel has as issue with smelly rooms. Several of my business colleagues on our trip complained of smelly rooms - damp maybe? Also the halls were not clean and probably not vacuumed regularly. Staff are a bit vague about where things are in Darwin. A ver disappointing stay. The chain has a better reputation than what we experienced.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank suze64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

We stayed here at a recent conference - and paid rack rate - and was intially provided an extremly musty dank room, that you would not be able to sit in let alone sleep in - after complaining we where moved with much drama to another room. The Bathroom is dangerous - there is a massive step to get into the bathroom that we tripped on many times - likewise a similar lip in the shower - again dangerous.

The room does not have a window that opoens so you must have the airconditioning on 24/7 and they have a dehumidifier in the room to remove the dank - which is in all rooms.

The serice was poor - we had to ask for glassware in the room, the cleaning staff kicked us out at 9.30am to do our room and then the next day had done our room by 2pm!

the Restaurant is understaffed, the staff try hard, but it is obvious mangement can not resouce for peak capacity.

There where many more incidents over the three days we stayed.

I recommend the Vibe at the waterfront - much better serice and rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JamesSMBeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

My partner and I often stay at the Mantra Pandanas due to travel in and out of Darwin.

The staff at reception are always friendly and helpful and ensure the check in/check out process is very simple.

The rooms are spacious and clean, and really can't be faulted.

The location is great, with a short 2 minute walk to the CBD (Mitchell Street, restaurants, shops, pubs, supermarket, etc.)

We will continue to use the Mantra Pandanas for our travels to Darwin.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexinKal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whyalla, Australia
Level Contributor
267 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Went to Darwin for 5 days for business and stayed at the Mantra Pandanas. Firstly the location was great, a few minutes away from the mall and Mitchell St. for eating. The rooms were spacious and very comfortable and coming from a cooler climate the air con made life very comfortable. The counter staff are very friendly and helpfull the same could not be said about the girls in the breakfast room. The breakfast was very expensive, go across the street it is a third of the cost and just as good plus the staff were more friendly.

Room Tip: don't eat there, there are many good affordable places to eat close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSVx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.3 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
0.3 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oaks Elan Darwin
Oaks Elan Darwin
#5 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Pandanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Pandanas

Property: Mantra Pandanas
Address: 43 Knuckey St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
#3 Business Hotel in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Pandanas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Darwin, Mantra Pandanas combines sophisticated city chic with Darwin's famous laid back, tropical culture, making this property an ideal base for your Darwin business trip or accommodation choice for the perfect holiday escape. Offering 336 studio, hotel, one and two bedroom apartment style rooms, Mantra Pandanas is supremely appointed with modern contemporary decor and luxury amenities. Selected rooms include a private balcony offering panoramic views across Darwin Harbour and Darwin city skyline, and serves as the perfect vantage point to enjoy the setting sun. Apartments include kitchenette and laundry facilities and can also act as an office with selected apartments providing guests with modem and facsimile lines plus ISD/STD direct dial phones and voice mail message service. Mantra Pandanas is the perfect accommodation option for travellers who are relocating to the Northern Territory or who are on a long stay work assignment. It is also a perfect base for travellers looking to explore NT's stunning natural beauty and abundant local tourist attractions Mantra Pandanas also features two Darwin conference venues which have been designed to equally cater for small meetings right through to theatre style professional presentation. Special occasions, events, functions, weddings and conferences can also be catered for with banquet facilities for up to 140 delegates. The resort offers premium onsite facilities guests can enjoy including, Table Forty Three restaurant and bar, lagoon style swimming pool, spa and fully equipped gym. Guest services include 24 hour reception, internet lounge and business area, tour desk and tour booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Pandanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Pandanas Darwin
Mantra Pandanas Hotel Darwin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing