We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Really wonderful

Thanks Luke for an awesome day of birding in And around Darwin. The birds were beautiful but your... read more

Reviewed January 20, 2019
davidbZ7594RY
,
Darwin, Australia
via mobile
A must do

We had two tours with NT Bird Soecialists as part of Kakadu Bird Week and were amazed at the number... read more

Reviewed October 16, 2018
Tony W
,
Darwin, Australia
Read all 50 reviews
  
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveler rating
50
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
50
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pitta spotting scope his knowledge day tour life changing experience breakfasts and lunches top end kakadu national park yellow water aboriginal rock art flora and fauna darwin area picnic lunch small group northern territory luke rainbow
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 50 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2018

We had two tours with NT Bird Soecialists as part of Kakadu Bird Week and were amazed at the number of birds we seen - Luke's knowledge and ability to spot birds is amazing
We have done a few tours with Luke and always enjoyed them and seen & learnt more with every trip.
It doesn't matter if your a novice or experienced birder- Luke will make sure you have a great time birding
They also do a day tour around Darwin that is great if you are new to birding

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NTBirdSpecialists, Owner at NT Bird Specialists, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2018

Thank you very much for your review Tony, it was a great time during Kakadu Bird week and to get to see Gouldian Finches, Red Goshawk, Little Kingfisher, Great-billed Heron and Black Bittern on the same day was a real bonus. We're glad that you enjoyed both tours and hope to tour with you again in the future. Happy Birding ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2018

Luke led a small group on a tour through the East Alligator region of Kakadu. His knowledge is extensive and was so willing to share his knowledge and answer questions regarding the local birdlife and wildlife. I would love to join Luke on one of his long-term tours, in Australia or overseas, as he is quite pleasant company and so very helpful.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Janis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NTBirdSpecialists, Owner at NT Bird Specialists, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2018

Thank you very much for your kind words Janis, it was a pleasure sharing another great morning around the East Alligator River region with you. Having the Arafura Fantail, Sandstone Shrike-thrush, Chestnut-quilled Rock Pigeon and that elusive Rainbow Pitta showing themselves nicely made it a real treat. Look forward to birding and possibly touring with you in the future. Happy birding and photographing ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2018

Luke Patterson, was a terrific tour leader and guide on this 8 night/9 day tour. He knew the birds; calls as well as flight patterns. I saw >160 species and had the opportunity to get a number of nice photo ops. Luke worked his magic on several occasions and was persistent in getting good views of many rare species. Any birder will not be disappointed. In addition, we had a nice visit to Ubirr, Luke was very knowledgeable about the local natural history of the area. Finally, the accommodations were satisfactory and the food was excellent. You will not be disappointed.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NTBirdSpecialists, Owner at NT Bird Specialists, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2018

Thank you for your kind review Paul, it was a thoroughly enjoyable tour and we really do hope that you managed to capture some of the amazing birds that we got to see throughout the trip. Look forward to seeing some of your images and hope the Gouldian Finches came out a treat. Hope to go birding and photographing again with you in the future, happy birding ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2018

A must-do tour for any bird/wildlife lover.... we had the most amazing tour with Luke being the bird whisperer extraordinaire!! we are both good spotters of wildlife but we would walk down a path and see a few birds, Luke would see so many more and call some of them to us to photograph! Truly incredible, absolutely recommend this tour.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank anitan555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NTBirdSpecialists, Owner at NT Bird Specialists, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2018

Thank you for your kind words Anita, the wildlife of the 'top end' really did put on a display for you and it was great to share the experience with somebody who really enjoys the natural environment. Look forward to touring with you again in the future. Happy birding and photographing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2018

I did the one-day "Darwin Sticky Beak" tour & I was amazed at the beauty & diversity of the bird life in & around the city. Luke really opened my eyes up to the hidden treasures of the top end & I continue to enjoy spotting some of the 85(!!) different birds we saw that day.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Simma22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NTBirdSpecialists, Owner at NT Bird Specialists, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2018

Thanks for your review of the tour, It was a great day out around Darwin and an absolute pleasure to show you some (quite a few) of the bird species that call this part of the Northern Territory home. We look forward to hopefully taking you further afield and experiencing more of the fantastic array of birds found throughout the 'top end'. Happy birding ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews