We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Really wonderful

Thanks Luke for an awesome day of birding in And around Darwin. The birds were beautiful but your... read more

Reviewed January 20, 2019
davidbZ7594RY
,
Darwin, Australia
via mobile
World Class

We have used bird guides in Panama, Mexico, Argentina and various locations in the U.S. Luke is one... read more

Reviewed November 7, 2018
274ChrisL274
,
Newton, Massachusetts
via mobile
Read all 50 reviews
  
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveler rating
50
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
50
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pitta spotting scope his knowledge day tour life changing experience breakfasts and lunches top end kakadu national park yellow water aboriginal rock art flora and fauna darwin area picnic lunch small group northern territory luke rainbow
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 50 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2018

Luke Patterson, was a terrific tour leader and guide on this 8 night/9 day tour. He knew the birds; calls as well as flight patterns. I saw >160 species and had the opportunity to get a number of nice photo ops. Luke worked his magic on several occasions and was persistent in getting good views of many rare species. Any birder will not be disappointed. In addition, we had a nice visit to Ubirr, Luke was very knowledgeable about the local natural history of the area. Finally, the accommodations were satisfactory and the food was excellent. You will not be disappointed.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NTBirdSpecialists, Owner at NT Bird Specialists, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2018

Thank you for your kind review Paul, it was a thoroughly enjoyable tour and we really do hope that you managed to capture some of the amazing birds that we got to see throughout the trip. Look forward to seeing some of your images and hope the Gouldian Finches came out a treat. Hope to go birding and photographing again with you in the future, happy birding ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2018

A must-do tour for any bird/wildlife lover.... we had the most amazing tour with Luke being the bird whisperer extraordinaire!! we are both good spotters of wildlife but we would walk down a path and see a few birds, Luke would see so many more and call some of them to us to photograph! Truly incredible, absolutely recommend this tour.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank anitan555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NTBirdSpecialists, Owner at NT Bird Specialists, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2018

Thank you for your kind words Anita, the wildlife of the 'top end' really did put on a display for you and it was great to share the experience with somebody who really enjoys the natural environment. Look forward to touring with you again in the future. Happy birding and photographing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2018

I did the one-day "Darwin Sticky Beak" tour & I was amazed at the beauty & diversity of the bird life in & around the city. Luke really opened my eyes up to the hidden treasures of the top end & I continue to enjoy spotting some of the 85(!!) different birds we saw that day.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Simma22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NTBirdSpecialists, Owner at NT Bird Specialists, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2018

Thanks for your review of the tour, It was a great day out around Darwin and an absolute pleasure to show you some (quite a few) of the bird species that call this part of the Northern Territory home. We look forward to hopefully taking you further afield and experiencing more of the fantastic array of birds found throughout the 'top end'. Happy birding ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2018

A fabulous trip and wonderful way to see Kakadu at its best. Guide Luke was highly knowledgeable, passionate about birds, a professional guide in all ways and an exceptional host during our five days together. He made sure we saw everything we wanted and worked tirelessly to make sure we saw as much as possible. We were at the right spot at the right time for amazing birds but also in right light for great views and photos. Luke’s general knowledge about Kakadu, its culture, plants and animals added immensely to the trip. Exceeded expectations, a highly memorable holiday.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NTBirdSpecialists, Owner at NT Bird Specialists, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2018

Thanks very much Geoff for your kind words, it was an absolute pleasure taking you and your lovely wife Jane on tour as part of your birthday gift and what a birthday gift it was!! Some fantastic birds and wildlife along with some great company along the way. Getting Gouldian Finches, Hooded Parrot, Rufous Owl, Banded Fruit-Dove to name just a few and let alone an adult Leichhardt's Grasshopper as well, wow!
Happy birding and take care ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2018

We did the one-day birding tour around Darwin because that's all the time we had. We booked at the Darwin Tourist Info Center, belatedly, because I had been unable to find a one-day birding tour online two weeks earlier. Luke has a very professional but friendly and accommodating operation. We visited five (or maybe six?) sites around Darwin, with varied environments and varied bird populations. Luke knew exactly which birds could be found where and sometimes seemed to magically call them out. The food provided was excellent--healthy, fresh, and home made, as well as accommodating dietary needs of our small group. We saw 76 species in one day.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank carolynmH4793UF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NTBirdSpecialists, Owner at NT Bird Specialists, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2018

Thank you very much Carolyn, it was a pleasure taking you and Carl out for the day and I'm glad that you found us and we could be of assistance. It was a great day out with plenty of birds! Hopefully we'll go birding again together some day.
Enjoy the rest of your trip and happy birding :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews