We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelt like wet dog.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chilli's Backpackers
Ranked #35 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Darwin
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Great location on Mitchell Street - the main drag in Darwin. Bathrooms were cleaned regularly. Our twin room were very basic but had comfortable beds, a working fridge and good air-con which you definitely need in Darwin's climate. The receptionist's were very friendly and helpful. The whole place was carpet-tiled though which meant that it had a distinctly disgusting smell, very much like wet dog. The free breakfast was cheap white bread/tea bags/coffee - and good luck with finding a mug to make your drink in...I would not stay here again. For the same price you can find a hotel on a last-minute type website.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alicia1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbe T, Manager at Chilli's Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Hi,

Thank you for your recent review.

We are very lucky to be situated in the heart of Mitchell Street, we are in prime location of all the restaurants, bars and grocery stores, which is a bonus.

We pride ourselves on excellent customer service, so I am glad that our staff were helpful and friendly to you.

Our cutlery is based behind reception and if you pay a refundable deposit of $10 you are given a cutlery set which you are able to keep until you check out, and then your deposit is refunded once the cutlery set is returned.

Once again thanks for your review.

Chillis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 219 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights in private room. First morning I woke up to find I had slept on a cockroach. Second night I before we went to bed found a dead fly on my pillow. Not a good start. Breakfast really shouldn't be promoted as an additional bonus. Cheap bread and 2 toasters to share amongst hostel not really a selling point. There are a lot of hostels either next door or opposite so would possibly see if you have better luck there.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Gemma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbe T, Manager at Chilli's Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Hi,

Thank you for your recent review. We welcome all feedback whether good or bad.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay here at Chilli's.

We have an excellent housekeeping team, who make sure that the cleanliness of the hostel is always up to standards. We also have a night cleaner throughout the hours of 10pm - 6am to ensure the standard of cleanliness is always kept up.

The breakfast that we serve, is complimentary. We offer this between 6am - 9.30am so we have guests coming down at all different times, so it is not often that we will have guests fighting over a toaster.

Once again, thanks for your review.

Chilli's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Double room small but clean. Toilettes and bathroom clean !
Big kitchen area on a huge balcony, very nice when you're cooking ! very uncomfortable system for pan/plates/cuttlery lend... but I understand why !
Nice people at the reception.
Bonus: very close to the Transit Centre !

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dame S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbe T, Manager at Chilli's Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you for your review. We like to welcome all feedback good or bad.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Chilli's.
Unfortunately the procedure for the kitchen utensils is put in place to make sure that they are always returned and are always available for other guests to use.

Thanks again for your review. I hope that should you ever return to Darwin you will not hesitate in staying with us once again.

Chilli's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

we stayed in a two bed dorm. our room and the showers and toilets were clean. chilli's is well located, you are just in the middle of nightlife of darwin. therefore it can get a little noisy at nights but it didn't bother us much! staff was friendly and helpful.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank austravellers9084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbe T, Manager at Chilli's Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for your review, we welcome all feeback good or bad.

I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at Chili's.

We are very fortunate to be located in the heart of Mitchell Street, meaning that we are only a walk away from restaurants, bars and clubs.

I am glad that our staff were helpful as we do like to pride ourselves in outstanding customer service.

Once again thank you for your review, we hope that if you are in Darwin again you will not hesitate to come and stay at Chilli's again.

Chilli's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Having stayed at its sister hostel, Chilli's is far more suitable for a backpacker looking for a quieter (but still not quiet) night. If you want the party scene, go for the Youth Shack which has a bar inside.
This is not the type of place to stay if your looking for comfort, quiet or really anything, but the cheapest room possible. Many may be drawn to stay here simply for the price, but if you are not accustomed to budget/backpacker accommodation I would strongly recommend you scope out one of the other great deals on the internet for accommodation.
As flights in Darwin can arrive and depart at all times of the night, Mitchell St can be a pretty scary place to stand and wait for someone to come and let you in to the hostel at 2am in the morning. If you are arriving outside of the reception hours, I would recommend obtaining the night manager's number prior to arrival so that they are ready for you when you arrive.
Chilli's has a no alcohol policy in all rooms, which I think is a good thing!
Shared bathrooms are standard and the double rooms are very basic, with just a small bar fridge, TV with only one working channel, bed and (oddly enough) a sink.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mslexxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbe T, Manager at Chilli's Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you for your review,

Chilli's is our smaller more relaxed hostel of the two. We like to give the feel of a "home away from home".

Our reception does close at 10pm, so our night manager is around to check people in between the hours of 10pm - 6am. We do advise people this when they do make the booking, and advise them of the procedure of checking in out of hours. We understand that coming to a new city and standing on your own in the middle of a busy street can be very daunting, which is why we make this process as quick as possible.

If you find there are any issues with your room, tv or anything else, then it is helpful when our reception staff are made aware of this. That way our staff are able to work on making your stay better by fixing the issue.

Thanks again for your review.

Chilli's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here intermittently with its sister hostel youthshack! It's nice that they have familiar faces in both hostels and that after a couple of days of being in Darwin they recognise and acknowledge you by name!

This is especially great when you have come a long way travelling on your own!


My stay here was amazing the rooms are cleaned daily by friendly cleaners and the staff at reception are more than happy to help in any way shape or form even if its a quiet chat and a cuppa!

For anyone heading to Darwin I would highly recommend this hostel and out of the two that I have stayed in would especially recommend chillis if you are working as it is the quieter more laid back of the two

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pully2191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbe T, Manager at Chilli's Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Hi,

Thank you for your recent review.

We like to pride ourselves in providing outstanding customer service within the hostel. We also like to give Chilli's the feel of a home away from home.

I am glad that our staff made you feel so welcome, we believe this does play a very big part in your stay here at our hostel.

Thanks for your recommendations, and we hope that if you do visit Darwin again you will not hesitate to come and stay at Chilli's.

Thanks again for your review.

Chilli's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I rented a double room for three days at Chillies, the sister place linked to Youthshack.
Every experience can be different so it can be a mixed bag, However, the bed was comfortable and the TV and AC in the room worked. Seriously though, way too expensive for the quality of the room. The shared showers and toilets are not a nice experience and the cleaners shut it off around 8am - 9:30am, which is a slap in the face to tourists. The noise outside is terrible. Basically, this is a worker's hostel and they bring with them a culture that conflicts with genuine travelers. The staff were okay, but a Tongan receptionist was lacking a pleasant service manner. I guess some people would be happy, others not so happy. Why pay $10 (refundable but what a hassle) for use of utensils when the supermarket sells plastic ones for $5 and is 2 minutes from the Hostel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dionmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbe T, Manager at Chilli's Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Hi,

Thanks for your review, all feedback is welcome whether good or bad.

Our hostel is located in the heart of Mitchell street, meaning that we are near all the bars, pubs and clubs. Many travelers like yourself, do come to Darwin and like to experience the nightlife that Darwin has to offer.

As our hostel is an International backpackers, we do welcome people from all over the world. Many of these travelers do come to Darwin simply to find work to either fund the rest of their travels or for a chance to stay in Darwin long term.

Our cutlery deposit is $10 and is refundable, so that you can keep this set until you check out or until the set is returned, then your deposit is fully refunded. This is to ensure that cutlery is being returned and always available for other travelers.

Thanks again for your review.

Chilli's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0 mi away
Youth Shack Backpackers
Youth Shack Backpackers
#31 of 52 in Darwin
315 reviews
0 mi away
Darwin YHA- Melaleuca on Mitchell
0.3 mi away
Crocodilly Inn
Crocodilly Inn
#15 of 52 in Darwin
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dingo Moon Lodge
Dingo Moon Lodge
#37 of 52 in Darwin
138 reviews
0.5 mi away
Banyan View Lodge
Banyan View Lodge
#39 of 52 in Darwin
135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 36 in Darwin
2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chilli's Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilli's Backpackers

Address: 69A Mitchell St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Darwin
Price Range: $39 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chilli's Backpackers 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Darwin's best kept secret for backpackers and those on a budget looking for value for money accommodation, Chilli's Backpackers Hostel is centrally located right in the heart of Darwin, the capital of Australia's Northern Territory.Located at 69A Mitchell St. Chillis is just a short stroll away from the wide range of cheap eats, restaurants, bars and nightclubs that Darwin has on offer. For those wishing to relax, grab a meal, shop or catch a few rays, the Waterfront lagoon and its surrounding cafes and restaurants are only a leisurely ten minute walk away.Providing air-conditioned four, six or eight bed dorms, Double or Twin private rooms (Shared Bathroom), Chillis is a tranquil backpacker haven nestled in the very centre of Darwin. Cool off on the first floor rooftop sundeck after a day out adventuring! Featuring beautiful hanging gardens and two huge brand new spas, soak your miles away, catch up on that book you've been meaning to read or just get your tan on. At the front of the property, a communal kitchen and dining area sits overlooking Mitchell St. Our experienced and helpful reception Staff can assist you with all your tours in the Top End. Ask about our amazing deals on single or multi-day tours to Kakadu, the waterfalls of Litchfield national Park, Uluru, if it's available we will get you on board. Experience the natural beauty and culture of the Northern Territory. 24 hour check-in. Arrivals between 10pm and 6.00am can call the night manager, the number is on the front door of the hostel. In room Locker, Linen provided. Valid photo ID and credit card details required upon check in. Free breakfast is available from 6am - 9.00 am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chilli's Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chilli`s Backpackers Hotel Darwin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing