We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy tapas, superb service”
Review of Moorish Cafe

Moorish Cafe
Ranked #6 of 367 Restaurants in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $42
Cuisines: African, Moroccan, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Moorish Café is adorned with exotic aromas, local artistry, banquette seating and a new modern look with exquisite tables and comfy chairs to truly savour the ambience. Darwin's ten-time Gold Plate Awards winner is also playing with more vivacious flavours from Spain and North Africa. The fascinating menu, features fresh local ingredients, hosts over 30 different tapas with edgy additions like the Grilled sumac spiced NT barramundi with bloodless bloody Mary and the King Salmon and Sichuan pepper pâté with fennel confit. To compliment a drop from the acclaimed cellar of older vintages try the Baharat spiced kangaroo fillet with pickled beetroot, smoked chat potatoes and goat cheese sauce, grilled NT Goldband Snapper fillet with roasted cherry tomatoes and chunky chips, sumptuous slow-cooked tagine or Dukkah crusted Black Angus eye fillet on sweet potato mash with bone marrow and red wine reduction. From private function feasts to intimate dinners for two, Moorish Café creates something delectable for every taste.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Yummy tapas, superb service”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We loved the tapas - esp the kangaroo & duck. I also loved the way they presented the olives in orange rind. Can recommend the Valderomeda Temperanillo at only $32 a bottle. The service was absolutely superb - some of the best we've ever experienced anywhere (that's not something I say lightly).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grm69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    199
    57
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
198 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Go with an empty stomach!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Tapas and sangria - you can't get better than that! We dined early one evening and I'm glad we did as within an hour the restaurant was at full capacity. The interior is welcoming with interesting artwork and light fittings. We were served promptly and chose two tapas as entree. The Moroccan coucous and the chorizo were delicious. I had the vegetable stack for main which was fantastic as the combination of the haloumi, eggplant, capsicum and spicy bean sauce worked beautifully together. My husband was lost for words with his portuguese hotpot - the prawns and fish were divine.

After sharing the chocolate chilli cake which had just the right amount of heat there wasn't any room for coffee.

Moorish is definitely one of the better restaurants I have visited recently - exceptional food and great service. Pity we don't have one in Canberra!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MegandLuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Simply the best for Tapas in the NT. Open front seating available, always packed at peak times. Extensive menu and good price for Darwin.
Extensive drinks menus, a place to spend all night with friends and awesome food

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johannesbrockhaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“great food, great atmosphere, great service”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We enjoyed our first meal at Moorish Café so much we had to go back again in our short time in Darwin. Loved the atmosphere, staff were excellent; friendly, fast service, and just loved the food.
We had not tried tapas before and found it was a great way to taste and share the interesting menu. Wide selection of cocktails, good wines, including the Spanish house white. just made for a delightful evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robyneblee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
183 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Full of flavour and ok for vegetarians”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

An extensive Mediterranean menu, with huge portions, and some good wine, made this an excellent choice for lunch and an evening meal. Vegetarians found lots of choice, too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank olderromantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moorish Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Moorish Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing