We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too many vegies”

Hingston Chinese Restaurant & Take Away
Ranked #167 of 359 Restaurants in Darwin
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Too many vegies”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We love Chinese food and use to order from this shop all the time, unfortunately they don't listen, the food tastes really good but, most of it is vegies. I asked them to take out half the veg and they charged me $2 extra per dish, I would have paid $1 each no problem but we wont be ordering from there again, Such a shame

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank catbee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    24
    13
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in Darwin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is our favourite Chinese Takeaway. We have never eaten in but have no need as it is conveniently close to where we live. Sometimes it can get very busy no doubt due to it's growing popularity on TA :)
Food is fresh and tasty and suprisingly the dishes are the same if not cheaper than other less satisfactory chinese takeaways in Darwin. I love there wonton soup, steamed dim sims and spring rolls (sorry I don't go very adventurous) my partner gets the more substantial dishes such as Garlic Prawns etc and always raves about what he gets.
Highly recommend... and delivery is only $5 to northern suburbs region!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LMFosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Heard about this place from friends ,glad we went the food was lovely and fresh best Chinese I have had in Darwin so far the shop is simple and a little out of the way but worth looking for we enjoyed our meal.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just a takeaway...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

It's just a takeaway with few tables for dinning in guest. Food was nice, especially duck. Location is a bit far from CBD.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GastronomicReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Great food, great value BYO in the northern suburbs. A very busy eatery and takeaway. Can be a little noisy when busy but just enjoy the food.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank DarwinBeeTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hingston Chinese Restaurant & Take Away also viewed

 

Been to Hingston Chinese Restaurant & Take Away? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing