We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hingstons”

Hingston Chinese Restaurant & Take Away
Ranked #195 of 376 Restaurants in Darwin
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Darwin, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hingstons”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This little Chinese Restaurant in Anula is one of the best. Being my local, I go there a lot. The food is great, and its always a good chat with Hingston the owner. He always has an opinion from politics to sport, you name it, he will tell you.....
Well priced....BYO, and they will do something not on the menu too. Try it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SeanMahoney69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    24
    13
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Takeawy”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Great service and menu.
Didn't have to wait too long although this is a very popular takeaway. The Calimari was beautiful. Handy location in the Northern Suburbs and prices are good too.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DarwinChris2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

After having read the rave reviews here, we were looking forward to our meal. Peking Duck was good but other dishes were bland and un-authentic. It reminded me of Chinese restaurants of 40 years ago when the dishes were tailored to what were thought to be Western tastes. Otherwise how did all that celery get in the dishes?
Compared with what we are used to in Melbourne, the dishes seemed remarkably dull and quite expensive

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious and fresh, with a great variety”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Hingston lives up to its name and all the other reviews posted here. We have a family tradition of going there on our birthdays and having the peking duck (as mentioned before you have to order it 24 hours in advance). On weekends if you're ordering take-away, sometimes the wait can be up to an hour when they are really busy (proves how popular they are), so don't leave it too late to order. I heard the stuffed chillis (not on the menu and you have to order 24 hours in advance) are great, but haven't tried it yet as we always order our favourites. The garlic, black pepper prawns (dry) are great too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank troppozone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

This place lives up to its reputation for great food and value. We got takeaway so I can't rate the atmosphere but who cares when it tastes this good. A little out of the way if you're in the city but worth the drive.

Order ahead as wait times can be big.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhys83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hingston Chinese Restaurant & Take Away also viewed

 

Been to Hingston Chinese Restaurant & Take Away? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing